We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best meal in six weeks of travel in South East Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orivy

Orivy
Ranked #22 of 754 Restaurants in Hoi An
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Wooden building in a romantic garden with big tree and lotus pond, hidden in small and quiet alley
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best meal in six weeks of travel in South East Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Orivy is simply wonderful. In terms of value and quality, our dinner was one of the best meals ever. For about $20 we feasted on spring rolls, mango salad, duck, chicken and dessert, accompanied by beer and wine. The food was utterly delicious, and the service was caring and attentive. The leafy garden setting was charming and peaceful. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Find it; you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    102
    36
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

finally, a restaurant geared at tourists offering great vietnamese food, fresh with vegetables and salads at a fair price!
go for the mango salad. the set menu is a great value for price deal.
located somewhat hidden on a sidestreet just 5 min walk from old town, this little oasis is beatifully landscaped and decorated. with calm vietnamese jazz music in the background this garden is not only great for a romantic dinner but also well suited to hang out in the afternoon.

Helpful?
2 Thank rissic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We ate at this place three days in a row, we're vegetarian and we still didn't manage to try all the vegetarian food. It was delicious all of it, I'd highly recommend the mango salad. The staff were very lovely and welcoming. They gave us very good recommendations and also travel advice on where to get away from the main touristy area and see the local landscape :).
They taught us some Vietnamese and were always smiling and friendly. I'd tell everyone to go here. It's a must not miss kind of place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kalyani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
375 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Very disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very nice layout and decor in a calm oasis away from the main centre in an area where there are a lot of authentic, traditional restaurants/foodstalls where then locals eat. The staff are charming, polite and efficient and did a great job, Unfortunately the food did not match the high standards set by the FOH team. We asked the waitress to recommend some dishes and explain what they are and ordered based on her input. The lemongrass and chili duck was tough and leathery with not a hint of lemongrass, the stewed fish was crunchy tasteless whitebait, the noodle dish and the Vietnamese gourd dish, other than overwhelming MSG (not good), were lacking in flavour. Really disappointing. Noticing that our food was virtually untouched the MD asked what what was wrong so we informed him. After a short interlude he returned and informed us that the chef had made some mistakes with our food and proceeded to explain what had gone wrong with each dish and offered to start again and re-present all the dishes cooked properly! Our feeling was that we could not risk wasting time waiting and risk more mistakes; better to go elsewhere for dinner, especially as when we arrived the place was empty and by now there were a few more tables occupied. The people that work here are so nice and were genuinely upset that the food presented had been so bad but in the end the cook let them all down. As we left the couple on the table next to us were starting to radiate negativity about the food they had been presented; so it wasn't just us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liempham, Manager at Orivy, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
We are so sorry when hearing your complain about the food. But I must tell you that, the Chinese couple near you were happy with their meal, not like that you wrote.

About the food, we were so sad when you did not finish your meal that night, but the food are OK, not problem. The problem is that you could not eat the local food here. The waitress said sorry about this mistake and want to make another food comfortable for you. But I think when you wasn't happy, an apology is zero.

You can not eat that food, it isn't meant that food is bad.

We are so sorry and hope you are will be happy with your trip in Vietnam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limhamn
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food,nice surrounding and
very friendly staff.
Very good value for money.
We really will give our best recommendations and will soon come back.
Tina & Stefan fr Sweden

Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orivy also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Orivy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing