We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil and Charmimg”

Hoi An Ancient Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Hoi An Old Town Food Tour by Night
Ranked #1 of 120 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located on the banks of the poetic Thu Bon River, in central Quang Nam province, 30 kilometers south of Da Nang, Hoi An ancient town is an Eastern oriental classic captivation. With the strategic location on the banks of the great river, with one seaside border (East), it used to be one of the major trading centers in Southeast Asia during the 16th century due to the early western trader occupying period.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Tranquil and Charmimg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

A lovely part of Hoi An and well worth a visit to walk around and soak in the old world charm and peace around the site. Some lovely buildings to see and it so lovely to walk around although we hired bikes and strolled around like we had stepped back 100 years. A lovely old town

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank StewDemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,329
    3,599
    896
    220
    144
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bad Soden
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hoi An is very nice to spend a quiet holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We wanted a quiet holiday and Hoi An was just the right choice. The old town offers a bit of culture (it has World Heritage Status), a bit of shopping and lots of good restaurants.
If you want more action, feel free to make day trips to Da Nang.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AS-worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phillip island australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Barter in this atmospheric village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved the old town decorations. Lantern heaven . Beautifully restored buidings. Travel up the river at night by sampan but make sure you barter well. These localsare very street smart and very difficult to get a bargain / Eat on the other side of the river across the bridge in one of the many river facing resturants . Beautiful good value meals Only take approved taxi anywhere in Vietnam check advise on names from forum Wonder around the streets of old city or take a fun rickshaw ride but bargain well

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank phillipislandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
274 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Definitely Worth Doing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I bought the mandatory ticket that gains you access to five historical sites within the Old Town. We also paid a small fee for a private guide to accompany us so that we would actually know what we were looking at. HIGHLY recommend doing this. We had the guide for 1&1/2 to 2hours. He was really informative and we learned lots about each site we visited. For the price it was great value. The Ancient Town is beautiful and I don't think any trip to Hoi An could be complete without doing it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank POC-CW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very quaint village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hoi An is one of the few places in Vietnam that was not heavily bombed during the war. It has lovely architecture, some colonial French style, with lots of character and color. The market is a must see, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChefKaren7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Ancient Town also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing