We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfy stay and excellent breakfast”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #64 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A comfy stay and excellent breakfast”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Thanh Van Hotel. We were initially booked to stay in the Thanh Van II hotel but for some reason the room was not available. This worked in our advantage as the Thanh Van hotel is closer to Hoi An. The room was excellent and the air condition and pool was delicious on the hot afternoons and evenings.

Breakfast was one of the best that we encountered in Vietnam with a good selection at the breakfast buffet. The staff were very helpful, allowed us to leave our bags and use their facilities for the day before we had to catch the sleeper train. We used their reasonable priced car service to get to Danang which was fantastic.

Overall we had no problems and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Back rooms will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    244
    88
    41
    19
See reviews for
73
290
74
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We found the hotel on Agoda and felt we got decent rooms for the price. The staff were hot and cold - friendly when they needed to be and not so helpful when I asked them to check with a bike tour that we hadn't booked thru them. But the rooms we had were quiet and the hotel clean with a hot (ish) shower and tub. We were basically only there to sleep so no problems with that for us. It is in a great location in the old town and the breakfast is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angetom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

After being taken to a very expensive hotel out of town by a dishonest taxi driver we were just happy to find something in the heat. So settled on this hotel as the location was sensible and the rooms were bearable.

However, come going to sleep the rooms were not bearable as you are constantly woken up by other guests or the very close to proximity to the road without a proper window to keep the noise down so as soon as traffic starts in the morning you are awake.

We asked for the price to Nha Trang via the bus and were quoted 17 usd. We checked around and as this was reasonable went back to book. The same member of staff phoned up the bus company and confirmed that the bus was still available. Then asked us for 20 usd each. We obviously questioned why it had gone up in the last half hour. She froze in front of us. Then picked up a phone, didnt dial or speak then said "ok, I get it at 17 usd'. This was my second trip to Vietnam and the first time round the place was rife with this sort of behaviour but things have improved due to websites such as trip advisor as they now realise that service is important rather than just trying to get as many dollars out of you as they can.

Room Tip: Don't book anything from hotel and get a room not at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubbsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton England UK
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed here recently. Not very impressed. Our room had a window with a brick wall directly outside. Smelt a bit lacks TLC. Air con didn't work. We requested a change of room and were told we would have to pay extra, the room we were moved to was a single and not much better, although it was less smelly and noisy but needs a lot of attention. In the end we didn't pay any extra. Breakfast was good. Staff really not helpful or pleasant, didn't offer to help with carrying luggage. They say a smile costs nothing in this hotel I think it probably does, they even charge us for a piece of paper.
One to avoid.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Thanh Van hotel customers get a discount when they use the tailor situated right next door. The quality of work is excellent and Yen is very helpful and friendly. They have lots of catalogues for you to look thru or you can bring your own pics and they'll make whatever you want. She has an extensive range of silks, suiting fabrics, cheap cottons and stretch fabrics. You'll get a fitting on the first day and can pick up a day later. I bought 2 mens shirts and 3 dresses and they all perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Plus
Interesting layout / reasonable location / breakfast quite nice / tea on tap later/ primary services well performed by staff.

Minus
Locating on major road so is fundamentally noisy (ie not just beep beep) with whole hotel affecting except....... Plenty of windowless rooms (which is ridiculous for such a non-centre location) so watch out unless peace there is essential / staff inconsistent on tourist services. I hear various complaints. Some may take guests for a ride.

This was the worst of my six places round Vietnam on a $15 to 30$ range.

Hoi An is a problem for budget travellers as many well heeled tourist come here. Much research is needed. Across the lantern bridge worth checking out.

What a wonderful town. Reminds me of a small scale relaxed Venice.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, ca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel last night. We were provided a free shuttle ride from the bus station which was a Godsend since it was raining cats and dogs at night when we arrived. We were also provided with transportation for dinner since it was too wet to walk.

Our room was clean and simple and service was provided in English.

We awoke the next morning to see that the first floor of our hotel had been flooded due to the rains. It was intense. Luckily, for us the hotel provided us with a boat ride to their sister hotel (which was not flooded) for breakfast and Internet access.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssfOakland_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#50 of 155 in Hoi An
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#119 of 155 in Hoi An
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#46 of 155 in Hoi An
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#140 of 155 in Hoi An
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#79 of 155 in Hoi An
527 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#63 of 155 in Hoi An
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Property: Thanh Van Hotel
Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing