We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location between the beach and the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Beach Resort
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely location between the beach and the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent 8 nights at the Hoi an beach resort in June 2013. From collection in the hotel taxi from the airport to our return the whole experience was a joy. Our room was on the ground floor, overlooking the river with its own terrace. The views along the river were magnificent and we were entertained by the local fishermen going about their business. Our room was large, well maintained an appointed. Breakfast was varied, plentiful an of great quality. The hotel has its own private beach nearby with plenty of sun beds and shade. A courtesy bus takes you the 4 miles into old hoi an which is a must for sightseeing. Immediately outside the hotel is plenty of choice for shopping, dining, drinking and being pampered. The hotel staff are extremely helpful and cheerful. A great choice of hotel if you want to stay at the beach rather in the old town.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is quiet and gives the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    531
    157
    50
    19
See reviews for
299
647
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. It is in a good spot as you have the beautiful beach right across the road and it's great having the free shuttle bus into town which only takes 10 minutes. The room was very big and spacious and was nice to sit out on the seats on our verandah. The only fault was our bathroom had 2 leaks in the roof that always dripped on us, which when we told the receptionist she told us to just wipe up the floor that nothing could be done. Otherwise was a good place to stay. The buffet was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinFaeWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in a river view villa and were overall slightly disappointed with this place. Our room was fine, however house keeping insisted on ringing our doorbell before 9 on a number of mornings wanting to clean our room. Being on holiday, we were still asleep! They would also come by in the evening to deliver fables for us to read; whilst a nice thought, we found it slightly intrusive when we just wanted peace and quiet.

As the hotel is undergoing a redevelopment, I emailed prior requesting a room away from the construction noise. Our room was away from construction noise but right next to the pool so we were woken up from 6am some morning by screaming kids, swimming in the pool. We asked reception if we could change rooms but they had nothing else available but said they would get back to us (which didn't happen). Another night there was a karaoke party with the most awful singing and music and again it was blasting into our room. Not much point having a balcony overlooking the river when it's too noisy to enjoy!

There is currently only one pool open due to renovations. It was pleasant enough in the evening but was slightly frustrating when so many staff were sitting around playing with their phones and we couldn't get table service! Same as at the beach bar.

Overall, this place has potential but the staff really make little effort and the service is not up to standard. I also feel disappointed that we were paying quite a lot of money to stay here when full facilities were not available. Upon check in we were requested to pay upfront for all 7 nights, this is not usual so we did not agree and paid when we checked out. Perhaps after the renovations this place may be a bit better but a facelift won't help unless the staff improve. We have stayed at the Victoria Hoi An resort previously and regret not booking there this trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbelle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We just stayed here for 4 nights with our family. Booked two rooms next to each other. The location is one of the greatest in the area: near the beach (just across the road, they do have their so-called private beach, but the entrance from the hotel is temporary closed as there was some renovation going on) and the area stuffed with restaurants with quite affordable prices.

I have to say that the room is quite comfortable with all the amenity needed. The view from our rooms looking to the small green yard and the river.

Breakfast was so so with limited choices, but they do manage to try to change the menu each day.

Now, being quite detail attended, I see some problems during our stay.

1. The staff weren't attentive. We were not informed carefully upon checking in. Also, staff manner was kind of rude sometimes. When we were at the pool, we asked for an empty bowl but were told by the staff to go in the breakfast room to take it ourselves, wow, quite the unbeatable service.

2. When we first arrived, I saw the house keeper dropped a bunch of clean towels (or bath mat, whatever it was) to the floor on the walking lobby without any cover under it, even when guests were passing by frequently.

3. When we were on the complimentary bus to Hoi An ancient streets, our baby was not settled on the seat yet and the driver already drove away, which is very dangerous and careless. My husband got pretty upset.

4. During our stay of 4 nights, we don't know how many times they changed our bed linen or not at all. With a baby travel with us, there will be messy stuff (unnecessary told), but we kept having the same dirty linen for the last two days. This must be a "special treatment".

5. With other eateries around, the rates for room service was quite high, added 25% if you would like to order.

6. In the buffet room, they have open area for the buffet, so at the cold cut table, I saw some of the small flies around and had to inform the staff there. Lucky enough, they fix the problem somehow.

If the rates of other hotels is comparable, I suggest that you find yourself other more worthy resorts to stay in Hoi An. However, keep in mind that if location is important, this one has its own advantage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the reception area are farther from the renovation, so they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having stayed at this resort 3 years ago, we were expecting a little more for our money. Firstly, the resort is under renovation, of which we had not been informed. As we had booked in January, and via Expedia, it is probably understandable why we were not given this vital piece of information. As a result of the renovations, there was a temporary spa, restaurant and reception which were acceptable. However the biggest problem was that there was no second pool, thus no escape from the hideous screaming of little monsters and loud obnoxious Australians. One of the prime reasons that we booked this resort was because we wanted a relaxing, peaceful, quiet holiday (away from ignorant Australian bogans) and knew that this was an appropriate place for this purpose, and we didn't want any surprises inherent when booking an unknown place. If we had have been told about the renovations, there is no way that we would have stayed here. Other issues include the lack of variation in breakfast food, and as we had a long stay, this became an issue after about a week. The lunch and dinner menu was mainly asian, and boring, and way too expensive. We had to eat here a couple of times and the prices were ludicrous considering other quality meals that can be obtained in Hoi An itself. There is no poolside service, which is kind of crazy given that the staff stand around looking bored day in, day out. They could sell far more drinks if they just had staff go around the pool with a menu every hour or so,and collect the glasses. We booked a river view villa this time because we didn't want a shower over the bath, which is the case in the normal rooms. We knew the size of the room, but as there is only one photo of the room on the website, one expects a better room than it is. Although the bathroom is big and has a separate shower, it is tiny and claustrophobic. The bed is typical of Asia...rock hard, but big. We would consider this resort to be a 3 star at present, and would only stay here again if it was fully renovated, and upgraded, and inclusive of at least 2 pools, with one being for adults only. The location is great, but by the time we come back to Hoi An, we would expect that there will be a plethora of 5 star resorts to choose from given the growth in tourism here. We have had a lovely time, and we do love staying on Cua Dai beach, and the view of the river is gorgeous from our villa, but we are used to a higher standard than this, and will seek it in future.

Room Tip: Stay in a River View Villa, as the Beach Side villas have obstructed views and are facing a busy roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent the first week of June at the resort and had a great holiday. HOWEVER, there is very noisy building work taking place and half of the resort - including one swimming pool is closed. We were very angry as our agent contacted the hotel prior to our arrival to ask about the proposed work. We were assured that it would not impact on our stay and that we would be upgraded from a river view deluxe to river view villa. This was allocated - beautiful room, well services, lovely towels (garden view rooms get smaller older ones) etc, BUT we were actually the closest room to the building work! For three days the pneumatic drills worked from 7am to 6 pm. This could be heard around the pool and on the beach as well as our room of course! Our agent was also very cross and found us another hotel but by this time the drilling had stopped and the hotel was lovely so we stayed.
WARNING the piling machinery was in place as we left - this will be horrendous. Then the building will begin.
The hotel is in an excellent position opposite the beach. The private beach is well kept. Nice, beds, towels and bar. Staff friendly and helpful on the beach.
There is a nice street of shops and restaurants just on the doorstep - excellent food which is cheap along with drinks. Hotel food and drink are extremely expensive by comparison. We also used the free hotel bus to go into Hoian where there are wonderful shops and extensive different restaurants.
Staff. We found the reception staff and guest services very helpful and friendly. Restaurant staff could do with some training! They didn't seem happy and getting a second coffee was easier to collect yourself. Many guests became annoyed. They were slow at clearing tables and resetting.
Ground staff and cleaners were very pleasant and always liked to speak - perhaps a job switch!
Guest services did arrange for a free meal for us as compensation for the noise but it was a miserable affair. We were the only two in the restaurant - lovely position overlooking the river but absolutely no atmosphere and the staff were just as miserable as at breakfast. Thankfully we didn't pay - it was a set meal but very expensive and to be honest the worst we had during our three weeks in Vietnam.
Even after all the faults during this holiday we would go again to the hotel next year when work is complete. They are making improvements, the position of the hotel cannot be beaten and I am sure the management will sort out staff training

Room Tip: River view rooms on first floor. Lovely to sit on balcony and watch fishermen at work on river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty's Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

After reading a mix bag of experiences, I was somewhat sceptical of expecting anything great. No problems though, having been in this travel hospitality bussiness for over 35 years, one often tends to either be more critical than most, or just appreciative of the service provided.
We had a good experience all round, the rooms are spacious, with all amenities expected, breakfast was a fine spread, multi choices. The shuttle bus into Hoi An a added bonus, and the beach area staff were also accomodating without being intrusive. I dont like people fussing over me when I am trying to chill, if I require anything, I shall ask for it.
And most of the male staff, as previously pointed out, seem to be on the aloof, bored, lazy side. The word unmotivated comes to mind. Lets not forget this hotel is owned by the government, thus a little bit of Maxist orientation creeping in, at times I could have sworn to be in tropical mother Russia..... ( if that location ever existed. )
With the complimentary Russian guests thrown in for good measure.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hoi An Resort
Boutique Hoi An Resort
#56 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
3.5 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#78 of 141 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Hoi An Hotel
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Beach Resort

Property: Hoi An Beach Resort
Address: 01 Cua Dai | QuangNam, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hoi An
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hoi An
#20 Family Hotel in Hoi An
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Hoi An
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hoi An
#29 Luxury Hotel in Hoi An
#42 Spa Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Beach Resort is a four-star resort situated between the romantic De Vong river and famous Cua Dai Beach. It consists of luxurious old Vietnamese-style houses and villa rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoi An Beach Hotel Hoi An
Hoi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing