We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way- but Makes up for it!”
Review of Wild Weasel Bar - CLOSED

Wild Weasel Bar
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Bar
Restaurant details
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Out of the way- but Makes up for it!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We went there on a Tuesday night and were the only ones there! It was hard to find based on the flyer we had been given. But they had 2 for 1 drinks and a nice pool table so we decided to stay for a while. We played about 5 games of pool before other people started to show up. We were surprised with how quickly the place started to fill up at around 10pm. I played music from the computer hooked up to youtube for a good hour or 2 and one of the staff members offered a free drink, shook my hand and thanked us for staying from the beginning. Would Recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashygummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pool table”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Nice bar, 5 min walk from the busy riverarea. The have great deals on beverages at night time and there's a decent a good pool table.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Libseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good bar, unfortunate location”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is the best bar we found in Hoi An. Nice drinks, good pool table (free), table football (also free), decent enough music mostly and an outside area beside the river.
However due to its location (as people have said before about a 5 minute walk from the main stretch by the bridge) it seems to stay pretty much empty.
It's such a shame that the backpacker bar for example (which was absolutely awful) has a lot of customers and this place has very few simply because of location. They need to work so much harder to get people in because of being away from the main stretch but that has resulted in it being a much better bar.
Oh also it probably doesn't help that tripadvisor has it in the wrong location. Walk WEST from the main bridge and past the next bridge onto Thoai Ngoc Hau and it's about 100 metres down on the left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the little walk to get there”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

You'll probably get a flyer for this bar if your walking around Hoi An at night. Its a little bit of a walk from Hoi An's "main" bridge, but no more then like 5 minutes. But it is well worth the walk, the other night there was a DJ playing, they have one of the best pool tables iv played on in Hoi An, drinks are just as reasonably priced as everywhere else. I guess its just the little walk that puts people off from coming to this bar as it doesnt seem to get very busy which is a shame because its an awesome place to hang out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickstanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We came here to check it out after receiving a flyer on the bridge. We first went to the backpackers bar because there was lots of people so we thought it was the place to go. However my fiance bought some mixed drinks and they tasted like rocket fuel. So we wandered down to wild weasel and the place was dead quiet. We were hesitant on entering but glad we did......drinks were well priced and real alcohol used (not some concoction made at home).....
The staff were lovely and played 2 on 2 pool with us all night. It was a great hangout

Helpful?
Thank Jamie1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Weasel Bar also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing