We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and perfect for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a brilliantly located hotel, with excellent access to the town. The hotel itself is well kept, with good service (even during CNY when HoiAn becomes deserted of locals), although we did struggle to get babysitters).
Room 112 is a junior suit on the ground floor, with a door opening straight into the swimming pool - probably the best room in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel, we were here 12 months ago and have enjoyed our stay here and we will come back again!
We were persuaded by friends in Australia to stay at a more expensive upmarket hotel, which we did for 1 week before coming back to Hoi An Historic, we were unimpressed with the other hotel as it lacked the warmth that this hotel has.
The staff are delightful and the close proximity to the local main shopping district is fantastic.
We have been here for 17 days and we are very sorry to be going home as we would love to have stayed even longer as now we consider it to be a "Home away from home"
I have read adverse comments about this hotel but we paid a lot more at our previous Upmarket hotel and this one is certainly superior, the staff are friendlier, their English is certainly better and they are a lot more accommodating ( not subservient ) We are on the side where there is a children's school but have had no problems with that, it is nice to hear Happy children's voices at play.
We have only one complaint and that is the time of the pool cleaning, the pool is supposed to be open by 6.30am not being cleaned as you swim up and down. That is a minor complaint as we prefer to go in the pool before the sun is up and too hot

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Audrey184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Mr .Audrey184 ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to express our deeply thanks to have your stay with us on second time .We are very happy and honoured to have your returning to Hoi An Hotel .

It is our pleasure to know that you also have enjoyed your stay with us this time after a year you come back here .Your comment is a valuable motivation for our staffs to learn more expriences and skills to do their works well to meet guests' expectation.

We also want to thank you very much for your advice about open time of pool is ealier 6h30 am , we will think about it while we have done it last time but there are many guests to have ideal about a little noise when other guest come to swim early .

We are look forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were part of a group of 16 and there were other groups also in the hotel. However this did not detract from the service. The rooms were spacious, quiet and the beds comfortable. Breakfast had plenty of choice for all nationalities. Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurogolferoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Ms .Eurogolferoxford ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

On behalf of Hotel Management and team , we would like to express our sincere thanks to have you stay with us .

It is our pleasure to know that you have had an ejoyable holiday in Hoi An Hotel on your vacaction with group .We have tried to work hard to meet guests' expectation and your good comment is a good motivation for us to continue developing skills and working experiences in order to get almost guests' satisfaction .

We are look forward to wlecoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great hotel, central, only a 5 minute walk from the old historic town, or $2 on the back of a motorbike! Well kept gardens and pool area is quiet and lots of space. Had a junior suite but room a bit small and cluttered. Great shower! Didn't get to use the bath, but nice to have the choice!!!No ironing allowed in the room, they take your shirts, "iron" them and deliver to your room promptly. I say "iron", still very creased but not as bad as they looked in the suitcase!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as our room in the front allowed for a lot of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Mr . Aidomelb ,

Warmest geetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to express our deeply thanks to have you saty with us and your comment on TripAdvisor .

We respect your comment and it will be good motivation for our staff to improve service getting more and more better to meet all guests' expectation .

We are look forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel in any other occasion on your vaction for returning Hoi An city .

Kind regards ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently situated within 2 mins walk of the Old Town. The hotel is nice, big but has many tour group so if you are looking for a more private stay, it might not be your choice of hotel. Rooms are very spacious just make sure you ask for the ones not near the school which my room unfortunately was; traffic and school noises occurred only in the mornings but night time is quiet. There's no lifts to rooms so be mindful if you want a higher floor room. Breakfast was ok with many choices. The downsides to the hotel: Bathroom in the room was dated and water pressure from the shower was rather low. The staff could be more attentive during the breakfast. Although there's a shuttle bus service to its sister hotel, HoI An Beach Resort by the beach, it is not very frequent (runs about every 2 hours) and at the beach, you have to pay for the sun lounger and towels. Alternatively, you can just stay at the public beach area which seems more crowded and lots of food vendors.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryllovestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Mr . Cheryllovestravels ,

Hotel Management and team would like to express our wamest greetings to you and sincere thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us while our team had tried our best to work hard to bring good service to guest .Although we still lack of faults during service system through your response .We record and train staffs again in skill of customer care by paying more attention to guest when they do on job with guest .


We do hope that we are very pleased and honoured to serve you again in Hoi An Hotel with more perfectly service .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A landmark hotel set in coconut palm-shaded grounds. We booked a room overlooking the gardens and enjoyed our stay. Service was excellent and the breakfast buffet was the best we encountered in Vietnam in terms of its daily variety. It was a plus that the centre of town was walkable in less than ten minutes. Since there was a good size pool we didn't even bother taking the shuttle bus to the sister hotel located at the beach. The one let down was the bathroom that was seriously antequated and out of keeping both with feel of the room and the rest of the hotel. Wifi connection was also very weak on occasions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Ms . Lan B ,

Best greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

We would like to express our deeply thanks for your choosing Hoi An Hotel on your vacation .

Regarding to your comment about room and wifi signal , we will record and improve it sothat our product will get better to meet all guests' expectations.

Once more again , thank you very much for your being our customer .

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .


Kind regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and had a very spacious and pleasant room with a balcony overlooking the pool. The hotel is on a large site a short stroll from the old town. The gardens and pool are colourful and there are plenty of sun loungers around the pool. The breakfast was excellent and served in a lovely setting, either inside or out according to preference. Staff were helpful, smiling and efficient. The shuttle bus service to their sister resort at the beach was a welcome extra. The ride down is attractive and the beach itself perfect with white sand, palm trees and even a breeze!
The only downside was the bed which was very supportive and caused some back discomfort

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margaretwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Ms. Margaretwaters ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Historic Hotel .

On behalf of Hotel Management and team , we would like to express our sincere thanks to have you stay and your good comment on TripAdvisor .

It is our pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us .Your high aprreciation to Hoi An Hotel is good motivation for our staff continue improving and developing their skills to contribute in perfectly service in order to meet all guests' expectations .

We are looking forwards towelcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .


Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $66 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing