We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Vietnamese Old House”

The Old House of Phun Hung
Ranked #36 of 121 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Another interesting Hoi An home, this one is constructed using eighty columns; the roof is traditional convex and concave interlocking tiles known as Yin and Yang style.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
701 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,437 helpful votes
“Typical Vietnamese Old House”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

You need to cross the Japanese Covered Bridge in order to reach the Old House of Phung Hung. Of all the old houses in Hoi An Old Town this is my favorite. You need to present the entrance ticket as you enter. There are lots of tourists coming here so the place gets too congested. Souvenir items are sold at the second floor of the old house so you get a feel that this is another commercial shop. I have checked all the items but nothing is really outstanding.

The wooden furniture inside the house are still intact. I love to watch the street life from the terrace. Silk lanterns hang on every house and stores and they add beauty especially when lighted at night.

Phung Hung Old House is a "must see" attraction when you visit the Old Town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    146
    74
    33
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Old House”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I agree entirely with the comments about the souveniers - they spoil a superb old, traditional house. I thought it was absolutely beautiful inside and I still think worth a visit. If it's ever up for sale you can contact me via this post!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravelluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning visit to a real family's house”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is beautiful. It's hard to imagine 6 generations have lived in the house and still do. The open courtyard on the ground level was a surprise - not what I'd expected. To think every year during the wet season the house floods is amazing. Seeing the water levels from the typhoons of recent times makes you truly appreciate the adaptability and survival skills of the Hoi An people. A must visit,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Commercialized”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Don't go, waste of a ticket. Every spare bit of wall is covered in junk and modern souvenirs that they aim to sell. Looks like a beautiful old house underneath it.

Helpful?
Thank Ozbanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“Visit a different Old House”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

With your 5 site Hoi An visitor ticket you can choose to visit one of four Old Houses. Avoid this one, it is blatantly a shop where emphasis is on getting you to buy silk scarves and paintings. I learnt nothing about its historical significance. One plus point, the owner is a doctor and he sorted me out with some medication for sunburn.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old House of Phun Hung also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to The Old House of Phun Hung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing