We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Hoi An Resort
Ranked #42 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Location very good , easy walk into the old town. Breakfast was very nice and lots of choice. Pool was ok , big but not well designed. Staff lovely and friendly. Rooms good, nice bathroom and shower. All in all very good but take cab as much cheaper than hotel shuttle to airport.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigeckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    412
    74
    10
    6
See reviews for
352
1,056
41
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As others here have written this hotel is situated perfectly for those wishing to spend a couple of days visiting the old part of Hoi An. This is a rebranded hotel, Pool villas and private gardens are not on the menu. However in terms of the overall experience this is most certainly Anantara, the staff are all friendly and engaging, the rooms are extremely clean and well serviced and there are lots of little extras. I would agree with one other poster here who mentioned the airport pickup, we paid through the nose for what we expected to be a luxury service but were met by a very small tatty old car that had A4 pieces of paper Sellotaped to the side of the car with the hotel name on... I mentioned this upon arrival and was disappointed with the response from the management instead of admitting the mistake they tried to make excuses and then lied that this was standard procedure which we know from previous experience is not true. For a third of the price we could have hired one of the local taxis which are of a better quality. I really hope the hotel management read this comment and do something about it because first impressions are so important and this service leaves a bitter taste in the mouth for what is otherwise a great hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a river facing room otherwise you're just facing other people's rooms… Also do not kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubai_Spy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LifeResorts, General Manager at Anantara Hoi An Resort, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank-you for selecting Anantara Hoi An Resort for your recent stay in Hoi An and taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. It was nice to read your positive comments on many aspects of your stay with us and also receive your constructive feedback on the resort transfer that we provided you, for your arrival. I will be making a personal inspection of the car that provided your transfer service to the resort on ther day of arrival and addressing any shortfalls with the company concerned who assist us with transfers. First impressions are definitely important and at the present time we are in the process of finalizing an upgrading program for the transportation section of the resort services to ensure we deliver a consistently high standard of transfer service. I have also looked into and addressed your concerns on the way at which your comments about the transfer were addressed at Reception on your arrival so that there is a more guest focused approach in the future.
I appreciate your time in advising of the negative service aspect of your visit so that we can improve with it immediately.

Kind regards,
Stuart Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray Brook, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our favorite hotel while in Vietnam. The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. The swimming pool was a nice shaded reprieve after spending the previous 4 days at an ocean resort. The location is a great base for exploring Hoi An. The resort is very quiet (except for the early morning roosters next door!) Highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location was a winner, we walked everywhere in the old town from this hotel, which was only a couple of minutes away. We moved here from the Hoi An Chic Hotel.
We had a junior suite facing the river which was nice enough. Moved to a corner suite twice the size which was very nice, but we hardly stayed in the room ! (Request an upstairs room with a river view).
The grounds and common areas could use a facelift, but were very well maintained and a pleasant respite from the heat and shopping. Breakfast was good, with enough choices to keep people happy.
The only negative was that the pool got a bit noisy with kids from time to time . Maybe when Anantara upgrade the resort (which must be on the cards, given their recent purchase of this property), they can find a clever way of squeezing in a children's pool somewhere out of earshot ! Not the end of the world. Ended up staying for 4 nights and only intended for 1 which is a good sign that overall we were happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for junior suite facing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktori71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Attention to detail was evident from the arrival & check in for the full duration of the stay. Staff were courteous and very helpful.
The riverside view of our room made the morning & evening views very relaxing. The low beat of the river boat motors as the various craft moved up & down the river and the low rumble of the motor scooters could have a most relaxing effect when just relaxing in the middle of the day.
Rooms are very comfortable & spacious. Possible the only negative aspect is the sunken shower/bath which can be a little slippery when stepping in-- but much better than having to step up & over a high set bath.
Breakfast is well catered with juices, local tropical fruits, cereals and a good hot buffet range.
For those not wishing to use the in-house laundry service, a "gauntlet" of local laundry agents meet you as soon as you step out of the hotel grounds.
The local market & Ancient City tourist attractions are les than 3 minutes walk away.
The hotel provides it's own craft classes and tours foe this who do not wish to venture into the challenge of bartering on the street.
A very good location, close to local attractions, surrounded by good quality cafes and restaurants and catered for by attentive and helpful staff. Definitely a good vaue accommodation facility.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We first visited this property twice last year when it was still Life Heritage. We loved it, so we returned this year now as Anantara. New name, & much much higher rates, also the package deals available were not as good as we had last year. So what did we get for our extra $ ?. Bottled water in quantities that meant you didn't need to purchase any to supplement what you received, around the pool we would receive a small "treat", sometimes a small juice or small Vietnamese coffee, a piece of fruit or small piece of cake etc. Also scented cold towels occasionally handed out also. These were all great and much appreciated. These are the only things we could find for our extra $ that wasn't the same as last year. Other than the new name.
The rooms are still spacious and comfortable, we never had a problem with any part of the room or bathroom, towels are huge white & fluffy. The up-keep of the resort is to commended, you never see a scuff mark on a wall for longer than a day or two before the never ending team of painters cover it up so everything looks clean all the time. Which I know after working in hotels myself, that this is very hard to achieve with the constant rubbing from cases being carted around. The staff, many of whom were there last year and recognised us, are without exception, kind, gentle and extremely caring & helpfull. The grounds are beautifully maintained, the pool does get a bit warmer after a continual run of sunny days but we still found it refreshing and we don't see how this could be changed anyway. There is plenty of shade around it and we always were able to find a sunbed. Towels here were also large and thick. Breakfast is fresh and changed slightly each day, even though we were there for 13 nights we didn't get bored with it. I hope they don't include many more Western dishes though.
So would we come again? Definitely, but only if like this time we were able to pick up a more reduced rate than we were offered via the resorts website.

Room Tip: we had a garden view room which was lovely, with plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Suites are ok, but staff pretty indifferent. This is surprising and more noticeable after some of the great people wa have encountered. We had a squeaky fan in our room and couldn't get it fixed over the three nights we were here. The laundry lady outside the hotel is the best and cheapest in vietnam

Room Tip: Don't get a room with children staying next door or a squeaky fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyArmenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Hoi An
Hotel Royal Hoi An
#46 of 147 in Hoi An
855 reviews
1.3 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
1.0 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maison Vy Hotel
Maison Vy Hotel
#26 of 147 in Hoi An
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#17 of 147 in Hoi An
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Hoi An Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Hoi An Resort

Property: Anantara Hoi An Resort
Address: 1 Pham Hong Thai Street | Hoi An Town, Quang Nam Province, Vietnam, Hoi An 880000, Vietnam (Formerly Life Heritage Resort)
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#3 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#5 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anantara Hoi An Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the scenic Thu Bon River, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a short stroll from the colorful and bustling Ancient Town, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Touches of French, Dutch, Chinese and Japanese cultures make up the distinct ambiance and atmosphere in the resort. Awarded Best Heritage Resort in Vietnam by the Vietnam Economic Times in 2005, 2006 and 2007, Anantara Hoi An Resort is a living testament to Hoi An’s rich history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Hoi An Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Heritage Hotel Hoi An
Life Heritage Hoi An
Life Resort Hoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing