We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed a week in this excellent hotel and were glad we had chosen it rather than others. It is on the edge of town but only ten minutes on foot from the old town and faces an expanse of padi fields which are a birdwatchers delight. We spotted over thirty five species and are sending a list to the hotel for the use of others of like mind.
Before leaving we were asked for comment to help the hotel and staff to improve but could not think of anything at all. It is excellent in every way. The staff were really nice, helpful and smiling and we left feeling we had made many friends. We were as delighted as Mr Lok in the restaurant when we learned of his promotion and felt it fully deserved but that is not to belittle the first class attitude of all the other staff. The room was comfortable and besides being cleaned in the morning new towels appeared in the evening and the beds were turned down. Laundry service was excellent. The breakfast very good indeed and an invitation to overeat the selection of western and vietnamese food. We did not use the pool due to the weather but the gym was good. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block B on the fourth floor. This is off the main road and so avoids the fairly continu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,957)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,397 - 2,403 of 2,957 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

We just left after a two nights stay. We were torn over staying on the beach in Danang or staying close to the town of Hoi An. I will say that we are not disappointed in our decision to stay close to Hoi An and our choice to stay at the Essence. I chose the hotel after reading the great reviews here on trip advisor. This hotel is just outside the town but is a very short bike ride (bicycles are provided) to the walking district. We stayed in a deluxe balcony room which was well appointed, spacious and very clean. The included breakfast is nice and the staff is very friendly. There is a nice pool, fitness room and cute spa. We did visit the spa and our treatments were nice. I would recommend staying here for a couple nights and if possible stay two nights in a Danang beach resort. Our friends stayed at the Hyatt and loved it. I only wish we had more time to spread out the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just left the Essence after a 4 night stay. We had 6 people traveling so had a deluxe family interconnecting room and another deluxe room. Rooms very light and bright and comfortable. Pillows amazing- should have bought some to take home!
Staff here are just beautiful- so friendly and helpful. Always smiling and happy to speak with you. In particular one young lady Fa was brilliant. So friendly, knew our names, always smiling. Thank you Fa for being so great!
The 3 girls all had spa treatments. Fantastic- great value and so relaxing, Highly recommended.
We did not get to use the pool because we managed to time our stay with the rain. Next time!
A very short walk into ancient town, or take a bike for free and ride around the town and surrounds like locals. We cycled to the beach (4km one way) and to the Water Wheel. Loved being a part of the chaos on the roads - and survived!
Loved Hoi An, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in the first week of November 2013, for 7 nights. We had a deluxe balcony room. Very light and well presented and comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. A little out of town but easy to walk or $2 taxi ride. Free bicycles also available.Breakfast was good and plentiful.We were very fortunate to be upgraded to stay our last 2 nights in a premier suite on the 6th floor which was fantastic with sweeping views over the rice paddies and the hotel grounds. This being our 2nd hotel visited within the Essence group, we highly recommend this group of hotels with their focus on personal and friendly service.

Room Tip: Higher levels have better views and may be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 179Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location is good; a little out of town but worth the distance. The staff were outstanding. Helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. The hotel itself is new and beautifully presented. There's a lovely pool and other areas to 'hang' if you're with friends for instance, or you need an area with computers to complete those must do business transactions etc. The staff can organise anything and nothing is too hard for them. The food is great and the breakfast buffet is an endless supply of yummy morsels. On our last morning a note was slipped under our door to inform us (in very calm and diplomatic terms), that the city of Hoi An was under a Level 3 flood alert. A peep out the window and yes, Hoi An main street was now a river. Oh Dear..!!??? The staff amazed us with their calm and orderly evacuation. As we checked out in the lobby hotel standing in water half way up our calves, it felt normal. As we walked across a makeshift jetty made from deckchairs from the hotel lobby to a Sanpan (boat), it felt normal. As I said, a great hotel and everything and I mean everything is easy and a pleasure at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooBoo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent 4 days at Essence Hoi An Hotel. The Hotel is comfortable and elegant into every detail.
The staff is competent and friendly and very eager to make you enjoy your stay.
Location in the outskirts of Hoi An (which is a very charming, small, old town on the UNESCO list of protected locations) is perfect, with a 10 min walking distance to center town.
Borrow a bicycle (for free) and explore the surroundings!
We can strongly recommend this hotel to whoever wants to enjoy some relaxed days in a luxurious and friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room with balcony and view to the beautiful pool surrounded by palms and other vegetation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is brand new and consequentially even the most basic rooms are lovely with lots of light.The rooms are spacious and our bathroom was a good size with large shower and good toiletries. Further there was a tv with English news channels, a safe, hairdyer and welcome fruit and water was placed in our room.

The hotel reception and grounds are also very nicely decorated although the pool was a little disappointing- lovely design but it doesn't look very inviting to swim in as the water is green! Further, there is a pool table and basic gym where you can even play your own music.

Breakfast here is one of the better ones in Vietnam- there is an egg and crepe counter where they make to order but also salad counters, Vietnamese food, juice, cereals and bread. Tea and coffee is complimentary and you can choose to dine inside or outside. The restaurant itself was ok although very expensive compared to the town itself. We ate there once because we were short on time but if time is not a factor I would choose to always eat on the river in town.

The location is okay. You can walk in to the main town in about 15minutes or you can take one of their bicycles to speed things up. We found that getting taxis was fine from the hotel (the hotel ill book you one) but coming back from town by taxi was very difficult- one evening several taxis refused to take us home claiming that it was not worth their while; perhaps the hotel can seek to address this as it is the same taxi company that they use to order taxis.The hotel is situated a10minute taxi ride to the beach and it's much easier to get taxis to/ from the beach! In addition to these transport services the hotel do a complimentary shuttle service to the town or to the beach but we found these too infrequent and consequentially didn't catch it once.

Regarding the airport pick up, we felt like it was a little overpriced- we booked our return leg through a tour company in town and it was much cheaper; also at $18 they could at least provide water in the car as it's about a 30-45min journey.

Overall, a nice hotel in the making (it has only just opened as I understand it); the welcome drink and staff made us feel very welcome and were keen to help where they could; one lady employee helped me with my luggage when she saw me bringing my own down which just highlighted to me that the staff really were on hand to help wherever possible; most employees would leave you to it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_rsr5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hoi An Emerald Waters Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Lantana Riverside Hoi An Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Belle Maison Hadana Hoi An Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
La Siesta Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA

Address: 132 Hung Vuong Street | Thanh Ha Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $78 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Hung Vuong Street, on the edge of Hoi An’s old town and not far from the Japanese Covered Bridge, this brand new 4 star boutique hotel nestles on the edge of quiet lush green paddy fields away from the crowds of the old town. Set in a tropical garden, the style embodies authentic, ancient Hoi An charm mixed with modern influences. Our guest rooms have either balconies or large windows bringing you close to nature in a Vietnamese comfort of modern settings. A couple can enjoy their stay in a Deluxe room or a Suite while a family of 4 - 5 people can share a large Family balcony room or take a luxurious Pool view Connecting room. We provide private transfers from Da Nang airport or rail station, daily buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and sunset cocktails as well as many other complimentary services and amenities. The hotel is operated and managed by renowned Hanoi Elegance & Essence Group. Our team of professionals brings a fresh breeze with a new trend of simply comfort and highest quality of customer service to Hoi An. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing