We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #71 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for four nights in December 12. The hotel is in a really good location for exploring Hoi An. The facilities within the hotel are very good- the pool is a nice place to hang out in the afternoons. The staff are extremely helpfull (they printed out a lot of stuff for me after we had officially checked out and were waiting for a car).

Laundry is bit steep, but there are several across the road that do a good job. Breakfast was OK, but could be better.

There is free shuttle service between the hotel and the Hoi An beach resort, so you can get to the beach in the morning and come back to town for lunch easily.

Room Tip: There is a school very close by, and the noise can be quite loud in the afternoon. The rooms nearer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mr.MGB70 ,

Warmest greeting from Hoi An Hotel .

We would like to express our thankfulness to have you stay with us as well as your good comment on TripAdvisor .

We are honoured to have your enjoyment and this is motivation for our management and staff continue promoting our abilities and improving our services be better to meet all guests' expectation.

We do hope that we will have another chance to serve you again in Hoi An Hotel next time when you will return to visit Hoi An City .


All the best to you and your family !

Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    697
    170
    55
    17
See reviews for
276
743
114
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have visited Hoi An four times and on all occasions i have used this hotel. I have been here alone and with large groups and have recommended it to friends, all of which have thanked me later. If you are unsure where to stay this hotel is a no-brainer, stay here.

Ok, the reasons:
1. Location! The hotel is right in the centre of town and is surrounded by local conveniences. There is a few laundries across the street if you don't want to pay the hotel prices, and there is even what i believe is the best value for money spa right across from the main gate.

2. Service. This hotel is on par with the vietnamese 5 star hotels in terms of the quality of customer service provided by reception and the other functions of the hotel.

3. Rooms. The rooms are nicely appointed with all the conveniences you would expect of a 4 or 5 star hotel. WIFI etc are of course free and a decent (not great) speed.

4. Pool. The hotel has a beautiful pool area to chill out in and have a quality cocktail after a long day cycling or shopping etc.

The only negative and area that i think they need to improve is the breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Whilst it has most of the normal Vietnamese versions of a hotel breakfast, it is not up to the standard i have had in other hotels in Vietnam. However, points 1-4 will bring me back to this hotel again next time anyway.

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor rooms that open out onto the pool area, they are by far the best rooms! Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillViggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Mr.WillViggers,

Best greetings from Hoi an Hotel !

We would like to express our thankfulness to have you stay with us as well as your high appreciation to us on TripAdvisor . Your good comment is very good value for us in business when the information is approached to guest nearly. It is good chance for us to be one of an priority destination in Hoi An city on his/her vacation .

Regarding to your comment about breakfast quality , we will record and improve it immediately in food choice .

We do hope that we can continue having more support from you in recommendation Hoi An hotel to any one to intend to come to visit Hoi an city .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel in near future .

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family !

Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I booked airport transfer from Danang to hotel. It was quiet okay, it just they picked me up with an old minivan, it was very slow and so inconvenient. I got really upset when I saw there were several nice cars in the hotel. So UNFAIR....

Anyway I like the room interior where I can feel the hoi an heritage inside, and also the welcome message on the TV with my name shown on it. But I didn't like the room and bathroom smell, I don’t know why… but I think they should spray some air freshener inside. Beside the mattress and pillow is bit hard and made me couldn't sleep well.

The Breakfast was okay, but not many choices. However I felt disappointed as there was no iron in the room! How come!!! That’s ridiculous for 4 stars hotel!! And I need to pay for ironing service!

For location, this hotel is the best for the value in Hoi An. It just 10 mins walk to the ancient town. I would like to recommend this hotel to people with family, but if you not really concern about the hotel facilities and features.

Tips:If you want to have an excursion, better to take outside agent as it is cheaper (but of course u need to bargain smart)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dynora X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Ms.Dynora X ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hotel .

We would like to express our thankfulness to have you stay with us and your good comment on TripAdvisor .

Regarding to your comment ,we will record and improve defaults in our product in order to meet all guests' requirement .

We do hope that we are honoured to have another occasion to serve you again in Hoi An Hotel with better product .

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you and your family !

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Enjoyed everything about the hotel. Rooms are basic but good. Beds are a bit hard. Even though I had requested a room that was not in the back since I had read about the noise in the back I ended up there anyway but it wasn't a big deal and I didn't request to be moved. Pool area is nice and breakfast very good. Location is perfect and just minutes from old town.

Loved Hoi An in general and the many activities in the area. Did the "Fish and Chips tour" which was a highlight. Biking to a nearby village, a boat ride and some fishing were some parts of it. Everyone was extremely friendly and it turned into a great day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mr.freqtraveler66 ,

Best greetings from Hoi An Hotel .

We would like to express our thankfulness to have you stay with us as well as your good comment on TripAdvisor .

We do hope that you will have good memories about Hoi An Hotel and keep it in your record in order to recommend us to anyone who wants to visit Hoi an city on his/her traveling .

For us , you are always in our record and your enjoyment is value motivation to promote our strengths and improve weaknesses so that our service will be met all guests' requirement .

Once more again , thank you very much for your being our customer .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I had a room on the second floor looking out towards the kitchen/restaurant. On the first night of my stay (Saturday), the music playing from the bar was very loud even with the doors and window fully closed, that it was quite disruptive watching tv or trying to sleep. Luckily the music stopped around 11pm and everything was quiet after that. After that initial first night, I found the rest of my stay very pleasant and comfortable.

The room was very clean. The bed is very hard but that suits me. Probably the bathroom/shower could do with an update as I didn't feel it matched the rest of the room and hotel. The hotel breakfast buffet exceeded my expectations as it had a great variety of fruit, made to order buffet, bead and pasties as well as hot food.

The hotel is well located and also close to miss ly restaurant (which I recommend). The staff did also recommend brothers cafe but I found the food there to be bland and about 3x price of an average restaurant in hoi an. Bit disappointed with this suggestion but it might have just been a bad day at the restaurant.

I was pleased the hotel could help me book a bus to Hue and the price was reasonable too. The currency exchange rate was also decent at the hotel.

Overall, I was very happy staying st this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCBriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear LCBriz ,

Warmest greeting from Hoi An Hotel .

We would like to express our thankfulness to have you stay with us and your good comment on TripAdvisor .

Regarding to your comment , we will record it and remind staff to pay attention to recommend any restaurant outside for guest .In fact , we have not controlled any price of that restaurant outside , we would like to recommend the good restaurant as guest's satisfaction and the information would be given by guests .It is reason why we have not known the price of related restaurant clearly .

Once more again , thank you very much for your being our customer .

We are looking forwards to welcoming you back to Hoi An Hotel next time .


Yours sincerely ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in November and found the hotel to be very good. The room was very clean and the airconditioning worked well. The hotel has a pool which we liked as it was very hot and humid during our stay. The breakfast was also very good with something for everyone. The hotel is a large one that takes tour groups so it was very busy at times but there is plenty of areas to get away from the groups. The staff were very friendly although they were always so busy it was difficult to have a good talk with them. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is on the edge of ancient town so you can walk everywhere. The hotel also has a shuttle bus to the beach which we used a lot as the beach was clean and cooler with the seabreezes. We don't usually stay in large hotels but this was an exception as the good reviews convinced us it would be good which it was. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Ms.rmgar ,

Best greetings from Hoi An Hotel .

We would like to say thank you very much for your stay with us 5 nights .Your good comment on TripAdvisor is good value for us when the information has been approached nearly to guest and it is good chance to sell our service and product with guest .

We are happy and honoured to have your enjoyment when our service meet your requirement. We will continue improving our service more and more getting better in order to meet all guests' requirement

We are pleased to serve you and your family again in Hoi An Hotel in near future .

All the best to you and your family !

Yours respectfully ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, it was very nice and the rooms were comfortable, only wish we had more time to use the wonderful pool and spa. Hoi An has a great beach, we walked there one afternoon to catch the sunset, it took an hour but the streets felt very safe, well worth the effort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Mr.HampshireTrekker ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hotel .

We would like to say thank you very much for your stay with us and your high appreciation to our service .We will continue overcoming weaknesses in order to develop our service more and more getting better so that all guests are satisfied before leaving the hotel .

We do hope that we will have more support by your recommendation .

We are very pleased to serve you again in Hoi An Hotel next time in near future .

All the best to you and your family .

Yours sincerely ,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.9 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#41 of 144 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Property: Hoi An Historic Hotel
Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 144 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing