We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good staff”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #62 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a good position, as soon as out of the pedestrian part of the city, that is reached in little minutes. Just arrived we are welcomed by the hotel staff, very available, that informs immediately us of what we can do in the city, the places to also visit in the outskirtses and, as all the hotels met in Vietnam, act also from agency you travel. Easily we also book the trip in bus for Hue, with the advantage that the bus will give to take us in front of the hotel, so we don't have to reach the station (far away from center town). The hotel is very nice, development everything around to an adjacent to swimming pool the hall, where you/he/she is also served the breakfast to the morning.
The room that we had booked was one double and a triple has been given there, for which the space was really ample. Standard endowment, with refrigerator, tv, conditioned air and… umbrellas. The bath is of big dimensions with the bathtub. All is very clean and with a “vintage” style.
As already says, the breakfast is served on side to the swimming pool, very nice as setup. Great variety of choice above all of bread and of fruit.
Overall I feel me to recommend this hotel for the atmosphere that he breathes, there is a lot of coming and going of people, the possibility to always exchange some word in the hall, both with the guests and with the personnel of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 703 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thanh Van 1 hotel was a big contender for the best place we stayed. We booked a superior double but were offered a double room on the 4th floor for only $20 per night! (possibly because we were young and no one wanted to climb a few stairs!!) This room was fairly good and had a huge bathroom with unlimited pressurised hot water!!
Although it was too cold when we were there, the pool looked lovely and was always clean.
One of the best things about this hotel was the delicious free all you can eat breakfast buffet!! it included about 7 different types of fresh fruit, hot eggs, friend rice, some kind of salami meat and lots of fresh bread and other baked goods. much better than the standard omlette we received everywhere else!!
The staff were also very lovely and friendly and willing to point us in the right direction of things to do.
Being one of the cheapest and best places we stayed, i would most definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked a superior room for 4 nights but the first night (arriving at 11pm) staff put us in a standard room. First thing next morning spoke to staff and changed rooms. Pay the extra $3 as the standard was horrible the superior is exactly as the picture shows. Breakfast was eggs,noodles toast,fruit,juice etc all fresh and as much as you want. For the price of this hotel no one can complain. Staff were nice and happy to help with any questions.They all spoke really good English which helps heaps. The location is fantastic. Cross the road turn the corner 2 minutes and your in the middle of everything. We hired scooters for the day and rode to the beaches and relaxed down there.Easy place to ride in. Would definately stay here again but only in the superior rooms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived in Hoi An without any room reserved, we found one here so we did take it!
The hall is quite nice because of a small swimming pool also if you look high, you see atmospheric stair bridges. The place has a poor quality breakfast but fruit buffet is acceptable.
We did not like the room because it had no window so we did sleep one night only, after finding another better place where to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna nerina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel had the most professional staff, with the best command of English, of all the places we stayed in Vietnam over 3 weeks. They were very helpful in arranging tours and transfers. The room was fine (no view,but who cares) and the buffet breakfast was very good. It is within easy walking distance to the tourist area of HoiAn

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

After being forced to take 2 rooms in other more expensive hotels, appreciated staff arranging a room our family of 4 could stay in together. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and the location of hotel was excellent, could walk everywhere easily. We didn't experience any pressure from the staff whatsoever, they were very helpful and booked a flight, train and transfers for us - so easy, just told them what we wanted and within 20 minutes was all booked and paid for. Their English was very good compared to staff at other hotels in Vietnam who seemed to struggle with simple phrases. We did have a room with a brick wall outside window, but just kept curtains closed and we were only in room to sleep anyway. By staying in a budget hotel, we were able to stay twice as long in Vietnam so didn't mind sacrificing the 'view'!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Thanh Van and will definitely be back. We will also recommend to all our friends who travel regularly overseas. Thanks Thanh Van 1.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room 2 steps from pool and another on our return from Hanoi upstairs overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was really pleased with this hotel.
I got the best service of all, the girls (staff) are really nice and helpfull.
Rooms are totally ok.
The breakfast is perfect, really good, a lot of fruits ! And all you can eat !
Location is also perfect, a little bit noisy because of motorbikes, but not so bad.
I recommand the place !

Room Tip: Try to have a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#53 of 162 in Hoi An
1,215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#47 of 162 in Hoi An
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#87 of 162 in Hoi An
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#58 of 162 in Hoi An
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel
Long Life Riverside Hotel
#145 of 162 in Hoi An
930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $26 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing