We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,312)
Filter reviews
2,312 results
Traveler rating
1,696
494
96
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,696
494
96
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river riverside cafe split level old town river view suite sitting area beautiful hotel perfect location thu bon river colonial style junior suite the general manager turn down service the hustle and bustle an oasis within easy walking distance short stroll
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,312 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk into the old town and overlooks the river. We had a garden view room on the 2nd level which was a perfect location. The room was spacious and comfortable, however the staff were exceptional - so helpful and friendly, and just delightful. Thanks to Trang for her lovely and attentive service and who put a personal touch on our stay. We also enjoyed a wonderful massage at the spa, in particular with Le. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jamtarts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinhN224, Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jamstarts,

Thank you and it is heartening to read that your recent experience with us was so memorable and the little attention to detail extended your satisfaction. Your kind recognition of Trang and Le's efforts in particular I have personally thanked them for. We are very much appreciative of your recommendation.

With our best wishes,
Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

the staff were wonderful from the moment we checked in. We were in a double room overlooking the garden and pool area, well laid out and comfortable for a few nights stay.
The breakfast buffet was a standout, catered for all tastes and nationalities. A very short walk to Ancient Town and right on the river, couldn’t fault the location.
If you are going to get laundry done, step out the gates and turn left, the First Lady you get to is the most competitive.
Aaron spa just around the corner was a wonderful massage and spa place too.
Overall, a great place to stay, highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Leeroibrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinhN224, Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Leeroibrown,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Anantara Hoi An while you are in the Ancient Town and we are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your kind comments are really heartening to all the team and much appreciated. We look forward to your return.

With our best wishes,
Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is well-located and only 10 min walk to the a ancient market and 15 min walk away from the night market. The hotel offers free bicycle which is an good option to go to the market and even An Bang Beach (20 mins by bicycle).
The staff are really friendly and many of them remember our names after our 4-night stay. We also tried the private dinner arrangement there and everything was nice.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinhN224, Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kat S,

Thank you and it is heartening to read that you had a wonderful stay at Anantara Hoi An. We are very much appreciative of your recommendation. We look forward to your return.

With our best wishes,
Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a lovely resort that has everything you need. They have recently renovated the rooms and they are very spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast is great. There is a large pool and lovely well kept gardens. The Riverside café is a lovely place to have a drink or a meal. All the staff are attentive and friendly and go out of their way to ensure you have the best experience possible whilst staying with them. This is what brings us back each time in Vietnam

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrinhN224, Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jo N,

Thank you and we are pleased that your recent experience with us was a relaxing one. It is wonderful to hear that our service enhanced your stay. We look forward to your return.

With our best wishes,
Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll start with the positives. The welcome we received was fantastic - the manager came to say hi, the receptionists were friendly and gave us a lot of info about Hoi An, restaurant recommendations, told us that we had been given a free upgrade because we have stayed at Anantara resorts before, nice welcome drink, etc.

Unfortunately, when we got to our room there were very noisy construction works going on in the room next door, by the pool, to the extent that when we were in the room we had to shout in order to hear each other. Immediately, the good first impression dissipated and I went to reception to express my disappointment.

To be fair, the hotel staff bent over backwards to apologise and offer us freebies to make up for the inconvenience, which was very much appreciated. But notwithstanding this, I think it's pretty sharp practice to accommodate guests at full price when there are major works like these going on in the hotel, without mentioning it on the website, and we felt cheated by the experience. The decent thing to do would be to close the hotel for a couple of months, do the refurbishment, and then re-open, instead of doing the works whilst accepting guests who are paying full price for a sub-standard experience and gambling on them not complaining too much and just accepting it. This isn't good enough, and it made me very angry as when you're on holiday you don't want to have to complain - we had had such a fantastic stay at an Anantara in Thailand we had arrived here with high expectations which were not met.

We were also told that the works would only be audible on our first day, and I accepted this guarantee instead of demanding to change rooms because the room itself was actually pretty nice, with the river view. However, there were noises in the early morning on subsequent days. The hotel does need a refurbishment and a lick of paint - white walls outside would look smarter than the strange peachy/pink walls it currently has, and hopefully they will install proper baths and showers instead of the weird concrete sunken baths with the overhead showers.

Further good points: I thought the breakfast was good - contrary to lots of other reviewers - yes, the breakfast room has no air con but this is Vietnam, get over it. The food was good and the selection was good. We loved the freedom of using the free bicycles to cycle up to the beach for the day. The smoothies at the pool bar were fantastic, and we enjoyed sitting by the pool with a refreshing smoothie after we got back from the beach. That was excellent. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a great seating area, and the split level living/bed area was nice, as was the porch outside. The hotel is also extremely conveniently located for the walk into town - and I would definitely recommend eating in town instead of having lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant because the food in town is much better. In the hotel bar, the bread in the banh mi we had was clearly stale - we had a much better banh mi from a tiny shack on An Bang beach and it cost the equivalent of about 50p.

So, as much as it pains me to give this place a low rating when there are so many hardworking and friendly local staff here trying their best, the experience wasn't as good as we were paying for and it wasn't up to Anantara standard.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view otherwise you might be backing on to the road (noisy) or overlooking the pool (no privacy)
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ph0even, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Badger885,

Thank you for the feedback.

We are sorry that the soft refurbishment we are doing between 10am and 5pm marred your stay, and that the numerous gestures of apology we offered did not leave you satisfied. We thought that you were understanding and that clearly is not the case for which we are sorry.

We do wish to add that the bread we use is baked daily, apologies if it was not to your liking.

Badger885, we are sorry that your experience was not as you expected.

With kind regards

Pieter van der Hoeven
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews