We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marty.p” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marty.p”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Good morning I am writing my review at 5.30 am Monday 30 th december 2013 on Ancient house resort as I am unable to sleep due to the traffic on the road behind us I am in room 114 which is ground floor at the back of the complex of course also we are next door to some sort of bar which play loud music till all hours of the night so with not being able to sleep till late and then being woken up early I don't think my comments would be appreciated .I understand someone has to have that room but why us .?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Martes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Martes P,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and share your experience about your stay at The Ancient House Resort. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay with us turned out to be disappointing due to the noise from traffic and the music from neighbour.You may be assured that we have taken this very seriously and that we are currently finalizing the plans for a renovation of soundproofing for this building.
We will be proud to present our new look and hope you will have the chance to come and experience these new changes!
My best regards

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    277
    74
    17
    3
See reviews for
135
335
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the resort for two night during our Vietnam trip, the resort looks inviting, but several of the rooms have moist problems. In the first room we were given (superior with garden view), one entire exterior wall was wet, and the room had a damp and stale smell. We changed the room to another one, sadly, it had almost the same problem. As we were traveling in a group of 6 persons, we decided to stay at the hotel instead of splitting up or relocating the whole group, but we tried to avoid being in the room. The spa is quite overpriced compared with the prices at large, (900 000 dong for a Swedish massage) and the fitness center was more of a joke. The garden was a plus, very luscious and green, and the breakfast was good. All in all, not the best choice in Hoi An

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrunfSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear GrunfSweden,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at The Ancient House Resort.
I am glad to read that you found our garden was luscious,green as well as buffet breakfast was good.
Regarding to the smell 115 & 105, we have already worked with house-keeping and handle this case and keep in a serious management.This period is quite humid in Hoi An.So we always take note of the smell in guest's room.
As for the spa,I am sorry if you felt it was pricey as we received many good comments from our other guests that they felt it was excellent value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Ancient House Resort in the near future with better service.

Yours sincerely

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the unique Ancient House Resort. Our stay was arranged through our tour service, Holidays Vietnam, but we would definitely consider staying at Ancient House again. We found the rooms to be spacious and comfortable (we are traveling with two young children) and we especially enjoyed the breakfast. The grounds are gorgeous, with beautiful gardens that make you feel quite secluded. We also thought the staff was very friendly and attentive. When we first checked in, our room had a very strong paint smell. After I informed the front desk, they immediately changed our room, no questions asked. Our new room did end up at the rear of the hotel, next to a restaurant/bar that played loud music, but that just meant we had a dance party with the kids before their evening baths and bed. :) If you're looking for something quieter, make sure you request a room at the front of the hotel or with a pool view.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel or with a pool view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise to find such a nice, well appointed hotel in a tatty street. Breakfast was.a little above average. Bathroom was perfectly adequate. Every amenity was provided, shampoo, bath gel, etc etc. Four poster bed was unique.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel, from the staff to the actual place itself. The staff were friendly and very attentive, I really can't find any fault with the service. The hotel itself is lovely, with a gorgeous pool, which my husband and I really enjoyed after a hectic and hot day in Hoi An. Our room was spacious and spotless, the bed was comfortable and we slept like angels! I really don't understand how anyone could complain about this hotel, it's lovely and quite different from the other standard hotels, I really recommend it. Yes, it's not in the centre of Hoi An, but there's a shuttle bus and you can actually walk to the centre in about 20 minutes. Hoi An is touristy, but it's gorgeous and well worth a visit. Some people may have bad experiences, but you just need to be a bit savvy; we met some great Vietnamese people here and had the best food ever.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear simabo31,
Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!
Thank you very much for your recent stay at our Ancient House Resort as well as your GREAT review which i enjoyed reading.I'm delighted to read that you were sleeping "like angles" in our specious and comfortable room and you " can't find any fault with our friendly and attentive staff".I will pass you wonderful comments to my team and believe that your words are very encouraging.
Wish you and your family a happy festive season of the year at London !
Warm regards and we do hope for your return!

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

While the look and feel of the hotel is interesting and the rooms are spacious, the service and friendliness of the staff is rather disappointing. We have not tried the pool and it does not look inviting either. However, the hotel offers complimentary bicycles, if you are able to find a staff member who can find a lock and then it is a short ride into the old town of Hoi An (1.5 km).

You may enjoy the scenic location of Hoi An, when you go to the Old Town but also realize how touristic it is. And beware of scam, my wife got lured into a pedicure treatment for 1 USD and the girl who performed the pedicure also did hair removal and we ended up paying 35 UDS for pedicure and a 10 minute hair removal!! We blame it on us not having insisted to stop after the pedicure but the girl knew how to extend her service and than overcharge a tourist.

Hoi An is a tourist trap and you have to be conscious what you do!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Pete04129,

Greetings from Ancient House Resort & Spa!

Thank you very much for taking time to review us and sharing your experience about Ancient House and Hoi An where's known as a friendly and hospitable destination.
I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us turned out to be disappointing and that you left with such bad impression about Hoi An.Especially what you had with beauty service in Hoi An town.
Unfortunately your comments about our service are rather non-specific.So we don't know how and what we have to improve!
Again, sorry that our service did not meet your expectation and hope to have a chance to welcome you back with better service.
Wish you enjoy the rest of your trip in Vietnam and have happy festive season of the year!

Best regards

Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich Suffolk
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This Hotel is situated on the outskirts of Hoi An half way between the Town Centre and the Beach.There is a free mini bus service throughout the Day and into the evening especially to the former.Check in was quick and easy after a 30 mins drive from Dah Nang.We were booked into a garden View Room overlooking the Swimming Pool.Room was large and spacious with en suite + a balcony.Room and en suite well appointed,spotless and spacious. Breakfast was very good with all the usual trimmings,freshly cooked eggs to your liking ,as well as the typical Vietnamese breakfast.Ate at the Hotel on the first night as we arrived quite late.Food quality was good as was the service.Pool area very clean with clean pool towels,pool clean although jacuzzi was no working,BUT that was not a problem.Spent several hours around the pool realaxing after hectic days exploring Hoi An.All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Ancient House.One minor point to bear in mind is that there are a lot of steps to negotiate in and around the Hotel so if you have mobility problems this may not be the best choice for you

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are good.Ask for one near the main Hotel complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djlit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binh N, Manager at Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Djlit47,

Warm greetings from Ancient House Resort!
Thank you very much for your recent stay as well as your great comment about our Ancient House resort.I'm happy to learn that you have enjoyed our Garden view room with a cozy and comfortable feeling. As for the jacuzzi,please accept our apologies and It should be fixed soon before December 2013.
Once again, thank you very much for your stay with Ancient House and we do hope to be at your service again.
Wish you and your family a happy festive season at Ipswich !

My best regards
Nguyen Sy Binh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#33 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
1.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#43 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing