We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly and helpfull staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, friendly and helpfull staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked this hotel via agoda.com, where we got a superior room for around 30$.

When we arrived, we immediately discovered i lost my passport. The staff took the initiatie to call our last hotel in Hue, where we apparentely left my passport behind. They than arranged for my passport to arrive that same day! Thanks again!

The room was very nice, very clean with airco and seperate bathroom with hot water. The breakfast offered a good choice in eggs, bread, fruits,... . They have a great pool (although we didn't use it). The location is great, just off the busy centre but easily accessible by foot.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Book via agoda.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StijnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    235
    86
    41
    19
See reviews for
64
278
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We didn't really want to stay in this hotel but we were too tired to look any further and it was conveniently located. It looks nice from the outside but the rooms were ancient with a huge ugly bathroom that they never cleaned. The 'duvets' were these heavy dirty looking things and the room was just generally unmaintained. The staff seemed to wonder around aimlessly looking bored and never did anything about the fact that the fridge didn't stay closed and we had a massive ant problem even after asking them to do something about it. The breakfast was pretty good but not good enough to make up for the rest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My girlfriend and I liked this hotel. It was really good value considering the quality of the room, swimming pool and free (albeit average) breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a good base for our explorations of Hoi An and its beautiful beaches.

They also let us wait in their reception area and take a shower before we got on the night bus, about 8 hours after we checked out, which was much appreciated.

There were a couple of minor drawbacks. The aforementioned breakfast was a little bland (but included in the price of the room). The aircon just about cooled our room down to a manageable temperature but there was no burst of cool air like we got in other hotels on our trip. Finally, the staff went through a scripted listed of questions (where are you going? Can we book transport for you? Do you want any clothes made?) and tried to convince us to go to their cloth shop. Which was a little pressuring.

But they were minor issues and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our 3rd stay here and unfortunately the worst, we wouldn't have gone back if we didn't like it, but sadly it seems they've neglected the place a bit with staff and service, also our bed was like a rock and nearly unusable. Sorry guys wont be coming back, you need to lift your act.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool, they're the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yangon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A lovely, fairly small hotel quite close to the old quarter of Hoi An. Its distinctive feature is a swimming pool in the middle of the ground floor. All of the rooms are off terraces that surround the pool on three levels.

The deluxe rooms have little verandas either outside the front door of the room, or opening to the outside of the hotel.

The rooms are what you would expect in this price range. Air Con, hotwater shower and toilet ensuite and cable TV. The wifi worked fine.

The staff were pleasant and spoke reasonable English. The clientele is an even mix between some locals, backpakers and some flashpakers.

We extended our stay by one night, and we were given a discount as we had not booked online. Quite a change from our Hanoi experience (see my previous review

All in all, a good place to stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My friend and I shared a room Friday 31st Aug. to 6th Sept., was comfortable and very convenient to the Old Town, just 3 min. walk away and close to everything. There's a pool and the staff were just lovely. Had our bags carried upstairs (no lift) 3 floors. Massage spas and restaurants right at your door. Room was $27 per night. Hoi An is just fab. Did a cooking course at Morning Glory - yes, very good. Oh yes, 3 computers and wi fi too. Suzie from Noosa, Australia

Room Tip: We were at the back of square bld. with central pool, we moved from top floor down one flight stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinnamon022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Thanh Van Hotel looks nice, but isn't. The staff is rude and unfriendly and makes you feel unwelcome. Also we got hassled to go to "our shop" next door.

Most annoying thing was, that when we booked a trip to Dong Hoi on a sleeping bus, they charged us the fee for Hanoi (twice as far) and only booked one seat - so we had to ride while one of us had to sit on the floor, but payed for 2 seats!

Don't go there and if you do don't book anything.

(Also we heard complaints from other travellers about booking things in Thanh Van)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaJohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#40 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#48 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#44 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#72 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing