We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort in a quieter part of Hoi An”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hoi An Beach Resort
Ranked #77 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice resort in a quieter part of Hoi An”
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Stayed here for 1 week in July. While it is an older style resort we found it very clean and well maintained. We booked one of the larger delux river view rooms and had a lovely, spacious quiet room with a balcony overlooking the river. Good aircon which we needed as it was very hot and humid. If you can, book one of these rooms rather than the smaller garden view rooms as some appeared to be a bit small and dark. Rooms were always clean. The breakfast buffet was a bit limited in "Western" selections but the remainder of the food we had there was very nice. The hotel gave us a free evening set menu meal for two and it was very nice. Drink prices are expensive at the usual "hotel" prices to be expected. Tea/coffee etc is provided in the rooms but not milk or milk substitute! If you want milk for a cuppa then you have to go to the restaurant and ask for fresh milk which they provided in a teacup. There are two pools - neither particularly large but enough to cool off in - don't expect to be able to do laps though! The resort has it's own private beach across the road, with chairs, tables, sunbeds etc. Located 5 km out of town it is in a quieter area away from the hustle and bustle of the ancient town. There is a reasonable shuttle service but taxi's were only $5 one way. Plenty of small restaurants outside on the street - cheap prices and good food (avoid the pizzas - they were dreadful). Staff spoke reasonable English but some staff had difficulties with anything beyond "the basics". Like a lot of places in Vietnam, tourist information regarding sightseeing etc seemed very limited and poorly organised. The desk only had one booklet listing sightseeing trips and there was nothing to take away and browse at your leisure in detail. We booked a full day trip from the booklet but found that the hotel only use the booklet as a guide to possible trips and don't book the trips through the company that produce the booklet. The hotel books it's own driver/tourguide etc to provide the service that is in the book. We had some confusion over our day trip (A bit of English - Vietnamese miscommunication??) and it took a bit of sorting out on the morning we were to go before we got what we actually booked. Went to the Zen Spa and had a very nice Vietnamese herbal and hot stone massage which was reasonably priced. While not a "full service" 5 star resort we found it met our needs as we went diving every day and didn't really need to have the full resort style facilities available. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    563
    170
    55
    22
See reviews for
325
690
58
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

The hotel is very well appointed on Cau Dai beach with some fantastic views over the river. However it seems the location was the only plus side to staying in this hotel. The reception staff were awful on check in they disputed that one of our party had made a booking even though we had proof of a deposit that had been paid. Anything that was required of the reception staff seemed to be a large inconvenience to them. The staff seemed uninterested and very very lazy and would put me off ever staying in this hotel again.

The rooms were OK and at least they were kept clean (the cleaning staff were a credit to the hotel, perhaps the rest of the staff could take a leaf from their book).

The pool area was decent enough although for a week of our stay there were only 3 parasoles for the whole of the pool area, and when it's 43c shade is much needed.

The Hotel seems to cater for the home tourist market more than for westerners, which is not a problem but just be aware that the Vietnamese excell at making noise! One thing that did annoy me was when a local family encouraged one of the children to stand on the edge of the pool and urinate into the water, this seemed to amuse the pool attendent rather than irritate!

I would give this hotel a miss and perhaps pay the extra fe quid and move along to the Victoria or the Swiss Hotel along the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powermonkey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Well the only reason I don't give 5 stars is the price compared to quality. This place is worth all you are paying... but not more. I really enjoyed my stay here and have only fond memories of my room, relaxing at the pool or just hanging out at the private beach with the fantastic scenery. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPHAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

during our backpacking trip, we choose this hotel to indulge ourselves and relax a few days at the beach. The price (we could negotiate our river view bungalow down to 90 USD) was a multiple of the average room price of the rest of our hotels we stayed in. However, you do get a very lovely room for that price, the hotel hosts 2 swimming pools, there is a free shutle to town, the wifi in the room is high-speed, they offered us one free dinner in the restaurant (which the staff served in 45 minutes..for 7 courses :-)) and free transportation to Danag airport.
The hotel has its own part of the beach (with umbrellas and chairs to relax under) where it is really nice to relax and watch the busy beachlife at Hoi An.
Do note however that prices at the hotel (both at the bar, with USD 2.5/3 for a beer) and at the restaurant (10 usd for a main course) are a multiple of those at the restaurants a bit further at the beach. So we almost never drank or ate something there.
Conclusion is that you do pay a lot of money, but we felt it was certainly worth it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalinho13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

We booked this hotel even after reading some negative reviews , mainly because we were staying in hoi an for 7 nights and decided to split our stay with staying at the beach and also in town. Although it is an older hotel there is obviously refurbishment going on to stay competive in the market. We requested a river view room and so glad we did, it was lovely looking out over the river and watching boats go by. The hotel has its own private beach area and i found the beach nicer than thailands beaches. We booked our tours through the tour desk and although it might have cost $1 or 2 more than in town it just saved the hassle. The breakfast was adequate and as we were on tours most days we found the shuttle into town adequate especially of an evening when we would head into town when it cooled down about 5.30pm and caught the later shuttle back.
Like many hotels we found the laundry service expensive ( though not as expensive as in nha trang and saigon!), we used the laundry service across the road in the shops and they did an excellent job, nice and cheap.
I would recommend this hotel just dont expect 5 star and a room overlooking the river is probably the best bet.
Most staff were fine but as it was off peak i think they slacked off abit.
Having said that depending on deals$ you can get i would go back .
Mandy in Melbourne

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mans60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I liked the hotel very much. It is located in a quite place between the river and a large and clean sandy beach, not far from Hoian. The hotel has a very nice and well-kept garden, 2 pools, a gym, etc. Booking rooms with the river view is highly recommended. The rooms are very clean, large and cozy. You can watch egrets, buffalos and ducks at the river. The hotel often lights Vietnamese floating lanterns at night which looks great. The included breakfast is good, especially I (and my wife) liked pho soups, which were different every day....The hotel staff is polite and helpful. They organized a tour to the charming Cham islands for us. This was quite shocking as the speed boat was jumping with a crazy speed over huge waves but everybody had fun. The islands are charming with their white coral reefs, extremely clean beaches, ancient pagoda, spectacular fishermen's village and jungles. The hotel also sells open tour bus tickets to Hue, USD 6.00 one way (vs USD 2 in the street) and organizes trips to Myson which is a very strange and interesting place, worth visiting. We visited many restaurants near the hotel and finally decided that the Lucky Restaurant was the best, providing very tasty and cheap seafood (located in the corner of Cua Dai street and the road following along the sea shore, right in front of the 2d entrance to the hotel facing Cua Dai street). The town of Hoian is charming, with many ancient houses and pagodas. In the shops and tailor’s shops you should bargain very well, otherwise you may overpay 2-3 times....If you travel in spring, buying some liniments against mosquitos and midges that bit at night, is recommended

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SergeiV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is the 5th time I have stayed at Hoi An Beach Resort, and from 5 yrs ago this place has gotten so bad that its upsetting. We love Hoi An and always spend a holiday their each year, as it truly is a wonderful place and the locaton of the resort being out of the town across from the beach gave the holiday a different element. Last year I took my relatives to stay at this resort and during our stay there were rats in the room, and raised with staff they were not interested, this year I wanted to give them another go as years before last year we never had a problem....... But oh it had not improved...... Cleaning of the rooms were dreadful...... wrapping that was on the floor were not ever picked up......The breakfast was BORING and the same each morning and you had to ask for them to get a juice or provide new glasses........ The male staff at Breakfast were the rudest people I have ever had to deal with... They grunted at us and ordered us around........ and if it could get any worse we once again had RATS in the room... and when raised no one cares..... It breaks my heart to say this but I will never stay here again nor recomend it to anybody.... So sad that this place has fallen

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikeybear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#66 of 156 in Hoi An
1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Hoi An Beach Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#86 of 156 in Hoi An
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Beach Resort

Property: Hoi An Beach Resort
Address: 01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#31 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#48 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Beach Resort is a four-star resort situated between the romantic De Vong river and famous Cua Dai Beach. It consists of luxurious old Vietnamese-style houses and villa rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Hoi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing