We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, but rather crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Hoi An Resort
Ranked #40 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely, but rather crowded”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfect in so many ways - the rooms are lovely, the service is excellent, the food is delicious, the range of activities on offer is impressive, the location in perfect - on the river and walking distance to the old part of town. I found the spa disappointing - definitely not up to the standard of other anantara resorts. It was also rather crowded - definitely too many rooms for the small pool area to handle. One tip would be not to spend money on a junior suite as there was no discernible difference between our suite and our friends' deluxe room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank city0fangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,300
    406
    74
    10
    5
See reviews for
344
1,043
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Walk out the gate and you are in the thick of it, well almost.

Situated by the river and very close to the markets. Everything is within walking distance, although its great to bike around if only to get the lay of the land. Cross the river as well, more to see. The hotel has bikes.

The rooms are great , no complaints there. Nice pool and service at hand when required.
Breakfast was great, we didnt have dinner at the hotel due to all the temptations down the street.
No gym!
Anantara always impresses.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are quieter. The neighbours have roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No8wire_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed five days in this Hotel and loved it. Great location being close to old Hoi An and the beach. Went for bike ride on the river. Had clothes made at Blue which was an amazing Tailor shop we found and shared with others. Experienced first class service and great breakfasts. Loved the pool and had a very nice massage at the spa. Also went on the tour with the Street Guru and found this really informative. Well worth doing. Taxi around town cheap and efficient when the heat is too hot for walking! Great local with many restaurants nearby. Went back to Miss Ly several times for lunch and dinner. Don't need to pay for the river rooms as we had a top room on the third floor out the back which was much cheaper. Also noticed loud music coming from across the river several nights so beware!

Room Tip: Go for one of the cheaper options as we found them great and better value. Quieter and still roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 night stay at this hotel. Pros - really convenient for walking around town, beautiful fresh breakfast choice served overlooking the river, large clean connecting rooms, free bike hire (but you are told they are first come first served but some guests seem to bag a key early morning and then don't use the bike straight away as we went to borrow one and there was a row of bikes and only one key - they should deal with this). Easy to catch $4 taxi to the beach - they have a shuttle, but its only twice a day - so not really a shuttle. Cons - the cockerels woke us every morning and I had to wear ear plugs (probably depends which room you have), atmosphere round the pool is slightly odd - the pool is about 15m square, but the loungers face each other and are too close to the water/each other plus the acoustics mean that it feels slightly uncomfortable - it is very quiet, mainly adults reading etc, but you can hear other conversations, so not very private and not really a pool for kids to splash about in. There is room in the grounds to build a better pool. Inflated hotel prices for food, drinks and transfers - we would have eaten there if the prices had been more reasonable for the area, but there are so many fantastic restaurants in Hoi An. We paid half the price quoted by the hotel for a transfer to Hue.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the side which neighbours the cockerels - the river view is probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singaporeslingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Anantara is in the perfect location if you want to explore the old town and you have lots of Tailor's appointments to get to! Also only 3km from the beach.
Rooms are clean but could have been tided better during the room turn-down. The food is very good and the breakfasts had a large variety and excellent service. We had a room by the river which was very quiet and a good size. The spa was fantastic, very clean, relaxing and we were well looked after.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked through travel agent (under life heritage before the takeover)- our favourite hotel on our trip! Friendly and helpful staff from the minute we arrived- happy to confirm tours and book dinners for us. Always greeted by all staff in Vietnamese which was the only place we stayed where it wasn't in English. Clean and quaint rooms, lovely grounds and scenic pool. We were there for full moon and lucky enough to take part in the hotels lantern lighting down at the river- so pretty!! Short walk into old town and when the free hotel shuttle to the beach wasn't available they paid for a taxi for us. Probably the most expensive place we stayed but worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nurseali86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Location very good , easy walk into the old town. Breakfast was very nice and lots of choice. Pool was ok , big but not well designed. Staff lovely and friendly. Rooms good, nice bathroom and shower. All in all very good but take cab as much cheaper than hotel shuttle to airport.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigeckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#43 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Vy Hotel
Maison Vy Hotel
#25 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
1.1 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#16 of 144 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Property: Anantara Hoi An Resort
Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 880000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing