We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huy Hoang River Hotel
Ranked #141 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you take a moto from any bus area then this is the hotel you will be dropped off at. There is nothing wrong with that, as it is really in the center of Hoi an.

The price is okay but you can get the same quality for less not far from the area, which will include breakfast(this did not). The staff are not really that friendly. Iv been to vietnam many times and the vietnam approach to customer service can be a little cold, but this was particularly abrupt.

Nice room and bed. but no window, which isnt the best for your body clock when waking up for early tours..

Summarise, excellent location but shop around for a better deal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvpoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

A very pleasant comfortable hotel situated next to the river and the market, thus extremely handy for the centre of Hoian and its shops and restaurants. The room was a good size and, although the window looked directly onto the house next door, there was plenty of light. However if you are disturbed by the idea of locals going about their daily lives three feet away from where you are sleeping, you might want to pay more for 'a room with a view'. Unlike some reviewers I found the staff helpful and friendly.
Breakfast is in the lobby - again, if you like things to be comme il fault, this might not be the hotel for you - but you can order three items from the menu, say, a coffee, a smoothie and an omelette, all freshly prepared and delicious. I liked it here very much and would only say that the snooty might want to complain about this more than satisfactory hotel.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. More expensive rooms are quieter, away from the market. Ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best value for money ever. The staff are very helpful, it does require some input from oneself to get them going and then they are great. The room was spacious and clean. The location brilliant for strolling and for dinner and shopping. Hoi An is a must for travellers, so quaint and charming .A walk along the river in the evening is enchanting with all the lights and the locals.Breakfast is very average but then again one is paying a minimal amount to stay in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We hadn't been to Hoi An before and initially stayed at a brand new hotel on the outskirts, thinking it was more central thean it turned out to be. We then looked for a closer place with a pool but decided on this based on location and elegance - the reception does the hotel no justice. In my opinion this is the best located hotel in Hoi An, right next to the markets and with plenty of eating options nearby. With 4 adults (siblings) and a baby we stayed in one riverside balcony room (used like a lounge room) and 2 other top floor rooms, 3 rooms all up around $80 p/n. Agoda and the like could not match walk in rates.

We stayed on a night by night basis and didn't even look elsewhere after moving in. I understand the other reviews in respect to staff friendliness, I found them refreshingly honest, more disinterested at times rather than disdainful. Miss Ly herself was very helpful with local advice and the recommendation to eat at Orivy should be taken up as they seem to have the best Cao Lau. The Bahn Mi at the stall straight down the street away from the bridge is also excellent.

I never figured how to work the elaborate shower in the riverside room, the room also shows confusing traces of the hotel's past as Glory or Mini Hotel (now Riverside) and I understand that the Riverside name change was made as the hotel attempts to position itself as a boutique rather than no frills hotel.

Room Tip: Riverside worth the extra money - the balcony is lockable if you want to keep it to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JmtmcCafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

While the location is good, the unfriendly staff ruined the hotel experience for us. The front desk staff don't greet you or even respond to greetings. This was a very different experience to the other hotels that I've stayed in in Vietnam, where staff have been extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast very average. We also had a leaking roof, which damaged some of our electronic equipment. Would definitely not stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Huy Hoang river hotel is located in the heart of Hoi An, as the names says on the river banks.
The rooms are normal size and equipped with airconditioning, wifi, mini-bar, flat screen tv and nice shower

In the morning there are limited choices of breakfast available but they all taste good.
The staff ar ok and they can help you with booking of tours, taxis and its possible to hire bikes at the hotel.

There are rooms available with riverside view including balcony.
My room was a little bit humid as it didnt have a window, I also had some cochroaches.

Room Tip: Prefer room with window or located to riverside. Rooms closer to river are more quiet as the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenNL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Facing Thu Bon River, this is a great hotel selection if you wish to stay in the heart of Hoi An.
Staff service has not reached our expectations; not rude but not as helpful as it should be. They answered our questions but without providing added value.
Be aware that there are rooms without window so I would suggest to book a deluxe one in order to have views.
Breakfast a la carte; not hughe selection compared to other hotels in Vietnam. I have had to order several times fresh milk since, as per what I've seen, they do not have it... Also, I've requested extra cheese that they pretended to additionally charge to our bill.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartaParellada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#59 of 159 in Hoi An
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Huy Hotel
An Huy Hotel
#128 of 159 in Hoi An
200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#129 of 159 in Hoi An
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#143 of 159 in Hoi An
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#116 of 159 in Hoi An
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huy Hoang River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huy Hoang River Hotel

Address: 73 Phan Boi Chau St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $13 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huy Hoang River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Huy Hoang River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing