We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seedlings

Seedlings
Ranked #11 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
133 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Service let it down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

After looking at recommended places to eat in Hoi An we decided to eat at Seedlings. When we first arrived it started to rain so were given a nice table upstairs on the balcony so we could look out over the Japanese Bridge. We started to give our orders when we were told they had run out of a few of our choices - no problem we chose something else. However, when you see people who came in after you getting what you originally wanted it was a little bit annoying. We had a mixture of opinions in the group as to the food - the Beef Rendang was superb but the Thai Green Curry was extremely watery. We asked a number of times for drinks and had to keep asking. It was okay but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    96
    28
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karratha
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A1 food , service, value & setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We had 9 different plates and all were delicious! Best spring rolls inVietnam so far. Our waiter was lovely. We sat on the balcony looking over the water and the place was clean. Kitchen looked clean and organised too. Highly recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food,a great cause - a must visit..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had checked out the menu the night before and it looked good - plus this restaurant helps underprivileged children..

We got there a bit later than normal - 8.45pm and we were really lucky to get the last table on the balcony overlooking the Japanese Bridge and the lanterns...

Our waitress was lovely and attentive - although she did not write down our order and so one dish came with the wrong meat ( chicken rather than beef) - this was corrected promptly - the food itself was delicious and this was evident by the completely cleared plates!!

Also the other table on the balcony ( a big party) left just after we arrived so we had the whole balcony to ourselves - what a bonus!!

A little more expensive than our other meals but the food is delicious, the service great and the cause noble - this is a must visit...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scubastephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Spring Rolls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

as spring rolls go - these were the best I have tasted in my Vietnam trips. enjoyed a quiet afternoon drink with views to the Japanese bridge. love the concept of providing hospitality traing to ' marginalised ' youth. worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennig16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seduced by Seedlings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best caesar salad in Hoi An? I can't remember a better one: lettuce so fresh it was probably in the ground an hour before hitting my plate, a warm poached egg - when was the last time you had a real egg in your caesar? - crispy succulent bacon, tasty cheese, non-greasy croutons. Wow. I was on a roll. Next was pork spare rib with fried rice: The pork was the tenderest I have had in Vietnam and just enough spice to keep you on your toes but not overwhelming the pork flavours. After 14 visits to Vietnam you finally get juicy tender pork meat. Two greats. Would I risk it? Yep. I had the coconut flan for desert. OMG moment folks. Truly OMG. The restaurant is laid out like the entrance to a colonial villa. Spacious, clean, inviting. As a bonus, as if you need one, you get an uninterupted view of the Japanese Bridge. The service is attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The chef, Mr Nguyen Tien Dong, doesn't speak much English but by God he knows how to cook. He deserves a medal. Including two draft beers, a total of $14. Go figgah...and go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seedlings also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Seedlings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing