We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #72 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We stayed for three nights and the rooms and service were very good; the breakfast was so good we rated it as joint first for our whole 14 week trip. We did not eat in the evenings: the prices were high and the beach side resturant was closed for renovation. Location next to the beach was perfect although the road outside could be tidied up.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling-poppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,652 - 1,658 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2009

After 3 days in cacaphonous Hanoi, this quiet resort was just what I needed. We had booked a Deluxe Ocean View room, but when we arrived they only had a Superior Garden View room available for a few hours. So we checked in and took the shuttle (runs 4X daily) into Hoi An Ancient Town. Upon returning, we decided we'd rather be close to the ocean in the Deluxe Ocean View room we had booked originally. The staff was so nice. They said, "let's go look at the room, then you can decide." Eventually we moved without having to beg and plead with anyone.

The location is perfect (10 minute ride by shuttle bus or taxi into town).
The town has lots of nice shops and restaurants. Very few people honking their horns like in the big cities. Taxis wait in the street by the resort entrance, so there is never a long wait.

Nothing bad about the resort, but realize you could be anywhere. Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Florida. Nothing uniquely Vietnamese here. But it's a great, relaxing place to recharge for a few days.

Massage in the spa was $40/hour. Kind of expensive for Vietnam, but so convenient, and the little masseuse was great with her hands.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

This is a gorgeous resort with immaculate rooms and the softest sheets. I think you can buy them. I wish we had. The breakfast spread was huge and amazing. I think there was basically every type of food there. Cheese, eggs, cured meat, salad, japanese, vietnamese and a whole bunch of stuff I can't even remember. Made a total pig of myself. The grounds were lovely and well manicured and the check in and out was very smooth. Great pool and the spa treatments were very good. A lot of high end resorts in Vietnam don't quite get it together but this one did. Service in the beachfront restaurant was a bit hit and miss, but that's Vietnam for you. I stayed at the Golden Sands on the same trip and although the pool was great the rooms were a bit sterile, the service was haphazard and a little pushy and the lobby was kinda dirty. I'd choose Palm Gardens over the Golden Sands if I went back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Palm Garden was a very nice stay in Hoi An. Although we were there for only 1 night, we loved every moment of it.

The best thing was the staffs. They were very friendly & attentive to details, from the restaurant waiter to the gardener. Especially the front desk staffs. Our holiday was to be 2 nights in Hue before arriving in Hoi An and we booked our stay at the Riverside resort for Hoi An. Then the plan changed and we skipped Hue and because it was the national holiday, all the hotels in Hoi An were full. When we called Palm Garden, a front desk lady named Kieu was able to find us a room but only for the following night, not that night. Instead of just leave us hanging, she went out of her way and called all other facilities in Hoi An to find us a room for that night (we believed it because we were calling them too and everything is booked). Thanks to Kieu, we had a modest room at a nearby hotel for that night and moved to Palm Garden the following night. Without her effort, we wouldn't have a chance to try Palm Garden and could have been stranded in Hoi An. It was the peak season of Hoi An and at a very busy national holiday, but Kieu offered us the very reasonable rate of $100/night for a garden view room. The room was nice and had all the 4 star amenity, except a bath (there was only shower) but the bathroom was spacious and airy and spotlessly clean and we think it's a good value.

Another note is that we found the resort to be very kids friendly. (Because of the national holiday), there were a lot of families with young children and they all seem to have a ball. From the breakfast room to the pool to the beach, kids were the center of the scene and other guests seem to got cheered by their cuteness. On the other hand, it could be just me who loves kids. If you don't like a vacation with kids playing running and screaming at the pool, you should look elsewhere. However, at night it was very peaceful and we could hear crickets chipping while sitting out on our porch.

A tip for dining: the resort restaurant was nice. We had lunch once with a gourmet pizza and some salad. The service was very good. However, we loved the local restaurants more. Had dinner everyday at a street "restaurant" at the touristy area near Palm Garden. If you walk from the beach to town, it's the very first one on your right, the first on the row. It's a family run facility and they had the best seafood. We had a $2 Vietnamese fish soup "canh cá" with the best mackerel. The fish was so fresh it's chewy! They cook the fish with pineapple, tomato, onion and herb and it's so refreshing after a long day sight seeing. The owners of that restaurant were honest too, comparing with their neighbors who lied about the weight of out crab.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights. Grounds, pool etc lovely, but you need a taxi to travel in and out of town. The hotel runs a shuttle bus, but it's not always that frequent.
The rooms were large but unfortunately there was a constant damp smell.
Breakfasts were very good and the service was excellent if at times too prompt!
The hotel is on a beautiful seemingly neverending beach.
Nice verandah attached to our groung floor room, however most afternoons the wind coming in off the sea made it too cold to take advantage.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satchmoDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Came here with my husband for a relaxing 5 days at the beach. If the sun had been shining, I've no doubt we would have had a much better time here. The rooms were spacious and nice, but incredibly damp and clammy in the rain. Pool area again was nice but we didn't get to spend too much time there.
The biggest problem I have with the Palm Garden is the unrepentant stingyness of the place. $2 per hour for bike rental. In Hoi An town it's $2 per day. At a 5 star hotel it should be free with a deposit. LIkewise if you wanted to play tennis after dark you had to pay for the rackets, balls and the lights to be turned on. Beer was over 3 times the price of anywhere else in Hoi An. The food (breakfast) was average compared to other places I've stayed in Vietnam. Plus you had to ask several times for the air con to be switched on in the gym..
Now I expect things to be a bit more expensive than in, say a 3 star resort, but I don't expect to be ripped off on all the extras when paying $200 per night. Shuttle service to town was also pretty average. It should be 1 per hour, not only 4 times a day with the last one being 8.30pm to get back.
5 stars should mean the best staff and facilities possible. This lady is showing her age; the facilities are here, the attention to detail is not - that's being over-ridden by pure greed. On the other hand if you're from the USA, it's probably a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foodlover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Supposedly a 5 star resort this place is no oasis of calm. The dining room is like a dinner hall at school. There is constant loud country and western music playing. The fixtures and fittings of the hotel are cheap, tacky and falling apart. The hotel does not appear to be well maintained and things are broken and falling apart. The staff are poorly trained and intrusive. It is a noisy holiday camp for people who wish to buy cheap nock offs at the local shops. Plus despite paying high rates you have to pay for everything - bike hire $2 an hour, tennis racquets etc. Altogether a dissapointing experience in which I thought would be a relaxing, classy place to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KiwifoxMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#69 of 159 in Hoi An
1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#84 of 159 in Hoi An
949 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Lac Long Quan Street, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#47 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $111 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on five hectares of landscaped tropical garden with over 400 species of palm trees and plants right along a 220-meter stretch of the famous Cua Dai, Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa offers a touch of Hoi An's traditional architectural design combined with a taste of modern luxury and only 5 minutes by car from the UNESCO- recognized World Heritage Hoi An ancient town. The combination of nature and a unique architecture remarkable of the culture of Hoi An make a distinctive character for Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa. Elegant accommodation comprises 216 wooden-designed rooms and beachfront bungalows. Spacious guest rooms have been constructed from and furnished with natural materials, and all feature a private balcony and modern amenities. Resort facilities encompass a deluxe spa offering best products, a fitness centre complete with sauna, state of the art meeting facilities, water sports activities, a private beach, and a 969 square-metre outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Guests are sure to enjoy the resort's selection of cuisine, ranging from traditional Vietnamese to international specialties at restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Palm Garden Beach Hotel Hoi An
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing