We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A singular athmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Ranked #41 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A singular athmosphere”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best stay in Hoi An. Located just 2 km away from the City of Hoi An, you have a very convenient and free shuttle that goes back and forth almost every hour. You can also get a bike or take a cab (35/50k vnd) to get to one of the most charming cities in Vietnam. Hoi An, although a bit over touristic and turned to silk clothing still has that unique charm and colors from dusk to dawn. The hotel itself is the best getaway, and you are pleased to enjoy the peacefulness of a bath in a swimming pool overlooking the paddy field with birds and water buffalos. The rooms are very comfortable: shower, bath, outdoor shower (although we'll have to wait that the garden grows to get a bit more privacy and actually use it), personnal laptop in the room. Everything was brand new and the garden is beautiful. Staff was very kind and acted pretty quickly to return the mobile phone we had forgotten in the van from Danang train station. We had a very good time there!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    176
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
197
459
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Ancient House Village is ideally placed to Hio An. The hotel is settled amongst rice paddies in a quite rural setting, while only being 5 minutes ($2.50) taxi ride from the main village. The hotel offers a shuttle service to the main village every hour. Being outside of the main city area is great as you do not have to put up with the constant noise of motor bikes and car horns.
We stayed here for nine days and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
The hotel is new, clean and well appointed. Rooms are cleaned every day and the hotel complex is maintained to a high standard.
There is a good selection of food for breakfast. The menu caters for all tastes. We dinner at the restaurant (dinner and lunch) on a couple of occasion and the food was really good.
The staff are great and go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your stay.
All in all a great place, in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights and had an amazing time. The resort itself and the surroundings are beautiful, and although it is out of the main town there are regular shuttle buses into town. The food at the restaurant is great. The pool is nice and big and clean. A great place to relax after a day of sightseeing in the heat! We also went for one for the couples treatments in the spa and had a massage, wrap and scrub and a moonlit dinner on our balcony which was lovely. We found the staff to be very polite and incredibly helpful. The manager was lovely and always eager to help and did everything to make our stay great. We will definitely return here when we come back to hoi an!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abisamra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 7 days and really liked our stay. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious and the resort itself is beautiful. Breakfast was great, so much variety and very good quality. Try the omelettes they are so good and really well made.
It's a very quite place, away from the town centre but only a 10 min drive. All rooms have a computer and the wifi is great.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this place.
The only negative is and you'll find this in every hotel in Vietnam is the staffs English could be a bit better. It was a bit difficult to communicate and get questions answered. They only now very very basic English, but that didn't diminish my enjoyment of the resort, just a small suggestion.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Went with a group of 4 (including myself) and we booked a villa (for two) last minute and the other 2 stayed at the suite. We stayed at villa 1 and the room is very spacious with a nice garden and a swing. Upon arrival, the reception was very helpful but the staff in general don't speak very fluent English. Thus, simple English to communicate is recommended. Me and my friend shared the villa and we loved it, it is nicely decorated, and separate shower and toilet which is very convenient compared to a bathroom in a typical hotel setup. Breakfast was inclusive, and it is a very decent selection of food which is slightly different everyday, worth every single $ we paid.
Swimming pool is decent size and can get a nice tan by chilling next to it. There are free bikes rental at the hotel, which we did a free biking tour in town.
One thing that is very good about this resort is, you can join the complimentary tours, which I only found out on my last day there. There is various tours, from going into the Ancient Town to bike tour.
Highly recommended for people who wish to have a quiet getaway or retreat, this is the ideal choice. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Room / villa away from the reception is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dindin-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Good service from outset with welcome smile from our driver. Hotel staff were friendly and room was spacious and clean with lovely central bath. Shuttle bus service was really useful and bikes (all new) were good fun.

Breakfast was good but didn't try any other food. Only two little moans. Pool service could be better and door on toilet might be a good addition (not curtain). Otherwise highly recommend the hotel - daughter loved the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Would highly recommend anyone to come stay at the Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa. It's half way between the beach and town creating the perfect hide away location but still easily accessible as they provide free bike hire. The staff were always friendly and willing to help where ever they could - good English. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
2.3 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Chic Hotel
Hoi An Chic Hotel
#18 of 152 in Hoi An
1,011 reviews
1.9 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
Address: Tong Van Suong Street, Thanh Dong Hamlet, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is the ideal base for exploring the Hoi An area, and especially the lifestyles of the Hoi An people. You will discover the simpleness and truthfulness that is in the hearts of local residents. This small historic town remains firmly anchored in the past, and proudly preserves its antique wooden buildings and quaint streets fronting onto a peaceful river scene. Hoi An people possess a graceful smile. Such a smile will balance all of your emotions, thus more and more visitors love to stay for some more days to be truly alive in Hoi An's lifestyle. Some friends that we know have lived here in the local community for tens of years. History has been viewed as having a nourishing effect on people's spiritual lives; therefore, there is no doubt that 'staying for some more days' has become a nice saying we often hear from visitors. The reasons were bowls of Quang noodles and 'Cao Lau'. Wide 'non la'. Paddy fields. Lines of coconuts. White stork families. Or is it because of local youngsters' bright white teeth? Or the blackened ones of aged ladies and gentlemen who have devoted their lives to their fatherland? In the murmuring songs here and there, there is the creaking sound of the hammock and the rhythmic chanting of the paddy seeds. It can also be the magic of the storks every afternoon, fluttering in the air and then landing onto slender coconut leaves like perching pieces of transparent silk on the line between heaven and earth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing