We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A quiet oasis away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed April 16, 2009

I stayed at Ancient House in April 2009 and as soon as I pulled up in the driveway I realised it was going to be a fantastic place. Cobblestone pathways lead to your room past beautiful gardens. Centrally there is a calming pool area. There is free internet, pool table and free bicycle hire and shuttle bus. The hotel is situated roughly half way between the beach and the old town. The staff were excellent! I didnt want to leave and would definitely stay there again. I loved Hoi An and I loved Ancient House. It was a winning combination.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    287
    78
    17
    4
See reviews for
140
348
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

We booked this hotel on the back of Trip Advisor recommendations. Unfortunately we did not stay there because we were unhappy with the state of our room. The issue was mainly in relation to cleanliness. However, we did receive a full refund and the hotel was quite apologetic so perhaps the issue has been addressed. That being said, the refund took a bit of chasing up and I had to get Wotif.com to chase it up on my behalf but I do believe the refund misunderstanding was due to cultural misunderstandings.
That being said, the location of the hotel is excellent

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

The Ancient House is located about 1 Km. from town and 3 km from the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean with mosquito nets available if needed.They have lovely gardens and a swimming pool. There are many shops and restaurants in the area. The hotel provides a wonderful buffet breakfast in their restaurant.
The staff are helpful and pleasant. A great feature are the bicycles which are free of charge and can be used to tour the area and to go to the beach.The only downside is there is some noise from a nightclub next door until about 10:00 p.m. and the shower in the tub is none functional as it is very low.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

Had a very good break a the end our holiday will come back again, our thanks to all the staff, pool is good as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

It isn't our idea of a "resort" but it does have a nice pool set in a well-tended garden. The rooms have computers. Don't miss the noodle and rice paper making over a wood fire at the back of the garden. It is a good choice considering the alternatives but it could be a much better hotel with some attention to detail. They put fresh flowers in the rooms and then let them die without replacement. They turn down your bed but may or may not leave fresh towels. Neither the staff nor the size of the room are always able to cope with a rush of tour bus guests. You can walk to the center of town but it is not a particularly pleasant walk. A shuttle runs infrequently.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We loved Ancient House so much we've considered a return trip to Vietnam ever since. From the rustic Viet-Franco buildings to the poolside cocktails, super-helpful staff and delicious meals under the verandah, this resort is an absolute bargain from go to woah.

It's about 10 minute's walk from the township, 5 minutes from China Beach and 30-60 minutes taxi from Danang Airport.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gimungor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed here on a recent trip to Vietnam with my girlfriend. We do like to stay in nicer places so this was the cheapest place we stayed at on the trip. It was very basic and even for the price, I was expecting more. It wasn't very clean, the rooms were cold, the pool area was uninviting. Saw other hotels on our last day and would say there are a lot of better options out there.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JalenVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#51 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing