We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Excellent Cooking Class”
Review of Gourmet Corner Hoi An - CLOSED

Gourmet Corner Hoi An
Price range: $4 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PROMOTION 10 % OFF ON TOTAL BILL TO LATE FOR DINNER FROM 5:00 . AVAILABLE FROM August 1, 2015 Today, cuisine Vietnam become a priority of many trendy world. In Hoi An , an exciting center of Vietnamese cuisine , with music sky space reegae many customer appreciation program at corner corner restaurant & bar sky............
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Excellent Cooking Class”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not only a great hotel, with very good service, food , lovely gardens . They also run an excellent cooking class. A group of 5 left at about 9 am (including my 9 year old daughter.) jumped on some bikes great care was taken to ensure the seats were all at the right height for us. After an easy 10 min ride we were in the middle of a wonderful fresh market , Chef Huy, explained all the wonderful exotic ingredients to us, as he went about buying the produce for the cooking class. he explained what he was buying and why. He even helped my daughter buy two large frogs to realise in the near by river. He explained this was agood thing to do and it provided good karma for herself and the stall holder. Next we had a longer fride to the organic herb and vegetable gardern. Which were just amazing, so good to see things actually growing in the ground . Not wrapped in plastic at the super market. Coming to the hotel we had a very informative couple of hours watching and learning some easy but very tasty dishes. It was a real pleasure learning from Chef Huy, his love for food and showing others how to achieve great results was clear through out the class? I would say it was one of the highlights to an excellent trip. Do not miss the class well worth it.

Pp

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pretp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    28
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
expat in Asia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you rated hotels by staff alone, the Essences Hoi An would be a 5-star hotel!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

This charming hotel in Hoi An has probably the best staff of any hotel I've stayed in in Vietnam. Friendly and cheerful, there isn't anything they cannot or won't do to make your stay even better than it already is. The cooking class given by Chef Huy is not to be missed. It is an adventure in itself, from biking to the market, through the rice fields to the organic farm then back to the hotel for the actual demonstration. A definitely perfect way to spend a morning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh and Tasty”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Not only did I eat in this restaurant but also participated in the cooking class they had on offer. The class was a memorable experience, one that will last for a life time with the recipes Chef Huy armed me with. If you have an opportunity to do the class don't think twice.
The dinning experience was also just as good. All the food was fresh and tasty. The staff are more than accommodating and will change things around to better suit your taste if that's what you want.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oxenbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fine food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed a week at Essence hotel and ate at Gourmet Corner every morning, and a number of nights as well as poolside. We worked our way through the Vietnamese menu, so hard to choose. Each meal was as good as the previous, no disappointments. The western menu for the less adventurous looked pretty tasty, but we didn't want to eat western food. Staff were efficient, not intrusive but still attentive. Special thanks to My, Lan, Thuy and Fa for their excellent advice and great personalities. We are now addicted to Vietnamese coffee, both hot and cold. Best buffet breakfast I have ever had. I loved the breakfast fresh spring rolls. Green papaya salad was my absolute favourite. All food was fresh, tasty, and beautifully presented. I would suggest a range of Australian wines with screw caps to make the staff's job of opening wine a lot less stressful. If there was something we particularly liked or had on a regular basis, staff remembered and always offered it to us the next time. Poolside snacks were fresh, light and readily available. Equal quality to the restaurant. We loved the ambiance of eating outside, and amazingly no mosquito bites! We often came in late, after walking to old town and just had wine, dessert and coffee (yes Vietnamese coffee) we were met with big, friendly smiles and conversation about what we'd been doing. Can't wait to go back. Recommend it to anyone. Well done all

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed at the Essence Hotel in February and we enjoyed the great food at Gourmet Corner. Especially the street food corner on the menu was really great! Best Vietnamese food we have had so far. The service is very friendly and helpful. We would like to thank specially Thuy who was always very helpful and a great thank goes also to the whole team as well. We attended as well a cooking class which we enjoyed a lot and we hope we can use the recipes at home!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zurich33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Corner Hoi An also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing