We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The jewel hotel in Vietnam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #71 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Heppenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The jewel hotel in Vietnam”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ancient House in Hoi An,Vietnam is one of the most charming hotels we have ever had.The
architecture of the hotel with comfortable bungalows within an tropical garden is great.In the middle of this paradise, a cosy swimming pool with a very good service.The bungalows have
an unmistakable colonial character with an amazing mosquito net covered bed.There is also a complimentary laptop in some rooms which is quite unusual. The stuff is very friendly and
efficient and the shuttle service was very good.It is a quiet oasis close to the ancient town.
Absolutely recommendable!

Room Tip: Try to avoid bungalows close to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    283
    77
    17
    4
See reviews for
138
344
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

You won't be disappointed with the rooms or the service. Breakfast on the top floor offers a birds-eye view of the City. There's enough variety of food for everyone. The service is good with attention to details.
You might want to ask if the WI Fi connection has been upgraded from 3G .
Here you're literally steps away from the fun and street action.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmelpHappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Initial reaction was a bit mixed, lovely large room at first appeared a bit sparten but it was comfortable enough and appreciated the space. The garden are lovely, There is a free shuttle down to the beach with free loungers etc. Free bikes if you dare, which down to the beach would be a requirement - its a long walk. However its not to far to walk into town, although if you want some where close to eat try Vina Ngon just a few doors down. Staff helpful and a good breakfast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel through an agency. It's very good scenery, room and breakfast. You can also get a look at the owner's ancient house at a corner of the resort and in the early morning for rice paper making. There are some restaurants & cafe nearby. THe bicycle is free but motobike needs to be rent at the shop next door.

There is only a disappointment: we live 3 nights and they did not notice us about 1-way transfer to airport promotion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Excellent hotel. Beautiful gardens and lovely rooms. Free wifi. Exceptional attention to detail. Lovely welcoming letter and many "little touches" to make you feel very welcome. 3 km to beach and 1.5 km to old town. Take some spray for the mosquitoes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JhhDjh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is very nice hotel, lovely pool, lovely rooms, little shale’s. At the back of the hotel is family run rice noodle "factory". Real gem to go and have a look how rice noodles are made old factory way. If you go out to the street from the back gate you find absolutely lovely scenery, of a rive and palm trees. People going to work and animals eating grass by river! I would like to stay here longer than 2 nights I had. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
344 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, travelling with another couple. Upon arrival we found that they had given us interconnecting but lockable rooms, which was good. The room was the largest we stayed in during our trip to Vietnam and Siem Riep. Tiled floor, balcony, with a firm king sized bed with extremely white sheets (our friend's bed next door was even larger than ours!), seperate toilet and shower, HUGE bath, tv, fridge etc. We had a safe but couldn't get it to work, even though someone came to look at it, so we just used our friends' safe to put our passports etc in during our stay. There was even a computer with free wifi in our room! We've never come across that before. The building is old and was very clean, but not spotless. We did have a few smells coming out of the floor drains once or twice, but we just poured boiling water down them and it went away. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. We did have a rooster crowing at all hours of the day though, but this is Vietnam! They provide a free shuttle into the town 5-6 times a day, even though it's only a 20 minute walk or so, and to the beach 3 times a day as well. The shuttle stops outside 'be be tailor' which we used and can recommend.
We were distracted by the light on our balcony being on through our first night, but when we mentioned it to reception the following morning, they said they could turn it off which they did. Whilst travelling we did our washing in the bathroom and hung it out to dry over the shower rods etc. Hoi An was the only place in Vietnam that our washing didn't dry, perhaps the humidity may have have something to do with it, so use the little laundry outside the hotel if you need to do your washing. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel's a bit like a rabbit warren, with rooms and stairs everywhere. Fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#37 of 142 in Hoi An
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.2 mi away
Lasenta Boutique Hotel Hoian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#44 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing