We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden River Hotel
Ranked #131 of 247 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

The rooms are modern and clean, have A/C, a fridge and are a good size. The staff is friendly and helpful enough.
Don't count on the pool as it's more of a big bath tub in the lobby than anything else. Breakfast is acceptable although there is so much fabulous food in Hoi An that I ended up going out and grabbing some street food most days.
What really makes this hotel is the location. extremely convenient!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    61
    34
    26
    13
See reviews for
20
84
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed the hotel 7 days, the first feelling is friendly and professional staff. We really like when you said " Good morning Mr Paul " , so funny anf warmly . Everything from your hotel , room clearned, large and flower in our room so beautiful . My room at second floor , 1 big and 1 small bed with big windown , from my room we can see han river and sky. We enjoy coffee very morning at balcony before have breakfast. Breakfast is not too much but enough quality and very good. We love banana pancake and Pho. They have many fresh fruit ( pineapple, water melon, banana, pamelo ..) amazing. Just one thing not ok is Motobike very old and not safe. ( helpmet not enough ) . All staff really kind , they know everything and recommend for us many landscape for visit. We really supprise about neighbour , they have many children , when they see us , they alway smile and say " Hello, hello " ). We really like here. Hoi an city very beautiful and quite. You cannt visit all landscape if you stay here 1 or 2 days. ( not enough time ) . We will come back here with my family and friend after New Year.

Room Tip: My room is best choice ( Room 301 ) and request Flower and Fresh Fruit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulthuc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Im just want to say " Thank you for everything " when i stay that hotel. Everything very beautiful place and professhional staff . They helpul and friendly, funny and sweet . My room with balcony, large bed, modern bathroom . Really love its! Breakfast so good with banana pancake , Mi Quang noodle. Only 2 minutes for walk from hotel to center. I stayed 5 days, we really enjoyed Tet Holliday with Vietnamese Tranditional Games and Vietnamese Songs. Many restaurant for every body want to eat. But receptionist will recommend TREATS CAFE & BBQ GARDEN RESTAURANT for me, so sweet place. All time stayed that hotel and Hoian was amazing and sweet. I will come back at next year. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!

Room Tip: All the room at second floor is quieter and more than beautiful. You should order room with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Johny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Golden river was a neat and clean hotel with friendly staff and reasonable rooms. However the location was what really made this hotel a winner. It's set just slightly away from the loud bars but is close to a strip of restaurants and just across the bridge (a one minute walk) from the old town. The noise mentioned in other comments wasn't an issue as we found that the music died down by around 9 or 10pm. It was an easy walk to anywhere in the old town and all the major restaurants and an easy 2km bike ride to the beach. Couldn't imagine a better location to stay in Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ben-n-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We loved this hotel!
When we turned up in Hoi An at 2am (after flight had been delayed) every where was shut but luckily the staff here woke up and let us stay!

This place offers free breakfast with a great options of what you can have, free juice and tea or coffee. They are located by the river, and 2 minutes away from the night markets. They are also really helpful about recommending the good places and sights to see in town! Would definitely stay here when we are next in Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank goldentruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Hotel in great spot close to the old town and beside some great restaurants. Staff are great and always looking to help. Motorbike rental 100k dong good bikes. Rent one and head to the beach and surrounding areas we found it more rewarding than booking a tour. Music can start at 7/8 across the road so maybe one for early birds.

Hoi an has been our favourite spot on this trip and wish we had stayed longer and avoided Nha Trang further south.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank mcgirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We really supprise about them welcome to stay here. Everything perfect from breakfast to service, we just think this hotel is two star but we changed our mind when we stay 4 nights. Room cleaned everyday , they have small minibar but enough everything . The first day they setup flower, local fresh fruit and some green tea.for free but we didnt know about that ( so they said all thing setup in our room for welcome stay there with them ) . They so funny and friendly . We paid 39$ per night , not much money but they really amazing . We have great breakfast with PHO , really special, fresh fruit , banana pancake , many drinks . We stay the room with two windows ( River view and street view ) , a little noise at the morning but no matter . Staff so beautiful , professional, good english but they need speak slowly be more than better. We love hotel and Hoian fullmoon festival and tranditional game with local music. Really wonderful time . We will come back Hoian and Golden River hotel on next year whith our family. Thank you for your welcome us .

Room Tip: You should stay the room with two windows at lelf side and rent motobike . Strong feeling and suppri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DavidSon-Juli80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#110 of 141 in Hoi An
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#29 of 141 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.1 mi away
Cosy House Homestay
Cosy House Homestay
#109 of 247 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Villa Hoian
Nova Villa Hoian
#23 of 247 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Hotel

Property: Golden River Hotel
Address: 4 Nguyen Phuc Nguyen, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 247 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Golden River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing