We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel and good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #62 of 123 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Vercelli, Italy
Level Contributor
251 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a good position, as soon as out of the pedestrian part of the city, that is reached in little minutes. Just arrived we are welcomed by the hotel staff, very available, that informs immediately us of what we can do in the city, the places to also visit in the outskirtses and, as all the hotels met in Vietnam, act also from agency you travel. Easily we also book the trip in bus for Hue, with the advantage that the bus will give to take us in front of the hotel, so we don't have to reach the station (far away from center town). The hotel is very nice, development everything around to an adjacent to swimming pool the hall, where you/he/she is also served the breakfast to the morning.
The room that we had booked was one double and a triple has been given there, for which the space was really ample. Standard endowment, with refrigerator, tv, conditioned air and… umbrellas. The bath is of big dimensions with the bathtub. All is very clean and with a “vintage” style.
As already says, the breakfast is served on side to the swimming pool, very nice as setup. Great variety of choice above all of bread and of fruit.
Overall I feel me to recommend this hotel for the atmosphere that he breathes, there is a lot of coming and going of people, the possibility to always exchange some word in the hall, both with the guests and with the personnel of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    197
    81
    40
    18
See reviews for
49
219
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Thanh Van 1 hotel was a big contender for the best place we stayed. We booked a superior double but were offered a double room on the 4th floor for only $20 per night! (possibly because we were young and no one wanted to climb a few stairs!!) This room was fairly good and had a huge bathroom with unlimited pressurised hot water!!
Although it was too cold when we were there, the pool looked lovely and was always clean.
One of the best things about this hotel was the delicious free all you can eat breakfast buffet!! it included about 7 different types of fresh fruit, hot eggs, friend rice, some kind of salami meat and lots of fresh bread and other baked goods. much better than the standard omlette we received everywhere else!!
The staff were also very lovely and friendly and willing to point us in the right direction of things to do.
Being one of the cheapest and best places we stayed, i would most definitely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Booked a superior room for 4 nights but the first night (arriving at 11pm) staff put us in a standard room. First thing next morning spoke to staff and changed rooms. Pay the extra $3 as the standard was horrible the superior is exactly as the picture shows. Breakfast was eggs,noodles toast,fruit,juice etc all fresh and as much as you want. For the price of this hotel no one can complain. Staff were nice and happy to help with any questions.They all spoke really good English which helps heaps. The location is fantastic. Cross the road turn the corner 2 minutes and your in the middle of everything. We hired scooters for the day and rode to the beaches and relaxed down there.Easy place to ride in. Would definately stay here again but only in the superior rooms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t0pend2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived in Hoi An without any room reserved, we found one here so we did take it!
The hall is quite nice because of a small swimming pool also if you look high, you see atmospheric stair bridges. The place has a poor quality breakfast but fruit buffet is acceptable.
We did not like the room because it had no window so we did sleep one night only, after finding another better place where to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anna nerina o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newbury
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel had the most professional staff, with the best command of English, of all the places we stayed in Vietnam over 3 weeks. They were very helpful in arranging tours and transfers. The room was fine (no view,but who cares) and the buffet breakfast was very good. It is within easy walking distance to the tourist area of HoiAn

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmac41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

After being forced to take 2 rooms in other more expensive hotels, appreciated staff arranging a room our family of 4 could stay in together. Beds were comfortable, room was clean and the location of hotel was excellent, could walk everywhere easily. We didn't experience any pressure from the staff whatsoever, they were very helpful and booked a flight, train and transfers for us - so easy, just told them what we wanted and within 20 minutes was all booked and paid for. Their English was very good compared to staff at other hotels in Vietnam who seemed to struggle with simple phrases. We did have a room with a brick wall outside window, but just kept curtains closed and we were only in room to sleep anyway. By staying in a budget hotel, we were able to stay twice as long in Vietnam so didn't mind sacrificing the 'view'!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Thanh Van and will definitely be back. We will also recommend to all our friends who travel regularly overseas. Thanks Thanh Van 1.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room 2 steps from pool and another on our return from Hanoi upstairs overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerriev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was really pleased with this hotel.
I got the best service of all, the girls (staff) are really nice and helpfull.
Rooms are totally ok.
The breakfast is perfect, really good, a lot of fruits ! And all you can eat !
Location is also perfect, a little bit noisy because of motorbikes, but not so bad.
I recommand the place !

Room Tip: Try to have a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique Hotel
Hai Au Boutique Hotel
#42 of 123 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Like Hoi An Hotel
Like Hoi An Hotel
#63 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#32 of 123 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Salute Hotel & Villa
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#58 of 123 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing