We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet hotel with beautiful gardens” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
465 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with beautiful gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a garden room on the first floor. We were welcomed and shown to our room. It was large with a small balcony looking onto the garden. It had an en-suite bathroom with shower over the bath and all the rest of the facilities you expect. We had fresh fruit placed in our room daily. The room had a large flat screen TV and two sitting chairs, these were quite upright. The bed was a little firm. The rooms were quiet and arranged along one side of the pool/ancient house. The ancient house was occupied and had an adjacent rice pancake making facility which produced these on a daily basis. The gardens were beautiful with pots containing frangipani, which was in flower, and other tropical plants all well cared for. The staff were all friendly and attentive. We used the laundry facility which was efficient and cheap. We ate breakfasts in the dining room in the main building. There was a good selection of dishes and these were fine for a three star hotel. We also ate one dinner which was served outside near the pool. The food was tasty and they catered for the vegetarian. The choices were large with both Vietnamese and Western dishes. As we left early on the morning we checked out they provided us with a breakfast box which contained a good selection of food plus bottle of water. There was a free shuttle bus into town.

Room Tip: choose one with a garden view it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    276
    74
    17
    3
See reviews for
135
334
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Third time here and its still great, the rooms, the pool, breakfast and staff are excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel is a little out of the main town but not far, we walked in and out on both the days we were there, quite an interesting walk past shops, restaurants etc. We requested a taxi from the hotel which worked well, my only criticism is that the taxi driver insisted on stopping at a marble shop and also at his sister's shop in Hoi An. That is something the hotel should try and stop.

Our room was good. Breakfast was a help yourself affair with good choice. We loved Hoi An and hope we can visit the town again and, if we do, we would stay again at this hotel.

The only down side for me was the swimming pool which was fine if you just want to sit around the pool but if you want to swim, it wasn't very big and was a circular swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Located about 20 minutes leisurely walk from the centre of the old town, this hotel is like a little oasis. The rooms are mainly located around the garden area, with ancient house style doors that fully open, so you can be in your room and the garden at the same time. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable, though avoid inspecting the electrics too closely if you are paranoid. Reasonably well insulated from vehicle horns, though you do get random music from neighbouring establishments, though not late at hight.

Shuttle bus makes regular trips to the town and less regularly to the beach, and the driver is flexible for anyone wanting to go other than to the standard drop-off point. Breakfast is above average, though not extensive if you limit yourself to a western breakfast. The layout could be a challenge if you have mobility difficulties as their are steps and no lifts, but the staff will no doubt help anyone who needs it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed at the Ancient house for 5 days in March, had a great time.

I felt that the location was ideal as it was slightly out of town ( walking took approx 12 - 15 mins only) Bikes are also available free of charge and I took one out most days, as it was a great way of getting around.
The level is flat so easy peddling ! it also kept the "peddlers" away from you as you are not such an easy target on the move ,unlike when you venture out on foot !!.

The beach was also a nice and gentle bike ride away and needless to say a stop for a refreshing beer en-route was part of the enjoyment.
Didn`t bother with the free shuttle bus as I enjoyed the air and exercise.

The building itself could do with a touch of paint here and there, and the breakfasts were ok .
Rooms were quiet and of a good size and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: ask for one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanCoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed at Ancient House Resort for 2 nights during our trip to HoiAn last month.

Although the hotel is 1.5km from HoiAn old town and 3km to Cua Dai Beach, the hotel provide free shuttle bus and also bicycles to their hotel guest. If we choose to walk to old town, there are many shops along the way.

Ancient House Resort comprising blocks of 2 storey building with traditional and modern architectural style. The hotel is well maintained. Most important, the rooms are large, tastefully design, clean, full room amenities and comfortable poster beds.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good.

We had a pleasant stayed at Ancient House Resort. Definitely our right choice of a lovely hotel....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mylittlesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We could only stay two nights here but what heaven it was, we transferred from a local 4star with a big damp problem, The rooms here are really large and airey, four poster ish with nets, good bathrooms, the pool area is absolutely idilic however the pool is quite cold for the tropics, good breakfast and friendly helpful staff, a bit of a trek into town but taxis are very cheap for the return, make sure you visit the ancient house which is situated at the rear of the pool area, they make rice noodles there, they must supply all the local restaurants, they are very happy to show you around. al in a great place to stay, would I go back..........tomorrow.

Room Tip: we had ground floor near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank togoodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.3 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hoi An Garden Palace
Hoi An Garden Palace
#33 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
1.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa

Property: Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa
Address: 377 Cua Dai Road, Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#28 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#43 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Given the bustle and stress of our modern lifestyles, a break in the countryside can often help us to feel relaxed and restored. We often yearn for things ancient, simple and rustic because these are deeply rooted in our very soul. This is what we aim to offer you at Ancient House Resort - a period of calm, peace and tranquility, in a simple, rustic, but very unique and original setting. Viet Nam is becoming increasingly popular with tourists, and Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the top 'must see' destinations in the country. We developed our resort here in Hoi An to serve a need, and now we are here to serve you. We hope that the contents of this booklet will be useful to you and enhance your stay. Our resort has a total area of more than 6,600 square metres, which includes a luxuriant tropical garden of more than 5,000 square metres. We have 52 rooms, each between 32 - 38 square metres in size, and all the luxury facilities that you would expect to find in a hotel of international standard. Thank you for choosing Ancient House Resort as your haven of peace during your visit to bustling Hoi An. We hope you enjoy your time in both, and that you will leave with very happy and unforgettable memories ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Fastbooking and Travelocity so you can book your Hoi An Ancient House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient House Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Hotel Hoi An
Ancient Resort Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing