We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good view from breakfast is the only nice thing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #41 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“good view from breakfast is the only nice thing”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Feb '13 during TET new year. Service is non-existent. Air con doesnt work in most rooms. They changed my room 3 times because the A/C didnt work in the first 2.
Breakfast is away from the main property and overlooks a small lotus pond which is pretty. Free wifi. Breakfast is OK. Its a 10-15 min walk to the old quarter.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miteshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    236
    65
    21
    7
See reviews for
195
473
77
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I am not someone that usually complains about hotels but had to say a few things about our stay as put a bit of a dampner on what is a lovely town to be in...

Pros:
1. clean room
2. pretty pool and breakfast area

Cons:
1. currently going through renovation/construction, we stayed on the first floor, don't make the mistake of doing this as we were RIGHT next to the work which started at 7am with constant banging and drilling - what really got to us is that this was never mentioned to us when we booked the room so wasn't a nice surprise to wake up to! You can also hear the banging from the pool area. Staff should inform guests of this before booking in.
2. Unhelpful reception staff - we asked twice about information on how to travel to danang, no advice given despite a sign in the lobby saying they arrange travel, we ended up having to walk down the road to ask other tour operators
3. Breakfast was poor (others commented on this as well), flavorless pastries/pancakes, birds eating at buffet - though it is in a lovely setting
4. Completely overcharged laundry at $2 a kg, we were charged $11 but had no where near 5.5 kg of clothes! Go elsewhere for this
5. Lots of roosters and birds making noises very early - so this and the banging did not provide with a very nice morning wake up

Overall not good value for money considering this is suppose to be one of the nicer hotels for the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucysmall57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is a nicely located,lovely hotel. buffet breakfast is served in an outdoor wooden pagoda area by a huge lotus pond. good food and lovely garden. nice pool, nice staff. i was especially thrilled by the small farm outside my balcony. it had chickens and rice pancakes drying on wood racks, greens growing, something lovely and rural instead of city. quiet and very nice staff.

Room Tip: our room was upstairs on right as you face the pool, and toward the desk. loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annecheve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on my way to Hanoi. Its a spotlessly clean hotel. The bedrooms are light and airy. The en suite has a bath. A rarity in this part of the world. It was wonderful to have a soak after travelling. You also get a great breakfast included. Fruit, omlette, toast, pastries etc. Fresh coffee, as much as you can drink. There is a nice pool and sun beds with well tended gardens

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are all ok in that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotty000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The outside of this hotel is pretty amazing! Open dining, fabulous pool area, nice fountain, our room had a small balcony....
It's just a shame the breakfast was so limited, there were mosquitoes EVERYWHERE inside, the bathrooms were below par, and it's the only hotel I've ever stayed in that does not provide a kettle in the room!!
Also, in our room there was only one powerpoint and we had to shift one of the beds to use it.
I probably wouldn't stay here again, but I LOVED the town!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My 10 year old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a tour in January 2013. One the first night I woke up at about 1am to the sounds of pigs screaming in terror, banging noises, and then quiet for a few momments before the the pigs started all over again. It sounded like a Medieval horror movie. I went out to our balcony to find a pig abattoir right next to the hotel. I closed all windows and put on a fan to drown out the sickening squealing sounds and luckily my daughter did not wake up. This went on all night until about 6am.

The next morning the reception staff said that they could move us to another room but that room is near roosters that aparently start crowing at 2am.

The hotel has a lovely pool and breakfast room but because of the abattoir next door I recommend that light sleepers, vegans, and those sensitive to animal welfare issues sleep elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethK564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Allan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had quite a comfortable stay. Breakfast was fine and it was very pleasant sitting outside overlooking the lotus pond and tropical gardens.The pool was lovely before and after a very hot day's sightseeing . For $1 each for a day we hired bikes and cycled along to the beach which took around 15 minutes. The road was busy but it was pleasant cycling along past the paddy fields. No kettle but you could ask at reception for a Thermos flask of hot water to take to your room. Our room was spacious and quite comfortable although rather old-fashioned. We slept well. We enjoyed our stay in Hoi An very much. It's a great place to have clothes made to measure but make sure you leave enough time to have them fitted afterwards. Have fun!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given room 205 which was indeed quiet enough and had a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annepharm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.5 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.9 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
1.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 147 in Hoi An
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 488 Cua Dai Street, Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Phu Thinh 2 Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#18 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#26 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Phu Thinh 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing