We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,977)
Filter reviews
2,977 results
Traveler rating
2,542
383
44
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,542
383
44
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel minute walk cooking class loved this hotel town centre vietnam taxi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 2,977 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Essence. It is beyond doubt an excellently run hotel, where all the basic functions - clean rooms, attentive staff, good facilities etc..- are all consistently delivered. What made the hotel stand out for us was the genuine warmth and kindliness of the staff. Nothing was too much, they seemed to work well as a team and always had a ready smile. The interconnecting family room was a superb choice for a family of 4 and worth the extra cost. A special mention for the delicious breakfast spread. Final point - the free shuttle to the old town drops you off by the Bi Tailor. I'll write a separate review on them, but suffice to say they are excellent and compared to the many other tailors we visited came up trumps on service, design and attention to detail.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2016

Recently returned from a wonderful trip to Vietnam with my teenage son including three nights at this fabulous hotel. It lived up to all the reviews. We had a lovely spacious 6th floor room with a charming patio garden. Staff could not have been more helpful and service was faultless. Excellent food and cocktails. The just out of town location suited us and we made good use of the regular shuttle service to and from the old town and the hotel's great secret beach. I had a couple of spa treatments which were very relaxing; we went on the 5am My Son tour which meant we had the place almost to ourselves and were back at the hotel in time for breakfast.
We had a fantastic restful time in Hoi An thanks largely to the excellent team at the Essence and more than happy to recommend.

Date of stay: May 2016
Thank IreneH1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We returned to Hoi An and stayed at this lovely hotel again. Their attention to customer service is outstanding with really helpful staff who even forwarded some documents to me which I had left behind at no cost. Very friendly and helpful staff. They even provided an early take away breakfast at 5 am. The SPA massage was perfect. Lovely breakfast every morning. Very nice and quiet place to stay in spite being on the main road. B block best.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank W8479EMdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in Essence and are very impressed with the hotel rooms and the staff. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and beautifully decorated. We had booked a large room and a regular room for 5, but upon arrival, seeing that we are a family of 5, we were upgraded to 2 deluxe rooms on the same floor. The staff are very polite and well trained in providing customers with excellent services, from the hotel bellman to the manager. Upon hearing that my wife came down with a sore throat, an assistant manager, Nga, made her a cup of hot tea with ginger and lemon, and gave us some cut lemon and salt to help sooth her throat. The hotel cleaning crew also knocked on our door in the afternoon to ask if we need new towels even though they already changed them in the morning. The hotel has a shuttle bus to take you to the Old Town on a limited schedule. We took the shuttle to the Old Town but walked back at night (20 minutes). The breakfast buffet has both American and Vietnamese food. Like other hotels, they have a few wifis networks in different areas of the hotel. We definitely recommend Essence Hotel in Hoi An.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ApartmentPrefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2016

Our experience lived up to their ratings - excellent. From the moment we stepped in to the Essence the entire staff, at every level, was professional, very friendly and attentive to every detail. Our room was emmaculate and tended to every day and night. The bathroom was spacious with all the amenities we needed. We mainly ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good and comprehensive, something for everyone.
The location was a ten minute walk to the outskirts of Old Town, but free bikes are provided and a cab ride is only $1 which they are very easy to get. It was nice to be close to town, but not in the heart of the hustle and bustle. The view out our window was the beautiful rice fields and countryside. Best of both worlds.
We highly recommend the Essence!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews