We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A serene tranquil place in the middle of Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Hoi An Resort
Ranked #39 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A serene tranquil place in the middle of Vietnam”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We had 6 nights here and wanted more. We laughed a lot, walked a lot, ate a lot and got way too many clothes made in this beautiful part of the world! The Anantara was well suited for us, a family of 4 with interconnecting rooms. Breakfast was excellent, even after 6 of them! Kids loved the crepes and waffles, little cinnamon scrolls and croissants. We opted for pho and omelettes. We didn't eat here as there are many many options in the old town. Perhaps one of the most entertaining aspects of this resort is the laundry war. As you walk out the gates you will be approached by not 1 but possibly 4 of the ladies wanting to do your washing. We chose number 1 the first time we got washing done and then Mr Clean the second time. Both were great with our washing back to us within the same day. Negotiate the price though... Back to the resort...yes it was lovely, the rooms had plenty of space and the bathroom well appointed. It's a great place to stay and only a few minutes walk to the old town and then over the bridge to the night market with the beautiful lanterns. I don't think you will be disappointed, if something isn't right just talk to the staff, they will be onto it in a flash.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Di S:

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with TripAdvisor’s readers.
Our connecting rooms are indeed perfect for a family vacation and our location makes it quite convenient for a stroll into town even with the little ones.

Hope that you and your family collected many amazing stories of our lovely country!
Cheers and Happy Holidays!

Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    398
    74
    10
    5
See reviews for
339
1,024
39
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Everything is laid on and you are so well looked after. You can alternate walking into the town and market with sitting by the pool drinking inexpensive cocktails. Very large and comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigsGems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear CraigsGems:

So kind of you to share your experience at Anantara Hoi An with Trip Advisor’s readers.

Delighted to read you had a fantastic time and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!

Cheers!

Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Really hard to fault this hotel. Everything about this place we loved, the service was excellent, the rooms were beautiful, location was great. The pool was stunning, especially at night, and the poolside bar made some delicious cocktails. Cheap during happy hour too. The first night we took back our empty cocktail glasses back to the bar to help out the bar staff and from then on for the rest of the stay the cocktails were never weak on the alcohol!!!! We paid around $160 a night, and for that price we were impressed. Breakfast was done excellently, and the only people that annoyed us during our stay were other guests that have no dam toaster etiquette. We were originally going to stay in a beach side resort, a friend recommended to stay in the city. Really glad we followed his advice, as staying in the city was definitely better.

If you are staying in Hoi an, you should definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishman_rah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Fishman_rah:

Thank you for taking the time to post your great feedback on Trip Advisor.

Best recommendations come from friends and we are delighted that you choose to visit us!
We are looking to welcoming you back with your favorite sun-downer by the pool!

Cheers,
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of tour. Great location, only short walk into centre of town. Hotel had been evacuated due to flooding and typhoon a few days prior to our arrival. You wouldn't have thought so. All was up and running as normal, Great work by staff. Very close to river, lovely location and peaceful, great for relaxing if on a busy tour. Staff very approachable and happy to help. Rooms very comfortable.

Room Tip: Deluxe room had all you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Globetrotter Tyneside:

Thank you for visiting Anantara Hoi An and so glad to read that the service and the location made your stay a great experience.

Delighted to share your kind words with our dedicated team and hope to welcome you back soon to Anantara Hoi An.

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed three nights.Hotel is located at end of main street,in walking distance of many local sights and restaurants.Large comfortable rooms,clean and tidy.Large clean swimming pool.Had a set evening meal in restaurant which was very good but staff tended to hover over us to take away plates as we took our last mouthful.Did not eat there on subsequent nights as there appeared to be only two set dinner menus which seemed ratther expensive.Stayed in ground floor room which has a pleasant ouside area,but many passing guests,and noted some noise late at night from room above.

Room Tip: Best have a room on top[3rd]floor to avoid noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Traveler Cleethorpes

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback following your visit at Anantara Hoi An.

I am sorry to read about your impressions on menu offering at our resort and I assure you that we have an extensive array of menu choices in our three restaurants to cater for our guest’s desires. I do apologize that in your case these options were not offered to you and that you felt the team hovered in your presence.

I have personally been involved in these opportunities to improve our standards and I am happy to say that this has been implemented and I thank you for your constructive comments via trip advisor.

I do hope your travels will bring you soon back to Anantara Hoi An in the future and if so I would be delighted to welcome you personally to resort

Wishing you a joyful Holiday season,

Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WEST LONDON
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Although the Hotel was well situated a short walk from all the shops, restaurants, cafes & sights of the old town of Hoi An, it was a disappointment by South East Asian standards. The room was nice enough, and the service fine but not excellent. The pool area felt gloomy. There were insufficient staff there. They made no effort to see whether clients wanted a drink, perhaps the offer of cool towels might have been good. The breakfast was pedestrian, the staff were helpful enough but seemed to lack professionalism. There seemed to be an absence of management & training compared to other hotels in the region. This hotel is okay but has the potential to be very good or excellent given its privileged location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NW2FOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear NW2Foodie:

Thank you for staying at Anantara Hoi An and for taking the time to share your valuable input with TripAdvisor’s readers

Please accept our sincere apologies as it appears that we fallen short in providing you with the Anantara experience you are to expect and fulfilling our promise to create an amazing story from your visit with us team.

Thank you for bringing up your candid feedback to our attention and please be assured that I have personally reviewed all service delivery in the property and we have implemented the required actions to ensure any such experiences are not encountered again. Should your travels bring you back to Hoi An, please feel free to contact me directly so that I may assist and restore your trust in our commitment to Anantara.

Thank you again & Kind regards
Noel Cameron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I wanted to go back the minute I left! I'd go again. I enjoyed the bustle of Hoi an but it was tranquil to go back here and only a 5 minute walk. The staff were discreet but very helpful when you needed them. Our room was really nice with a private seating area in front. This was great if we didn't want to sit at the pool. Some of the poolside meals could be expensive but you were so close to the old town we mostly ate there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoelCameron, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Amanda:

So glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service of our team!
Our oasis amidst the charming town of Hoi An is looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Cheers,
Noel Cameron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#43 of 142 in Hoi An
815 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Vy Hotel
Maison Vy Hotel
#22 of 142 in Hoi An
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#15 of 142 in Hoi An
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Property: Anantara Hoi An Resort
Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 880000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing