We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #75 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a very nice hotel in a good location just a few blocks from the main tourist area of Hoi An. There is a shuttle bus that takes guests to their other beach property. We didn't use it, but it seems convinient. The rooms were clean and the hotel in general was well maintained. The forst night we were there, it rained heavily (the only day in rained in 4 weeks in Asia) so we opted to eat at the hotel restaurant which wasn't that good. The food seemed a bit dumbed down for the tourists and there are better more reasonably priced options in town. the staff were very helpful and the overall service was excellent. Just a note, if you are taller than 5' 7" you may have trouble with the shower head. Not a big deal. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank randall_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,702)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Very quiet and clean, the hotel offers a great location if you're interested in the Old Town of Hoi An. Sumptuous breakfast gets your day started ready for the hustle and bustle. Good Vietnamese restaurants with 10 minutes walking, laundry across the road (recommend #1/15) so everything you need is here. Service can be a little unpredictable (we ordered ice which took 70 minutes to turn up), but all in all we would stay here again. Car to pick you up from airport costs US$22 - can't beat that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Were booked into this hotel as part of a Travelmarvel Tour of Vietnam & Cambodia. Hotel looks good from the outside, in fact it is a haven from the hustle and bustle of Hoi An. Unfortunately we arrived at 2.30pm and were told that lunch was recommended at their restaurant. Bad mistake as it was the beginning of TET and the chef was obviously absent. The meals we ordered might have been prepared by the gardener and served by one of his assistants. Fortunately breakfast the next day was marginally better and dinner (group) better yet. Our room whilst clean was dark and unappealing. The fittings in the bathroom were very old and in need of a major upgrade. The pool was undoubtedly the highlight of the complex.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magere1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Overall, Hoi An Hotel offered our family of 7 a good base for discovering this charming town. The location is excellent being just minutes away by foot from the historic town, the river walk, central markets and to the shoe shopping streets! The ambiance is a warm contemporary feel with clean white walls, dark mahagony type furnishing punctuated with bright silk accents and very high ceilings. Four of us stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom Presidential suite which was extremely spacious. The bathroom offered a beautiful soaker tub and huge walk-in shower. The only negative is that there is no wall to separate the bedroom from the bathroom so if you're feeling self-concious you'll need to lock others out of the bedroom in order to shower.
All inclusive breakfast was unfortunately not very exciting with the same offerings daily and not an extensive selection (which for a hotel of this class we expected more). The dining area could be larger as it was very cluttered when there were line-ups for the various food stations (omelette, toast) and seating was hard to secure during the peak times. For those who require it, a travel office was also located within the property as well as a very nice looking spa. We felt safe and quite content with our choice of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatluvshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

On our second stay in Hoi An we chose to stay in the Old Town. The grounds of the hotel are lovely, and while the hotel is less than 5 mins walk from the heart of the town it is surprisingly quiet. The junior suite was spaciuos and modern. Our adult children had a standard room which while it was a bit older, was high quality. Febuary 2013

Room Tip: The junior suite is well worth the small additional price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthemove799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a brilliantly located hotel, with excellent access to the town. The hotel itself is well kept, with good service (even during CNY when HoiAn becomes deserted of locals), although we did struggle to get babysitters).
Room 112 is a junior suit on the ground floor, with a door opening straight into the swimming pool - probably the best room in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel, we were here 12 months ago and have enjoyed our stay here and we will come back again!
We were persuaded by friends in Australia to stay at a more expensive upmarket hotel, which we did for 1 week before coming back to Hoi An Historic, we were unimpressed with the other hotel as it lacked the warmth that this hotel has.
The staff are delightful and the close proximity to the local main shopping district is fantastic.
We have been here for 17 days and we are very sorry to be going home as we would love to have stayed even longer as now we consider it to be a "Home away from home"
I have read adverse comments about this hotel but we paid a lot more at our previous Upmarket hotel and this one is certainly superior, the staff are friendlier, their English is certainly better and they are a lot more accommodating ( not subservient ) We are on the side where there is a children's school but have had no problems with that, it is nice to hear Happy children's voices at play.
We have only one complaint and that is the time of the pool cleaning, the pool is supposed to be open by 6.30am not being cleaned as you swim up and down. That is a minor complaint as we prefer to go in the pool before the sun is up and too hot

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Audrey184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Mr .Audrey184 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to express our deeply thanks to have your stay with us on second time .We are very happy and honoured to have your returning to Hoi An Hotel .

It is our pleasure to know that you also have enjoyed your stay with us this time after a year you come back here .Your comment is a valuable motivation for our staffs to learn more expriences and skills to do their works well to meet guests' expectation.

We also want to thank you very much for your advice about open time of pool is ealier 6h30 am , we will think about it while we have done it last time but there are many guests to have ideal about a little noise when other guest come to swim early .

We are look forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $65 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing