We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite restaurant in Hoi An”

Vy's Market Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 786 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Street Food Restaurant owned and managed by Ms Vy (Trinh Diem Vy) who is also the owner and operator of The Cargo Club, Morning Glory Restaurant, Vy's Market Cooking School, and Ms Vy's Kitchen & Deli, in Hoi An and House of Hoi An in Melbourne, Australia.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favourite restaurant in Hoi An”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Hoi An has plenty of great places for good but this was definitely our favourite. Excellent food, superb service and great surroundings. Our waitress was wonderful. Thanks for a lovely evening!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    150
    38
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking class”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had the owner of the cooking school and restaurant, she also,owns other restaurants in Hoi An such as Cargo Club and others. She was very informative about the food we cooked and ingredients used. Explaining why they are used and giving info about the diet and daily life in Vietnam. We ate what we cooked of course which was delicious. The Market Restaurant is worth visiting even if you don't do a cooking class.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scot_in_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended way to experience local food.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This place has an excellent menu with what seems to be a full range of Vietnamese food and, in particular, Hoi An specialties. The food is fresh, light, delicious and healthy. We wet there three times during our brief stay in Hoi An. Tonight my wife and I had the Cau Lao noodles, some fresh spring rolls and tofu with tomato sauce. All were excellent examples of Vietnamese food: brilliant ingredients and harmony between contrasting flavours and textures.

The service was extremely friendly and efficient. The restaurant is extremely clean and pleasant, although perhaps at the expense of a little atmosphere. Would nevertheless be happy to eat here every day - if only I could.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grimmy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
“Diverse authentic vietnamese cuisine”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ms Vy's latest project, ambitious, diverse, authentic.

Put simply, all of Hoi An's food offerings in the one place, and of the highest quality, made before your eyes.

Her other restaurants Morning Glory, Mermaid are also spectacular.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as good as the visage looks”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Was attracted by the visage on the night of arrival so decided to try it for lunch the next day. Food was not good an it was definitely overpriced. You can get better value and better food elsewhere. Had the local noodles Cao Lao and it was bland and tasteless. However, it was the first time I was having that so I am not sure if it should taste that way. Nevertheless, because of that, I never had another go at Cao Lao. I will definitely spend my money elsewhere...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kuanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vy's Market Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Vy's Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing