We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #85 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had three rooms for our group and would not recommend this place for anyone wanting rest and relaxation. The staff began working outside the rooms very early in the morning and used loud voices (sometimes shouting) and walkie talkies on full volume. It was not possible to sleep through this each morning.

Breakfasts were a highlight and the reason we gave the hotel a 3 rating. The selection was good and the Pho, pancakes and eggs cooked on the spot were excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely avoid anything on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwideb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Group from New Zealand,

Thank you very much for your your recent stay and your constructive comments on Ancient House Resort.I'm glad that our breakfast is highly appreciated with a great selection.It is a shame that your stay has turned out to be disappointing due to the inattention of our staff.You may be assured that we have taken this very seriously and discussed it with our departments concerned to make sure it will not occur again.
On behalf of the Management & hotel's staff, sincerely apologize for your bad experiences with us and we will keep on improving what you have mentioned so that we can meet your highest expectation next time.
Wishing you have a good trip and looking forward to serving you again in your next visit to Hoi An.

My best regards

Nguyen Sy Binh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 757 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lovely people very helpful everything you could want from a hotel in hoi an whilst not close to historical centre or beach they run a free shuttle bus and taxi s cheap and free bikes . The breakfast had a great selection and rooms had every facility

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thecookhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a great hotel in a great town, but it is a little far from center of Hoi An and isn't close to Cua Dai beach. The bed was nice and soft compare other hotels in Vietnam including 4 stars hotels, but the shower was weak. We were in a room that is by the stairs and on the second level, so it gets really loud in the morning when people are leaving the hotel. It was very loud with hotel employees talked to eachother around the room. Nice pools and neat place, just need a more quiet room next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalien03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Ancient House for the New Years holiday. We were in room 308, which was on the third level.

The staff was kind and helpful, the room was clean and pretty --- loved the balcony and open air of the breezy white room. Flower petals were scattered on the bed and we received fresh fruit everyday!

The pool area is nice and I would have loved to have gone swimming if it were warmer.

The only drawback is the rooster next door that WILL wake you up every day at 5:30am on the dot!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesofEastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice hotel in a good location between the sea and the town. Nice rooms, friendly staff, nice garden, free bikes. The only negative was the bar next to the hotel which played techno music early in the morning. And the weather but we can't blame the hotel for that. The last night they let us move to their newly opended sister hotell: Ancient Village Resort, just recently opended and very pleasant

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Birgitta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I arrived late at night. I was given a meal of vast portions. My room was near the lobby - they are all in low rise buildings at the rear and accessed by going outside. T

The hotel is a little out of town but does provide free bicycles, which I used frequently. There was also a courtesy bus running about four trips a day (I did not take the exact details.)

The room was good and wifi was easy to use.

Breakfast was satisfactory. Not a great deal of choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear JWNorfolkUK,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and sharing your experience about Ancient House Resort. I'm pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our wifi access,breakfast,our free bicycles,shuttle bus...and that your room was good.
Unfortunately your room is a little bit near the lobby.It make you felt not very private. I'm very sorry for that and hope to have a chance to welcome you back to our Ancient House with a upgraded room.

My best reagrds

Nguyen Sy Binh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Good morning I am writing my review at 5.30 am Monday 30 th december 2013 on Ancient house resort as I am unable to sleep due to the traffic on the road behind us I am in room 114 which is ground floor at the back of the complex of course also we are next door to some sort of bar which play loud music till all hours of the night so with not being able to sleep till late and then being woken up early I don't think my comments would be appreciated .I understand someone has to have that room but why us .?

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Martes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Martes P,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and share your experience about your stay at The Ancient House Resort. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay with us turned out to be disappointing due to the noise from traffic and the music from neighbour.You may be assured that we have taken this very seriously and that we are currently finalizing the plans for a renovation of soundproofing for this building.
We will be proud to present our new look and hope you will have the chance to come and experience these new changes!
My best regards

Nguyen Sy Binh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.9 mi away
Hoi An Coco River Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#27 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#55 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range: $48 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing