We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$211
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$215
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thien Nga Hotel(Hoi An)(Great Value!)
$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$80
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa(Hoi An)
$59
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveler rating
386
300
80
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
300
80
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townshuttle busrice noodlesmosquito netseparate toiletquaint hotelfree bikespool areaa garden view roomtravel agentrooms are largebreakfast buffetreception stafffree shuttle servicetown centrestayed here for nightsfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 787 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for seven nights in the same room as the people that were troubled by the rooster. It was a suite with two rooms and backed onto the "residential area"? that they talk about. I can't remember seeing LOADS of chickens & roosters - a few maybe... and they never woke us up or kept us from sleeping. We stayed at this hotel when Typhoon Ketsana came and the staff at the hotel were brilliant. On the morning of the typhoon, one of the staff ran to our room with breakfast for all as it was too dangerous to go outside. When my family and I arrived at the hotel, we were practically jumping on the beds because we found it so nice & very comfortable. "A most enjoyable stay" - the gardens were also beautiful and the breakfast was fantastic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone .... except maybe those who want to stay in a five star resort ....

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank macs_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed with friends at the Ancient House and found it to be a great place to unwind after the hustle of shopping in Hoi An. The swimming pool was excellent and the staff were friendly without being in your face. The rooms were beautiful and each one a little different, the four poster bed with mosquito canapy were comfortable and clean. Servicing of the rooms was a bit hit and miss but overall the resort offered good value for money. We especially enjoyed the offer of a chilled, clean facewasher everytime you walked in to the reception area, great on steamy days

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank new2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We booked this hotel only a few days prior to our arrival, as our originally booked hotel, Life Resort, had shut down a few days earlier due to significant damage caused by the typhoon that hit on 29 September. We arrived at Ancient House at 9 p.m. It was dark. We could not see the location well and were unfamiliar with Hoi An. Check in was not overly positive, as the staff seemed distant and not very welcoming.

We were booked in one of the hotel’s 2 suites for a four-night stay, but checked out the next morning. The suite was a 2 room-suite, with a living room furnished with a coffee table and 4 chairs, a sparsely furnished bedroom with an older model TV, 2 toilet rooms and 4 sinks located at two different counters. There was a separate shower from the large tub.

We actually would have been fine in the suite and its appointments, except that at 2 a.m. a rooster started crowing right outside our bedroom window and it continued non-stop until 7 a.m. Every time the rooster crowed another rooster located on the other side of the hotel responded. At 4 a.m. I went outside with a flashlight (torch) and discovered that the entrance to our room backed to a residential area where most of the neighbors had chickens, roosters or other animals in their back yards. “Our rooster” actually turned out to be 3 different roosters that never stopped crowing.

I grew up in the country in farmland so roosters are not foreign to me, but this was ridiculous. We had been awake all night and did not relish the idea of 3 more nights of no sleep. We had used a tour company to book the hotel and thus we contacted the company, whose representative immediately contacted the manager. Our room had required a 4 night pre-payment but the management did refund the remaining 3 nights when we, along with the tour company, verbalized how unhappy we were with the situation.

The air conditioner in the room cycled on and off during the night, rather than staying on all night, thus the sound of the air conditioner re-starting was also disruptive through the night (but not as much as the rooster.)

My husband really hated the mattress at this hotel, which was only a piece of foam on a wooden frame. I don’t mind a hard mattress and we had similar mattresses at our prior 3 and 4 star hotels in Vietnam (not at the 5 star hotels though) so it didn’t bother me as much.

We had desired to stay in town. Once we left Ancient House, to search for another hotel, we discovered Ancient House was not in a good location for us, as it was about 2 km from town and 2 km from the sea. We really wanted to be in walking distance of town, so this reinforced our decision to change hotels.

We did have breakfast here and found it to be fairly good. The service at breakfast was good and quite friendly. The pool was of moderate size but seemed pretty comfortable.

All in all, I’d say for a 3 star hotel this isn’t bad, if you don’t mind being away from town and away from the sea and the constant rooster crowing would not be a problem for you. The rooms were clean, the breakfast area was clean and the staff, other than the reception staff on arrival, were all pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

stay was supposed to be for 5 nights by typhoon Ketsana changed that went to airport to depart and flights cancelled called back hotel and they immediately rebooked us we returned received welcoming smile and got or original rooms back.
We had to stay an additional 3 nights and the staff were incredible. nothing was too much trouble they managed to get us breakfast in the kitchen with the cook on the worst day of typhoon they even gave us doggie bags to take back to our rooms.they managed to provide power via generator in bursts of a couple of hours at a time they had to bring in the desiel by cart through flodded roads....All staff without exception did everything with a smile and as we were stuck there were also great company.
Rooms were very comfortable(even if the beds were a little firm for my liking) different pillows were supplied within minutes of asking. In room free internet was fantastic during the typhoon to enable us to keep in touch with home.. There were nine in our party and everyone was delighted. they even arranged a Free transfer bus back to the airport for our final trip out.( free bicycle hire was fun)
YOU CANNOT GO WRONG STAYING HERE. FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed at Ancient House for 3 nights and were very happy with this hotel! It isn't a large hotel which adds to the charm of it. The rooms were large and always clean and nicely decorated. The double Basin and large bath tub was very unexpected from a 3* hotel and each room also has a laptop with free internet and a DVD player for guests to use!

Everytime we walked back into the hotel we were given an ice cold towel to refresh ourselves with, which was a hit with us! The pool is a decent size and the grounds of the hotel are nicely maintained.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down as the food looked like it was cooked at 6am and was left for those who chose to have breakfast at 9am! Although the fruit and pastries were still good!

The hotel has a free shuttle that runs into the Ancient Town and the Beach 4 times a day, which was great! At the beach the hotel has like a beach club where there are sun chairs, a pool, freshwater showers and a bar etc which made our day at the beach fantastic!

All of the staff were friendly and helpful - would reccommend this hotel to those who prefer smaller boutique style hotels that aren't crowded with tourists.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews