We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - right on the beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great hotel - right on the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent a great 4 nights at this hotel over the new year period. It was spot on in every respect and the staff and facilities were top notch. The hotel is right on the beach and there's a shuttle bus 4 or 5 times a day (I think) to Hoi An itself. The taxi is cheap (£3-£4) if you dont want to hang about though. Plenty of taxis at the hotel and in Hoi An and about 10-15 minutes travel time.The food at the hotel was the most average we had on the trip but that's mainly because the food is so good in Vietnam. The breakfast buffet here is great though. Don't let that comment put you off in any way though. Rooms are big and airy and have rocking chairs to chill on your balcony. Choice you have is chilled beach with a short trip into town or busier in town hotels. I would come back here again fo sure. Enjoy

Room Tip: Dont bother with the beach view rooms unless you really want to spend lots of time in your room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,119
    584
    180
    52
    23
See reviews for
457
1,048
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
232 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pluses .. when you are vomiting and could do the other end's business through the eye of a needle thanks to the Mango smoothie you had in downtown HOI AN .. they have bloke with drugs that can stop this and he is a physician (name tag) nurse (list of services) and he is free

Minus .. he doesn't speak English but pointing at your rear does get you something to stop the runs .. pointing at your mouth you get something to stop the vomitting.

Plus .. the Gardens wonderful although I am disturbed by how close the Ms Universes planted their Norfolk pines

Minus ... the Bed ...oh dear lord it is so hard.. I have slept on softer slabs of concrete.. I woke each morning in pain. This is not an exaggeration.

Minus .. the great goldfish killing of 2012 I witnessed, I did advise the staff (as a long term fish fancier) that they were poisoned, possibly they had worked this out by the significant number of fish dying even though they had no English.

Minus.. the room charges were outrageous.. $500 on check out .. someone is overcharging for the mini bar, resturant, cafe and bar.. naughty naughty

Plus .. the lovely lady from housekeeping .. god I love that woman... please ensure that if you meet her you tip her.. she is the one that gets really really excited like all her Christmases (or whatever the appropriate Buddism alternative) have come at once. I got such a thrill every time we caught up, I always tipped her. Take that American bar man in New York City who did not like Australians because they don't tip, give us a smile and let us know how thrilled you are with a tip and you get half your daily earnings!

Minus .. they over charged on the laundry but I did get to see the lovely lady from housekeeping again so bonus.

Plus .. lifesavers on the beach

Minus .. when I was swimming they were all looking at the hotel and not the ocean

Plus ... lots of staff
Minus .. levels of English were not what I expect at an alleged 5 star resort - I have been at 5 star in Italy, Fiji, Bali and Thailand .. the English here was not cricket folks just not cricket

Plus ... spa was lovely
Minus ... cheaper across the road

Minus ... Breakfast was disappointing

Minus ........... COFFEE FAIL ... BAD COFFEE... undrinkable, unpleasant and you can't explain to the staff that they have the water too hot so they are burning the coffee and you need milk that is fresh

Minus .. they kept putting down the blinds in the breakfast place/resturant.. surely the point is to see the ocean

Minus.. facebook in Hoi An was frequently not working not sure if their internet wifi was blame or if the government was blocking it

Plus .. it was five minutes from Hoi An and about $5 at the most for a taxi

Minus... it was five bucks for taxi everytime we went into town and their dogey shuttle never went at a time you wanted to go... In Bali we were given a lift to anywhere local we wanted and it was all part of staying at the Dream Villas ...

Minus ... ORANGE EVERYWHERE YOU LOOK

Minus .. we got stung $150 for an upgrade to the delux room.. .don't do the superior .. too much orange and squishy - the superior we got given was up 3 flights of stairs! I can damage myself on flat ground thanks.

Minus.. stung you when you took money out. 5% commission and there own crap rate of conversion

Plus .. hired a car from the resort to go to My Son and it had wi fi
Minus... cost $80

Minus ... worker working in bad weather conditions.

MINUS ... NON STOP CHRISTMAS CAROLS .. oh dear Lord please give this hotel a new Christmas CD next year

Plus .. a reinterpretation on the nativity .. Mary has a glitter dress, they are in a cave not a stable .. and Jesus is a rather large baby given Mary's size (Christmas Miracle?)

Dare I suggest you don't book through an agent and you do a bit of research and you could do a bit better than this.

I marked this average as I loved the lady in housekeeping and appreciated the drugs after the night of vomiting and other toilet related activities.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllisonjaneBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
247 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at night so did not appreciate the beauty of this resort until the next morning. Peaceful grounds, beautiful pool area, short walk to the beach and extensive buffet breakfast selection. The band at the resort are great and play good arrangements of a range of songs. Staff are professional and friendly. Close to the town of Hoi An and all that it offers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 29plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

To be fair, we arrived at Palm Garden already with somewhat of a negative view - we'd booked directly on the hotel website and received an email a few days later 'helpfully' informing us that we could pay our $20 per night surcharge + $80 compulsory NYE gala ball upon arrival. After an email exchange, they agreed to waive the compulsory gala attendance ($80? In Vietnam? seriously!). Furthermore, the $20 'peak season' surcharge seemed a bit redundant, I would be very surprised if the hotel was more than 75% full.

The grounds of the hotel are quite nice - however the rooms are shabby and dated, in desperate need of refurbishment. The minibar prices are ridiculous, even for mini-bar prices, the hotels food and beverage prices extortionate for Vietnam. We ventured across the road and had cocktails for 50,000 dong (hotel charging 178,000) with great, friendly service from one of the venues there.

The hotel did start to grow on me the second day - the staff are very friendly, the breakfast relatively nice, with lots of fresh, healthy options. I had been given an upgrade to an Ocean View Standard - the ocean was largely blocked by buildings and palm trees but still was fairly nice.

What it comes down to is this is not a 5-star hotel, it is a 4 or 4.5 star hotel. Which would be fine, if:

1. The prices were at a 4 or 4.5 star level
2. You could sit and eat/drink all day without feeling massively ripped off
3. The resort didn't try to do everything possible to blatantly extract money from guests.

The final straw was the hotel trying to get me to pay the surcharge again upon check-out. While I believe it was a honest mistake on their part, set protocols should have meant that this was avoided - it took around 15 minutes to clear up.

Room Tip: The basic room type is, in fact, quite basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in December 2012. Our garden view room was large and comfortable, although the bed was made up of two double beds pushed together which made for an annoying crack in the middle. Pool was kept very clean. Also enjoyed the sauna and steam room - you do have to notify the staff half an hour before you want to use them so they can turn the system on. Food available on site was fine, and there are a collection of restaurants across the road as well as beachfront seafood restaurants about 10 minutes walk away. Wireless internet was pretty slow, the business centre provided reliable, quicker access. Shuttle service to and from Hoi An old town ran 4 times a day when we were there - agree with the previous reviewers who said that the shuttle could run more frequently, but taxis cost $US5 each way anyway. Overall a pleasant stay, if only a little bland.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flapflap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was delightful. This is an extensive beachside resort that would not be out of place in North Queensland or Hawaii. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. The open plan lobby area looks great, although some of the trophy photos on display were getting faded. The room we had was spacious and comfortable, although it was showing its age just a little bit. The breakfast area near the beach had a very tropical feel to it and the buffet options were very good.

I changed AUD into VND at reception and received a competitive exchange rate with no explicit fees, which I thought was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peteratsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

How magic is this place from the time you pull into the drive you are treated like the only guest
Then taken to our villa beautiful rooms big bathroom. The pool is just huge. Though you can also swim in the ocean. The gardens are so very lush and green. What a huge choice from breakfast each morning. Very friendly staff through out the resort. Only a 10min taxi ride to Ho An city. It's like time has stood still the shopping is excellent every thing made to fit dresses and shoes a plenty. Very Tasty food. Our guide Tien was very good. Our first night was down on the river at a beautiful restaurant. Also Cargo's, Hai Cafe.
The coffee was good also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julz950938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#54 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Belhamy
Le Belhamy
#78 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
1.2 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Lac Long Quan Street, Cua Dai Beach, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#36 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on five hectares of landscaped tropical garden with over 400 species of palm trees and plants right along a 220-meter stretch of the famous Cua Dai, Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa offers a touch of Hoi An's traditional architectural design combined with a taste of modern luxury and only 5 minutes by car from the UNESCO- recognized World Heritage Hoi An ancient town. The combination of nature and a unique architecture remarkable of the culture of Hoi An make a distinctive character for Palm Garden Beach Resort and Spa. Elegant accommodation comprises 214 wooden-designed rooms and beachfront bungalows. Spacious guest rooms have been constructed from and furnished with natural materials, and all feature a private balcony and modern amenities. Resort facilities encompass a deluxe spa offering best products, a fitness centre complete with sauna, state of the art meeting facilities, water sports activities, a private beach, and a 969 square-metre outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens. Guests are sure to enjoy the resort's selection of cuisine, ranging from traditional Vietnamese to international specialties at restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Palm Garden Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Beach Resort And Spa
Palm Garden Beach Hotel Hoi An
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing