We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and decent food”

Orivy Local Food Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 786 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Wooden building in a romantic garden with big tree and lotus pond, hidden in small and quiet alley
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service and decent food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having visited Orivy twice and taken a cooking class with my girl friend we were both pleased with our experience. The restaurant is beautiful, the staff were excellent and the food for the most part was outstanding. My one complaint is that the quality of the Pho varied from day to day (once it is was the best we had our whole trip while the next it was the worst). Their cooking class was great though! We had one on one attention during the cooking which made it feel more like cooking with a friend or family. We would return to Orivy in a heart beat.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    105
    36
    19
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Little peace garden of yummyness!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Went here with my mum on our first night in hoi an after seeing that our hotel's restaurant charged more than double what we'd paid elsewhere in the country.

I came on here and mainly chose geographically and also because of the lovely things others have said. We were not disappointed. It's a quiet place where they only did a few covers. The waiters were chatty and eager to practice their English and teach some Vietnamese.

We chose off the local menu which was all delicious and varied. They're more than happy to explain what things are!

3 course meal (which left us bursting at the seams) plus drinks came to £15.

Tip: the location is beautiful, but at night there are lots of bugs/midges (as there are at night, outdoors, in beautiful lotus gardens!). Just make sure you're well bug sprayed and wearing long shirt/trousers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Prudence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
597 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, nice service, delicious food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Only because we were lazy after a long day full of activities did we discover this restaurant. A quaint garden setting with beautiful and inviting decor. Charming, attentive service staff. First surprise was the presentation of something as simple as a mango juice (in a delicate quarter liter glass carafe) and then our food came, which was delicious and reasonable in price. A bit off the beaten path, this restaurant deserves more attention.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

amazing traditional vietnamese food. it is kind of hard to find, we were lucky our hotel suggested this place to us otherwise we would never have found it! its a very beautiful restaurant, the atmosphere was lovely, very pretty ponds with lilly pads surround you while eating, its very tranquil. i highly recommend this restaurant. :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank orlz580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A break from the busy centre of Hoi An”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

-The atmosphere was my favourite part about the restaurant (wasn't on a busy road where you are hassled by sellers)
-The food was good and well presented
-The service was great (only another couple in the restaurant)
-You can find a cheaper restaurant with the same quality food but the surroundings make it worth while

Helpful?
2 Thank Stirlingreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orivy Local Food Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Orivy Local Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing