We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired”
Review of Hoi An Museum

Hoi An Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Half-Day Ancient Hoi An Walking Tour
Ranked #74 of 121 things to do in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Quan Yin pagoda houses this history museum that contains artifacts covering two thousand years of Hoi An culture.
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
643 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“A bit tired”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The museum is set in a lovely old building, but the displays and written explanations are a bit tired and dusty and in need off a good clean up. A peaceful spot to spend half an hour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank justjans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    39
    23
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very small, not recommended to go solo”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I think it would have been better if I were part of a tour group. It's filled with artifacts, but small placards that don't do it much justice. Other groups had tour guides, but I was reluctant to join because I didn't know if these were hired private guides and I would be imposing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“good place to learn about Hoi An”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good place to learn about Hoi An. Take about an hour to look through slowly all the stuff. There is even an early 19th century map by the British on the region!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carplaneshiptrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brief but informative”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A nice quick overview of the towns history, set in a beautiful old building. If you have a spare 15 minutes then why not.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaNang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“for a VNese museum, it's great - but NO A/C !”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

4 floors, intro, geography, history, war, culture. It's a new building and not much advertised.
Most of the displays are surprisingly well done; most, but not all. I'm not much interested in the war stuff, so I walked quickly thru that floor. I liked the 4th floor which is about Vietnamese culture the best.( fishing, agriculture, baskets, tribes...) The museum is free, but it is really really HOT. You can buy bottled water, unrefrigerated, from the locked, unplugged refrigerator case behind the front desk for 10,000.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank justmaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Museum also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing