We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Very nice location. The tip to book a River View room is a golden tip. Forget about Sea View as there is a street between the hotel and the beach.
We had a large Deluxe River View. There was plenty of space, even after the cot was put inside, for a reasonable price (book through a Vietnamese Internet travel/tour provider to get a better rate than directly at the hotel. Got 40% less than on the hotel website).
Didn't try the pool as we went to the beach every day.
Didn't try the restaurant as all small restaurants directly in front of the secondary hotel exit (next to the business center), along the street towards the city are really very cheap and delicious. I am a Viet Khieu (oversea Vietnamese) and enjoyed the real Vietnamese food provided there without intestinal problems (important when travelling with a little child).
I can recommend the "cafe" directly under the bridge when going to the city : very quiet because not directly on the street, with a lovely view on the river. Be prepared to wait when it is busy since the food is prepared freshly for you.
Had some silk clothes tailored for a good price. If you bargain (when buying more than one item), you can pay even less! Ex : 40 USD (not bargained) for a handmade winter wool jacket. Choose the fabric, the linen, the collar, the buttons, etc... and they will do it for you !
I even saw people bringing magazine illustrations.
One single negative point for the hotel breakfast : only coffee or tea is for free ! If you want to have some milk (for the children), don't order it as you will have to pay extra. Just take some milk from the jug next to the corn flakes/cereals buffet. Only issue is it is without cocoa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girafe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    530
    157
    50
    19
See reviews for
299
646
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

A great hotel to wind down in. We had room 118 which was next to a pool/jacuzzi and the restaurant. Great location. You walk across the road to the beach, 92 steps from the room to the waves, so not far. Food all priced in $ in the hotel, so go out and enjoy the food in the many restaurants along the sea front, road and city centre. You have to take a hotel shuttle, book early, to the city centre ( 4 Km) or get a taxi (about £3 one way). Well worth shopping whilst here. Made to measure leather boots ($25) and silk dresses ($15 - $50). Lots of other great buys too.
We had the wave runners out for 1/2 hour ($30) and the water was a balmy 31 degrees. Great for lazing in but not refreshing. Beach was fantastic and very safe, sandy bottom for 50m and only 2m depth.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcorpe-travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

Orchid Garden offrerd us the 'resort-feeling' we were looking for.
Just between Hoi An centre and the beach ( 2 km. to centre of town; 2 km. to the beautiful beach), this place is great. Not really cheap but here you get what you buy !!
The staff is very friendly and two of them speaks good English.
It's a family-run homestay with a great, relaxing pool in the centre of the garden which is surrounded by 4 seperated bungalows. The price for these bungalows is not cheap, U$ 50,= but, as I say, it is great what you get.
Having dinner here is very special: the lady take notice of your order and then some people went away and after 10 minutes she (most of the time is it 'she' ) comes back with the just bought stuf for the ordered dinner. And then the lady starts to make you a teastfull meal. With lots of mayonaisse !!!
One small problem is that sometimes there are misunderstandings because of the communication. But that's manage-able :}
Strong recommendable.
Ah, plus REALLY FAST internet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank one_eye_shut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda, Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Hubby & I spent 7 nights here in April - for the price we paid, we thought it was great value, and for us, staying at the beach was fantastic. April is extremely hot - too hot to shop in the daytime, so each evening we caught the free shuttle into town & either caught the shuttle back, or just hopped in a taxi if the shuttle time didn't suit.
Firstly, HoiAn is an amazing place & the beach is glorious - it was great just to cross the road & relax under the umbrella on the HABR private section - even a bar to buy drinks etc.
We paid for a deluxe river view villa - lovely room overlooking the river - but the bed was really hard. After perservering for 2 nights, we asked for a different bed. It was a bit too hard for the staff to exchange a kingsize bed, so they offered us another room.
THE SUITE!!!
Well - you have never seen anyone pack up their stuff so quickly, in case they changed their mind. The suite was massive - all open plan - living room, dining room, massive bathroom, 2 balconies, 2 large plasma TV's etc.etc.etc.
We lived in royalty for the next 5 nights, so I cannot say a bad thing about this place.
All I would change would be their outdoor chairs, which are timber & not very comfortable.
Breakfast was OK - not the best I have had - but tons of variety & on a lovely setting on the river.
There were around 5 free computers to use at reception - but make sure you spray your legs with mossie spray - they ate me alive the first time I used the computer - must have been the heat of the computeres attracting them.
There are 2 decent sized pool at the resort & they were never crowded - no lounge hogging like many of the resorts in Thailand.
To sum up - we LOVED the HoiAn Beach Resort - I wonder why??

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed here for 1 week in July. While it is an older style resort we found it very clean and well maintained. We booked one of the larger delux river view rooms and had a lovely, spacious quiet room with a balcony overlooking the river. Good aircon which we needed as it was very hot and humid. If you can, book one of these rooms rather than the smaller garden view rooms as some appeared to be a bit small and dark. Rooms were always clean. The breakfast buffet was a bit limited in "Western" selections but the remainder of the food we had there was very nice. The hotel gave us a free evening set menu meal for two and it was very nice. Drink prices are expensive at the usual "hotel" prices to be expected. Tea/coffee etc is provided in the rooms but not milk or milk substitute! If you want milk for a cuppa then you have to go to the restaurant and ask for fresh milk which they provided in a teacup. There are two pools - neither particularly large but enough to cool off in - don't expect to be able to do laps though! The resort has it's own private beach across the road, with chairs, tables, sunbeds etc. Located 5 km out of town it is in a quieter area away from the hustle and bustle of the ancient town. There is a reasonable shuttle service but taxi's were only $5 one way. Plenty of small restaurants outside on the street - cheap prices and good food (avoid the pizzas - they were dreadful). Staff spoke reasonable English but some staff had difficulties with anything beyond "the basics". Like a lot of places in Vietnam, tourist information regarding sightseeing etc seemed very limited and poorly organised. The desk only had one booklet listing sightseeing trips and there was nothing to take away and browse at your leisure in detail. We booked a full day trip from the booklet but found that the hotel only use the booklet as a guide to possible trips and don't book the trips through the company that produce the booklet. The hotel books it's own driver/tourguide etc to provide the service that is in the book. We had some confusion over our day trip (A bit of English - Vietnamese miscommunication??) and it took a bit of sorting out on the morning we were to go before we got what we actually booked. Went to the Zen Spa and had a very nice Vietnamese herbal and hot stone massage which was reasonably priced. While not a "full service" 5 star resort we found it met our needs as we went diving every day and didn't really need to have the full resort style facilities available. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel is very well appointed on Cau Dai beach with some fantastic views over the river. However it seems the location was the only plus side to staying in this hotel. The reception staff were awful on check in they disputed that one of our party had made a booking even though we had proof of a deposit that had been paid. Anything that was required of the reception staff seemed to be a large inconvenience to them. The staff seemed uninterested and very very lazy and would put me off ever staying in this hotel again.

The rooms were OK and at least they were kept clean (the cleaning staff were a credit to the hotel, perhaps the rest of the staff could take a leaf from their book).

The pool area was decent enough although for a week of our stay there were only 3 parasoles for the whole of the pool area, and when it's 43c shade is much needed.

The Hotel seems to cater for the home tourist market more than for westerners, which is not a problem but just be aware that the Vietnamese excell at making noise! One thing that did annoy me was when a local family encouraged one of the children to stand on the edge of the pool and urinate into the water, this seemed to amuse the pool attendent rather than irritate!

I would give this hotel a miss and perhaps pay the extra fe quid and move along to the Victoria or the Swiss Hotel along the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powermonkey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Well the only reason I don't give 5 stars is the price compared to quality. This place is worth all you are paying... but not more. I really enjoyed my stay here and have only fond memories of my room, relaxing at the pool or just hanging out at the private beach with the fantastic scenery. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#56 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#78 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Beach Resort

Property: Hoi An Beach Resort
Address: 01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#42 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Beach Resort is a four-star resort situated between the romantic De Vong river and famous Cua Dai Beach. It consists of luxurious old Vietnamese-style houses and villa rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Hoi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing