We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, good location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huy Hoang River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Huy Hoang River Hotel
Ranked #119 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here because we were in Hoi An during my brithday, so wanted somewhere nice and central. When we arrived at 8am off the sleeper bus, they showed us to breakfast and half an hour later they'd made our room ready for us. The room itself was spacious and clean, with shutters and a large bed and dark furniture. The overal feel of the room was very realxing and comfortable, and the bathroom was also excellent and modern, with a huge shower head and dark tiles floor to ceiling. It was very clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

It is very close to everything, right next to the Central Market and all the tailors and shopping, and just a 5-10 minute walk to get across the river for the night market and nice restaurants.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, and even more so when they found out it was my birthday! We rented a scooter one day to go to An Bang beach and that was good - they helped us with directions and petrol. THe breakfast is also rather delicious - the tea tastes very similar to the UK (hard to find in asia), the banana and chocolate pancakes were amazing and they are very generous with the fruit salad!

Room Tip: Scond floor towards the back has lovely river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    93
    45
    25
    28
See reviews for
15
96
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I travelled HoiAn last summer (Aug, 2012) and stayed at Huy Hoang hotel. A standard room was quite small but very beautiful and cosy bathroom amenities. My husband and I really liked their decor in the room. Unfortunately, I got sick after the first day in HoiAn, my husband asked the reception for help but they discomfort us. We ordered pizza for dinner, they agreed but 20mins later phoned us to say that pizza was sold out ??? I got an allergy and was comatose for few hours. We planned to expand our stay but they did not give us any recommendation except PAYING ROOM PRICE IMMEDIATELY. We really disappointed about staff attitude and never come back again.

Room Tip: choose rooms on the sencond floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VuPhong1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has a good location, within easy walking distance of historic Hoi An and the rooms are nice for the price. The staff has been friendly, helping us to get to My Son and the beach with ease (we rented a scooter from them). The only issue would be for light sleepers due to the proximity to the Market as well as a busy intersection. Overall a good place!

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the rear of the hotel as this is further away from traffic/Market.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Huy Hoang River hotel is in a really good location for exploring Hoi An, right next to the bustling market in the old town. As mentioned in the heading, the banana (and pineapple) pancakes were exceptional, though the other breakfast options were rather lack-lustre. The room was clean and neat with a hint of Japanese styling, and a nicer bathroom than we'd seen elsewhere. The staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs, however we later learnt that the Tailor they recommended to us pays them a 30% commission - perhaps making our clothes purchased there a bit pricier than items bought at other tailors - just something to consider. Overall a nice place to base yourself when exploring Hoi An.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The reception staff treats you with strained tolerance rather than courtesy. The catch on the door of my room didn't work so I had to fiddle with it every time I left to get it to close properly. The noise level was relatively high, for which I would advise anyone who wants to sleep to get a hotel on the other side of the river. The traffic is well underway at 5am. The bathroom sink was clogged, the bathroom itself seemed like prison decor (although the room irself was not bad with lovely wooden ceilings); the shower was boiling one day, tepid the next. This is the only hotel I've stayed at in Vietnam in which mosquitos have been an issue, understandably because the window frame did not fit precisely and there was ample room to enter. The pillow case had mascara stains and the sheets did not appear too clean either. I had my laundry done and it came back simply thrown into a bag and not completely dry. The afternoon before I had to leave I received a vague email that my flight had been cancelled. In a bit of a panic to get clarification from the airline, I asked for assistance from the receptionist and her reply was '4000VND for the phone'. Nuff said? This is my first negative review.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chzboyga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Firstly the location of this hotel is the best part. It is right in the middle of everything and easy walking distance to restaurants, the covered Japanese bridge, and is actually next door to the outdoor market. We found the staff to be helpful and efficient - their English is good, better than our Vietnamese... The room is fine - clean and spacious. The air conditioner leaked a bit so don't put your bags underneath it!
You can rent bikes and motorbikes from here, and if you ask for a room on the river you are a bit away from the street if you are a light sleeper.
Value for money - absolutely. Stick to something basic at breakfast and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a riverside room if you are a light sleeper and maybe a second floor room as the cleaning staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have a best time here in Hoi An in Lunar New Yeaw 2012 with my German friend
We rent a bycicle here riding around this small town and this place you can just walk to the center

The room and everywhere in this hotel are clean.
Staffs really friends & helpful
There are small map of the town that you can have an idea where to go easily

I hope everyone stay here have a nice time & enjoy Hoi An like ,me & my friend have :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April_eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoi An
0.0 mi away
An Huy Hotel
An Huy Hotel
#106 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.4 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#124 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Ban Thach Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
1.0 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#108 of 140 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huy Hoang River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huy Hoang River Hotel

Property: Huy Hoang River Hotel
Address: 73 Phan Boi Chau St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huy Hoang River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Huy Hoang River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing