We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another take on bahn mi”

Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen
Ranked #47 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another take on bahn mi”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

20,000 dong each and filled to the top. They taste good and are very filling, and even though she has very limited English, a fun experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vintagenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,269
    255
    57
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Yummiest ever!!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We've been traveling Vietnam for over a week now. Only up til now had the most delicious Banh Mi ever. Its made by the cutest old lady which reminded me of my grandmother. Its definitely must try

Helpful?
Thank Tola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly scrumptious”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Whilst I am no expect in Banh Mi, i took note of previous reviewers comment and gave it a try. Persevere a little to find it- and when you do just ask for 2 Banh Mi. The family rally round from the back sitting room and bring out a little table and 2 stools, you sit and watch the Banh Mi being prepared and then gobble the scrumptious thing down.
Polish it off with a beer in a can and all for around a fiver for the 2 of you. Its a meal in itself.
If you are scared of street food from elsehwhere in the world- dont be too worried in Vietnam. If you go for the small family placess out front of their houses you will be safe and sound and super-value.

it down

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank scandalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Hoi An Must!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply the most delicious food I've had in Vietnam. I had read some reviews from other travellers and knew that I needed to pay a visit to the Banh Mi Queen, and Madam Khanh delivered hands down. For the low low price of 20,000 VND a mouthwatering spicy pork baguette is yours. My friends and I sat down with the idea of sharing one between us, we were quickly yammering for more. Half an hour later we left completely satisfied wishing we had another day in Hoi An to come back for more.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All Hail the Queen”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

You really have to go here. Really great ambience, welcomed in by the family, and the one sandwich they serve is absolutely superb, one of the best we'd ever had. We kept come back for more, and always got more than one. An absolute must visit

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Madam Khanh - The Banh Mi Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing