We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location,Service,Breakfast & Pool all of a very high quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoi An Historic Hotel
Ranked #79 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is our 2nd visit to this Hotel and would certainly return again. Location to Old Town, Markets, Restaurants and Tailors within easy walking distance. Hotel service professional, prompt and always with a smile. What can be said about Breakfast except wow! Anything you could think of for breakfast is available. Pool is clean and large enough to lap swim, walk in or just relax. Would recommend for any traveller interested in quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandgropers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2011

Dear Valued guest ,

Warmest greetings from Hoian Hotel .On behalf of Hoian Hotel Management , we would like to express thankfulness to you as well as your good comment in Tripadvisor .We are very happy and honoured to be served you here .

We do wish that good luck and happiness to you and all your family .

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Hoian Hotel in near future .

Thanks again for your being our customer !

Best regards
Ngoc Lan Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,272 - 1,278 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed two nights here, we had a fantastic ground floor room with private balcony, quick access to a fantastic pool and spa. beautifully appointed rooms in the 'junior' (?) section.
We re greeted with the obligatory cool passionfruit drink and cool towelettes. Once we re checked in though, we found the service very average almost non existent, but not rude or arrogant but more just like you find in a western country, rather than Vietnam, where we had been spoilt.
But the hotel itself was faultless.
There is a pool side bar and then another two eating places on the property.
The hotel Is close to the markets and the eateries. Make sure you eat at an eatery called 'streets' its a first class restaurant aimed at training a few select young people from orphanages
and extreme disadvantaged homes, to make a life and a career for themselves. Well worth the
support.
The market traders are relentless in their effort to get you to buy, it almost turns you off wanting to go out or near them. Even when you stop for something to eat and think you are in
the relative peace and quiet of your restaurant, they stills come and hound you at your table,
so choose a table, inside the restaurant.
We went for a beautiful and easy ride around the villages to the lantern making place, where
we made a lantern, it takes 25 processes to make one lantern. We then headed to the
vegetable and herb village, amazing, with the same generations of family working the land for
over 200 years, the booking also included dinner, which was very nice. Very easy , leisurely
ride.
We booked through the hotel and our guide was Tuht, I think. The guest services woman was ver helpful and nice. Maybe we just caught the reception staff on a busy day?
There are hundreds of tailors, my suggestion is to NOT get garments made at the market, if
you do though, be ruthless in your bartering, because they have you in, measured up and
money taken from you before you realise how much you've just paid.
Go to the tailors in the side streets, not in the touristy streets or markets, but in the side streets,
not as flash as the others, but cheap, well made and fast, their turn around for garments is an
afternoon rather than 24hrs like the market.

If you arrive at Hoi An by bus and a man called Loc starts chatting to you at the bus drop off
and telling you about his sister the tailor, DON'T be fooled. She works in the market and is
making serious money from westerners who not astute enough to seriously barter.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor, they have their own outdoor areas, with lounges, and just a few paces to po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigtripaug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear Valued guest ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hotel .Thank you very much for your stay with us in Hoi An Hotel .
Regarding to your email , we will record all your good comments and improve our service more and more getting better to meet requirement of guest .

We do hope that we will serve you again in this Hotel in near future .

Best regards,
Lan Ngoc Ms

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in May and it is just wonderful, We stayed in a deluxe room overlooking the pool and it was great , The gardens are just beautiful and the buffet breakfest and swimmimg pool were great . I loved the tropical feel of this hotel and it was in the centre of town, with a free shuttle bus to the beach,Thank You for a wonderful stay and i am, sure we will be back soon,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sp0rter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Just arrived back home after 2 weeks in Vietnam - 3 of those nights at the Hoi An Hotel and wished is had been longer -excellent hotel - stayed 4 years ago at sister hotel but choose to stay in town this time it was the best decision - close to shops and restaurants- the room was great, with plenty of room, beds comfortable,front desk service first rate,full range at breakfast, the pool area lovely and inviting after walking around will return next year and hope to be able to stay longer - Thank you for a great time.
Shepparton
Vic Australia

Room Tip: Ground floor for older travellers as no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez2394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lan P, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2011

Dear Valued guest ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hotel . Thank you very much for your stay with us in Hoi An Hotel .
We are very happy when we get your good comments but we have to continue improving our service more and more getting better .

We do wish that we are very happy and honoured to serve you again at Hoi An Hotel in near future.


Best regards ,
Lan Ngoc Ms

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We spent 6 fantastic nights at the Hoi An Hotel. The service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional from the begnning to the end. We had pre-booked our accommodation but were delayed by a day. The hotel was so flexible and adjusted our booking readily without any penalty and upgraded us to a better room, which we were very grateful for. The staff were always friendly and adoring of our two children who spent many happy hours at the hotels magnificient swimming pool. The breakfasts were delicious, the grounds of the hotel beautiful and the hotel was always kept immaculately clean. The location close to the old town was also very easy. It was a great experience and made for a memorable holiday.

On the same grounds as the hotel is a travel service. The staff there were also fantastic in helping us book ongoing flights and accommodation, especially a young woman who I have unfortunately forgotten her name but I recall she was the wife of one of the hotels front desk managers. She was great to deal with, very helpful ...

All in all we could not have hoped for better!

Ana and family

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huynh Thi M, Manager at Hoi An Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Dear Ms ANA ,

Warmest greetings from Hoi An Hotel . Thank you very much for your stay with us for 6 nights as well as good comments from you .However ,we still continue improving the service more and more better to meet all requirements of guests .

We do hope that we are very happy and honoured to serve you and your family again in Hoi An in near future .


Best regards,

Lan Ngoc Ms

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was our forth visit to this Hotel. Staff are very friendly. The new renovations were complete. The new look is fantastic. Great choice of food on the new menu's. The locations is central to the main part of Hoi An.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kezzalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We have stayed at the Hoi An Hotel twice now the first in 2008 and now 18 nights Aug/Sept 2011.
The breakfast is exceptional as is the way the staff greeted us and allways helpfull with any request we may have had.The pool was unreal and we spent a lot of time just laying around and enjoying the sun.It is a short bike ride to the lovely beach at Cua Dai and we rented push bikes for $2 a day but the Hotel had a free shuttle bus to the beach as well.Because we stayed so long we became quite well known to the staff and found they would go out of their way to help with anything we needed.The hotel has just undergone a major update and the room we were in was a junior suite that was totally renovated with new furniture and fittings.
The only down side was that there was only one internet computer to service the hotel but that wasn't a major problem.We definatley recommend this lovely hotel and staff to anyone contemplating staying there as we will again in 2012. Happy travelling Pete

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room and remember there is no staircase but only three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petegeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.7 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoi An Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoi An Historic Hotel

Address: 10 Tran Hung Dao Street, Minh An Ward, Hoi An 564002, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 163 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $57 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoi An Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoi An Historic Hotel occupies lush and spacious grounds in the heart of the old town. It is the ideal place to stay for anyone who comes to visit Hoi An and its surrounding attractions which include the area's other World Heritage sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hoi An Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing