We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Hoi An”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #79 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2012

When staying in Hoi An, we always stay here. The reason is when your tired from shopping and wandering around the little streets, you can easily walk back to the hotel for a rest. The new hotels out near the beach aren't as convenient, you need to catch a bus or bike. It is really good value with a terrific buffet breakfast and lovely relaxing pool. It has good rates and I love the rooms very colonial asian.

Room Tip: lower level is better, no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mullWangaratta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear MullWangaratta,

Thank you very much for your good comment on Tripadvisor . We do hope that we can get many booking in Hoian Hotel from your friends and your family by your recommendation when they go traveling to Hoian City .

Once more again ,we are thankfullness to your stay in Hoian Hotel and be very pleased to serve you again here next time !


Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of February and we really enjoyed it. At first, upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and gave us warm tower and welcome drink while they was processing the check in. With the cheap price, we had a very nice room and well-techniques. In addition, there are the signs for us helping to save the environment via choosing to wash your bed sheet or tower or not. I think, this is very excellent idea in Hoi An Hotel comparing with other 5 stars hotel in Saigon.
Also the room, which made us surprised when came back from the ancient town, was set up honeymoon specialty with roses on the bed and very romantic.The only thing was bit pity that the hotel do not provide any shuttle or bus to the airport, then my husband and I had to take taxi paid 320,000 dong one way.
The second day, we went to the tour desk just located the front of the hotel to ask for some information about tour and entertainments in Hoi An. Mr. Viet,who works there, was very helpful and made us fell like at home. And for sure that, we will come back on the soonest day!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Dear MullWangaratta,

Warmest greeting from Hoian Hotel .Thank you very much for your stay in Hoian Hotel .

We are very happy when get your comment on Tripadvisor with our service meeting your requirement . I have continue improving it more and more better and having new impression when guest will come back the Hotel and enjoy his / her stay here .

We do hope that we are very happy and honoured to serve you again here.


Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Based on other tripadvisor reviews we requested a room away from the school. This was bad advice as those rooms face a side street where roads are being rebuilt (ugly outlook and noisy). However hotel staff were very helpful and changed us to room 358 on the 3rd floor with great views of the central courtyard and pool. Rooms were very nice and the overall resort was classy and a great haven from the bustling streets. Breakfast was also very nice so would strongly recommend for couples. Rates were reasonable (A$110 per night on Agoda.com). Have also stayed in more local style hotels which were cheaper and smaller. many of these are fine and good value. Others are questionable. So if you are after a larger hotel/resort with good western style facilities and a pool then Hoi An hotel is a great choice. They also have a free shuttle bus to their sister hotel, Hoi An Beach Resort which is about 5kms down the road in the quieter beach area. we walked there which was a fascinating walk where we saw true local life, cock fights and beautiful rice paddies and rivers. Great walk if you are up for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool - dont worry about the school behind the hotel - its not that no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed two nights in mid-February and had a mixed experience. Our room had a very objectionable odor and when we complained, the housekeeping staff asked "what odor?" and left a candle to offset the smell. The windows did not seal properly and I was bitten by mosquitoes in the night.

Believe that there may be better rooms in the newer part of the hotel. We were in the main building on the main floor overlooking the parking lot.

The hotel is just 5 minutes away from the old town, and has lovely grounds. The breakfast selections are good and the food at the poolside cafe was also very good.

We found the pool chaise lounges were old and In need of repair; the wheel fell off of mine and paint was peeling off of all the undersides.

All in all, think there there may be better places to stay in Hoi An.

Room Tip: Find a room in the new part on the 2nd floor with a balcony. Check whether the windows secure witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Dear Adventuringone,

Warmest greeting from Hoian Hotel.

Thank you very much for your comment .We will record and have good lesson to check the room more carefully by Housekeeping supervisor to avoid having smell before serving it to guest . Besides that , we have to pay attention more to staff action when the guest complain .

Once more again , we are thankfullness to your comment and do hope that we can serve you in Hoian Hotel with better room standard .

Best regards,

Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here early February for 5 nights and felt like we were the odd ones out due to the large number of your groups that come through each day. Each morning we awoke before 6am by tour groups with suitcases being dragged along corridors and down stairs and people talking loudly which echoes throughout the building, hardly relaxing. The rooms were clean however were always full of mosquitoes as entry and front doors don't seal or have fly screens which doesn't aid the problem. Turn down service was hit and miss and was only done twice also.

We did a room move due the amount of noise and were told it was an upgrade but later found out the room we were put in was what we originally booked, be careful of this. The reception staff were rude and kept snorting whist assisting us and didn't seem to understand what we were talking about with noise issue.

All up the location was fantastic but there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room around the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Villaseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Villaseekers,

Warmest greeting from Hoian Hotel .

Thank you very much for your stay with us and your comment on Tripadvisor .We are very sorry about hotel quality affecting to your holiday when you stayed in Hoian Hotel .Your comment is very good for us to improve our service immediately especially reception staff .For mosquito ,we will contact Pest control company to check and find out another solution to stop this situation although they have done regular schedule of mosquito spray.

We do hope that we will serve you again in Hoian Hotel with more perfect service .

Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel has a touch of class. We splashed out on a 'grand suite' room. Large room with all mod cons including rainfall shower and a jacuzzi bath. The balcony overlooked the pool which is well-kept. The grounds are immaculate and breakfast is included. Hoi An old town is only a few minutes walk away but the hotel is quiet and set well back from the road. A free shuttle service runs back and forth between this hotel and the Hoi An Beach Resort hotel which is handy if you don't fancy the cycle ride or the walk.

Room Tip: Unless you get up early anyway, ask for a room that doesn't back on to the school to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Dear Mark_Bath_UK,

Warmest greeting from Hoian Hotel .

Thank you very much for your choosing Hoian Hotel on your vacation and your good comment . We are very happy when our service is meet to your requirement .We will kept it well and continue improve our service more and more getting better to get almost pleasure from guests.

We do hope that we are honoured and happy to serve you again in Hoian Hotel next time when you have other occasion to visit Hoian City .


Best regards,
Phan Thi Ngoc Lan
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here early February for 5 nights and felt like we were the odd ones out due to the large number of your groups that come through each day. Each morning we awoke before 6am with suitcases being dragged along corridors and down stairs and people taking loudly which echoes throughout the building, hardly relaxing. The rooms were clean however were always full of mosquitoes as entry and front doors don't seal or have fly screens which doesn't aid the problem. Turn down service was hit and miss and was only done twice also.

We did a room move due the amount of noise and were told it was an upgrade but later found out the room were out in was what we booked, be careful of this. The reception staff were rude and kept snorting whist assisting us and didn't seem to understand what we were talking about.

All up the location was fantastic but there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Defiantly an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Villaseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $60 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing