We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Just as Good.”
Review of Thanh Van Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thanh Van Hotel
Ranked #66 of 167 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We re booked the Thanh Van 1 for our second trip, the staff were the same and welcomed us back it was really a good feeling. They have done some work on the rooms and they are really nice and value for money. As before breakfast was included and really good. Its become quite a busy place with lots of backpackers being turned away so i suggest you book before turning up. All the staff were more than helpful and always accommodating with info and tour help. The location is the winner and will bring us back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 727 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

You do get a good buffet breakfast and an indoor swimming pool. But the room we had was very smelly, there was a window with a wall at about 20cm away from the window and by far the most uninteresseted and unfriendly staff we have met in Vietnam.
We only stayed here one night and moved the next day to a cheaper and nicer hotel and had great stay in Hoi an

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nowmilesapart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Having not had a booking in Hoi An and seeing this hotel in the Lonely Planet, we gave it a try and were suitably impressed with our stay at this hotel. Location-wise, this please is perfectly situated just outside the fun side of the old quarter where the bars and life is at. This makes it ideal when wandering in the dark after a few.

The rooms are large enough to have 2 double beds, a lounge, dining and chairs. Rooms come with air conditioning. The room is clean, and properly cleaned everyday by cleaning staff. The bathroom is just as clean and offers plenty of room.

The hotel has a pool located in the middle of the property, with all the rooms overlooking it. The pool is slightly small, but since not many people use it, it is actually sufficient. There is free wireless internet, as well as 3 PCs for guest use as well. The breakfast is quite good. Lots of food on offer, with eggs cooked upon order, a couple of Vietnamese and Western dishes, lots of fresh fruit, bread, pastries, fruit juice, water, tea and coffee.

The front of the hotel has plenty of room for guests to park their bicycles and scooters. At night, the hotel actually draws its metal gates to ensure they are safe and secure.

Hotel staff are excellent. They are very friendly, professional and also very personable. Everyday they asked us where we were going and offered us advice. When our tour bus was ever late by 2 minutes, they always called up the tour company to check for us, which was very reassuring. Our bus trip leaving Nha Trang wasn't due until 6pm, so the staff offered us to shower before the bus trip and gave us fresh towels to use so we can freshen up for the long bus ride. We were very appreciative of their offer.

Overall, a great experience and excellent hotel to stay in with great staff to look after you.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingCarlito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed for five nights and found Thanh Van to be good value for Hoi An. We paid $25 a night for a third floor room that faced out to the side of the hotel. This seemed to be good value for Hoi An as it was quite overpriced for Vietnam. The room was well appointed and had good hot water. It was very clean, and we had no problem getting things restocked. The downstairs areas were a little damp, but this was normal in Hoi An due to the frequent flooding. The breakfast was good, and there was lots to go around. They asked us if we wanted tours or a tailor, but once we said no, they didn't bother us again. The only downside of the hotel was that the central courtyard made it a little noisy. I did manage to have one swim in the pool. Overall, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liane_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The hotel is very nice, with a beautiful swimming pool, a tasty breakfast buffet, and pretty rooms.
I recommend staying away from all other additionnal services that the owner will push very hard to make you use:
- taylor: I think this looked like one of the the worst quality taylor I've seen in hoi an, and the prices were higher than other places, although the owner will pretend to make you a 15% discount
- coach: we booked a coach to Hue, for 6 dollars with 'hotel pick up'. The hotel pick up was a guy showing us the way to a travel agency 100m from there. If bought directly from the agency, the ticket was 4 dollars.
- etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Enjoyed our stay here. we were met at Danang Airport without problem. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was clean and all we needed. Loved the pool, we are 60+ travellers and really enjoyed being able to use it. As in other reports that comment on extra paid for making bookings etc. WELL it is a business and if you dont want to pay for the convenience then book elsewhere but the service was there for those who needed it. Breakfast incl was great and more than adequate. Also having internet was very convenient. Being in the tourism business ourselves we do understand how it all works and for the price this hotel provided a good service. Coffee wasnt always how we liked it but hey! when in Rome and it is all part of the travel experience. Anyone complaining about this hotel should pay the price and stay in the Hilton

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor and back rm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuaotunubay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We spend 2 nights at Than Vanh 1 hotel and it was just ok.
Hotel is very well located, a couple of blocks again from main attractions.
Staff and service is good, not great. Why? I contacted the hotel weeks before my arrival and asked them to send a driver to pick us up at Danang Airport. The day before our arrival I sent them our flight number and arrival time. The driver NEVER showed up. We waited for about half an our and ended up taking a taxi outside the airport. When we arrived to the hotel the lady at front desk assured me our pick up was at the airport arrivals area, but he it wasn't! Danang airport is not so big to not see someone holding a card with your name on it...
Room was old, there was damp on the ceiling and some walls, and the hole room smelled like it.
Didn't even use the swimming pool. By being in the middle of the ground floor rooms didn't "invite" us to get in.
Breakfast was fine, though coffee was undrinkable. Horrible!
They recommended us a tailor shop just a few meters from the hotel and we got a couple of coat and pants, very good price!
Anyway, and despite all the cons, hotel is actually according to what you pay, nothing more. Maybe, if you get a better room and meet your driver at the aiport, you'll have better luck!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlorenciaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#57 of 167 in Hoi An
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#49 of 167 in Hoi An
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#151 of 167 in Hoi An
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
Vinh Hung 2 City Hotel
#89 of 167 in Hoi An
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calla Villa
Calla Villa
#68 of 167 in Hoi An
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Bell Hoi An Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Van Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Van Hotel

Address: 78 Tran Hung Dao, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $26 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Van Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Van Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Van Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing