We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Ranked #144 of 158 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Traveling with two children (6 and 2), we were given a tripple for $30. The room was very big and very clean. We had a little balcony and the bathroom was quite nice.
The place is quite noisy and you basically can hear your next door neighbors but we were lucky enough and the place was quite quiet early in the evening.
Breakfast is 3 steps away in Than Binh III and it is excellent. Plenty of choice, fruit, eggs, bread, cakes, juices, pho etc... We loved it.
The swimming pool is also in Than Binh III. You can ask for towels at the reception in Than Binh II.

The location is really good too as you it is very close to the old city and even closer to plenty of excellent restaurants.

Contrary to what most people seem to say, we found the staff very friendly and very helpful.

ps: the hotel doesn't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spicywisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Thanh Binh II Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a night the overall hotel is good rooms are big and roomy it was perfect for one Night in Hoi An! It is a busy little place and this hotel is located right in the heart of it. Great shopping and food places all close by and not far to the Ancient Town. Breakfast was at the nearby sister hotel which was very good. So for those wanting a cheap stay this is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutthereWollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Biggest room we've had in SEA. Three beds (I think one queen and two twins), furniture, and still lots of space! This is definitely a hit if you are traveling with a family as we are. A bit pricey, but clean rooms, good location, and decent breakfast included! We booked our bus through them and everything went fine with that. One thing that was great -- our bus didn't pick us up until 5:30 p.m. and although we had to be out of our room at noon, they had a shower we could use that afternoon before getting on the bus. This made it possible for us to spend the afternoon at the beach. Overall a great

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TBSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good location, just 10 min. from city center and in walking distance from the bus station as well. Room was spacious and nicely furnished, regularly cleaned. We could use the pool in Thanh Binh III even after having checked out in our TB II Hotel, which was extremely pleasant in the 35 C heat. Buffet breakfast was a fine start to the day, nothing luxurious, but totally fine. We arranged our trip to My Son (which we loved a lot) through reception at the hotel for something like 8 USD/person and the service worked well (pick up, program, guide, basically the whole trip). The receptionist arranged our journey to Danang train station by taxi as well - again, on time and reasonable priced. Taking the price paid for the accommodation into consideration (some 15 USD/double incl. breakfast and pool at TB III) we couldn´t have asked for anything better... And Hoi An was one of our favourite places in Vietnam - just adorable, with a magical atmosphere in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvette929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night but originally planned to stay for 3 or more. At first it all seemed perfect, the staff were friendly and the room seemed nice, large spacious and airey. 

However we realised that we couldn't get WiFi in the room and it was meant to be one of the more expensive rooms. So we complained but the rude receptionist claimed she said we could only get it in reception when we first viewed the room but neither of us heard that and nearly 100% sure she lied. After moaning she eventually let us swap rooms. The following room was not as nice, there was more wear and tear plus the air conditioner was an old one that barely worked. 

The following morning they had a power cut and they used the generator for the lights but not air conditioner so we woke up boiling hot. Why use it for the lights when it's daylight and you don't need lights but not for the air-conditioning which you do use and usually that's what people specifically pay more for. When we complained the staff didn't seem to care and got quite defensive and rude with us even when we said that it wasn't working properly prior to the power cut. 

We then decided to just forget about it and simply ask where breakfast was. It was 9.33am and it finished at 9.30am. They did not give us any local area or breakfast information when we checked in so just assumed it was 10am like most hotels around the world or even later which had been the case for most places we have stayed. They didn't even say anything like, 'oh on this occasion we can give you some etc as it's only just closed', they were rude to us, didn't care, and kept saying it wasn't there fault rather than try to make their customers happy. We asked for money off as we were paying extra for breakfast but hadn't received any but they refused and again got quite rude with us. So we checked out.

We have been travelling all over the world for 11 months and stayed in some terrible accommodation as we are budget travellers but sometimes we treat ourselves and this was one of those treats. When you pay that much you expect nice service etc and we didn't get that at all.

Instead we found a great place for $10 a night total for the both of us with working air conditioner. They used their generator! Plus wifi, tv and cable, balcony, private bathroom, mini fridge and most importantly caring staff! great value! 

Staff at Thanh Binh need to learn some basic customer service skills! They underestimate how far it can go. We stayed at one place in Dalat where the staff were incredibly friendly and they have 342 excellent reviews and 4 terrible unlike here where theres only 8 excellent and double that for terrible. 

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chubbard17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights after having a terrible experience with Nhi Trung just down the road The location is possibly its best feature being a stones throw from the centre of the town. The rooms are big and spacious and generally clean although we have seen better bathrooms. The staff are friendly enough however the wifi was very poor and the computers in reception were also too slow to use. The other negative would be breakfast, the staff begin clearing away half an hour before close of breakfast which was not in keeping with other places we have stayed. Overall we paid $18 for a delux as the standard we were shown downstairs smelt damp. For $18 we were satisfied and it did the job!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess-Dave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

As a couple we stayed here for 3 nights. Were able to check in at 7 am as we had just gotten off a very long night bus. We paid $18/night which included a massive breakfast buffet which was totally worth it. The rooms were clean and we were given clean towels and TP each day.

The Staff made this all worth while. Firstly the hotel tailor made our trip to Hoi An so much better. She went out of her way to make sure everything was perfect and most items even fit the first time! She found fabrics that fitted our taste and was extremely friendly. Even to the point where we have exchange contact info and do business after we are home!!!

After some miscommunication booking an easyrider tour there was a time we were very worried and wanted to cancel and get our money back. The hotel staff (Nhat) at the reception made sure we were taken care of and ensured we got our money back and continued to help us book a train instead.

This hotel is also in an ideal location just outside of the Old Town and much cheaper because of that. You can even use the pool at Than Binh 3 and rent bicycles for $1 a day.

Thank you again so much!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chadilac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#143 of 158 in Hoi An
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh III Hotel
Thanh Binh III Hotel
#133 of 158 in Hoi An
300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 158 in Hoi An
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#125 of 158 in Hoi An
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#115 of 158 in Hoi An
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#114 of 158 in Hoi An
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Binh II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Binh II Hotel

Address: 712 Hai Ba Trung | Quang Nam City, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 158 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanh Binh II Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thanh Binh II Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing