We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cozy Homestay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mrs. Flower's Homestay
Ranked #81 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Comfortable room, clean showers, warm hospitality... Mrs Flower's Homestay is definitely value for money! We would like to thank Mrs Flower for her useful tips and information for eg. where to find cheap food and nice beaches! She also help us to rent good quality bicycle and motorbike, buy our bus ticket to Nha Trang which save our time and money! The accommodation is very clean and well maintained. Mrs Flower's family is very friendly and we had enjoyable conversation with her. Will definitely recommend this place to all!

p/s please check the address carefully when looking for this homestay, do not go to the wrong unit beside the Tour Agency & opp. a dentist!!!

Room Tip: Room with balcony! Sunny and good air ventilation.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Mrs. Flower's Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 104 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hello All,
Ah, what can we say about Mrs Flower and the fantastic Homestay experience we had in Hoi An. Having heard and researched Mrs flower prior to arriving in Hoi An, we had fairly high expectations, we were not let down. Having travelled from South America to NZ/Oz then to China and now SE Asia we were 7 months into our trip and in need of a peaceful 7 night stay. The accomodation was great. Nice big room, with balcony, air-com, washing machine and cheap bike hire. Yes, you share a bathroom but hardly worth worrying about as it is immaculate and would only be a negative for the 'high maintenance' traveller, you know the type, flashpacker sort that will moan that the water was cold(ish)! Anywho, Mrs Flower also sorted us with our one piece of luxury from the trip which was a fitted suit and dress for us. The price was exceptional for the quality of the goods. I know that there is alot on offer when it comes to clothes in Hoi An, but the main missing aspect for most people is the grade of material that a suit is made from... So when you hear 'its cashmere' from here or there, ask what grade the material is, this should instantly be responded with a look of astonishment on the sales persons face that you know about grade. As Mrs Flower takes you to a material store, you pick the colour/material you want and wait for all the local experts to do their magic and hey presto, clothes that fit like a glove and feel good....
I also need to state that at $12 a night this is exceptional value for Hoi An as more and more Flashpacker establishments take over. Even if you want to stay elsewhere, I would suggest that you arrange for clothing via Mrs Flowers.
For a great Cafe/Restaurant about a 3 min walk for exceptional food at crazy value please try CAFE 57. Just over 100VND will buy you two great mains, a pudding and plenty of fresh beer. Your loss if you dont seek it out....
Thank you to all the Flowers, Lots of love, Rebecca & Mark

Room Tip: Get the first floor front room with the balcony, especially if someone likes a cigarette or two.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaNMark2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Mrs Flower's home stay on the recommendation from some people we had met. Although Mrs Flower was useful in recommending local restaurants such as cafe 41, the accommodation was not particularly clean and we have had better in Vietnam. The room was $12/night including AC, but had shared bathroom (which wasn't clean) and no hot water or proper shower. The use of the washing machine at $2/wash was handy, but apart from this we didn't really get the whole 'home stay experience'. No meals available and limited conversation. We might as well have booked a hotel down the road for the same price. I think the whole 'home stay' tag is purely a marketing gimmick. The location was great and allows for access to local food on street/small cafes or 10 minute walk to the main town.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Mrs Flower and her family are very nice and helpful. Great hospitality and recommend it to all travelers who wanna experience something different from staying in a hotel.
We stayed there and rented bicycles and Mrs Flower showed us where to go around Hoi An. She also helps us book tour to My Son, Cham Island and bus tickets with the prices that are fair.
A room costs USD 12 per night and nothing to complain with this price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francowong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Do yourself a huge favor and skip over the hotels; stay with Mrs Flower! This woman is amazing. Her home is neat and tidy, welcoming, and a great location near old town but not right in it. You really get to feel part if a smaller community. Mrs flowers helped us with everything from tailored clothes (even taking us fabric shopping and then taking care of absolutely everything else! The clothes came out perfect...trust her!), to restaurant suggestions, to motorbike rentals, to our bus out of town. She is so fun to talk with and became a friend. We miss her already. Thank you Mrs Flower for a great time!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely place to stay, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Try getting front room on first floor.
Prior to arrival I emailed Mrs Flowers a few pictures of some suits I liked. The first morning, Mrs Flowers took us to a fabric shop and helped select material, giving her advice and taking an interest in everything. I never saw the bill, she paid for the material and said we'd sort it out later. Back at her house, she measured me up and then off we went exploring the town.
The next morning, 2 suits and 2 shirts were waiting. A few adjustments were made and then we went out again. At lunchtime the suits were waiting again. They weren't quite right but we had to leave. A tailor in UK did a final fix for £10 per suit and they are now perfect. Total price was USD240 for 2 linen suits and 2 shirts.
With such a short time in Hoi An it was great not having to traipse around the numerous shops deciding where to go.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Got a double for $12, which was rather cheap. We were given the room on the 3rd floor, which was super hot during the day, even with the air conditioner running on full blast. The room wouldn't cool down because it's so exposed to the sun. Try getting a lower room if possible.

Other than that, Mrs. Flower was super helpful with attractions as well as places to eat. The cafes she recommended serves 3000dong beer! The food was decent, albeit pricier. Personally, i would recommend the cao lao, and com tam near her house. Turn right when you exit from the house, keep walking until you pass the junction. To your left you will see this lady selling com tam ( broken rice with grilled pork ), which I feel was the best thing I ever had in Vietnam! Walk further down and you would see a lady selling cao lao (noodles with sliced pork) from her house.

Mrs. Flowers also rents out her own motorcycle at a 60,000 dong, which is cheap, given the condition of the bike.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiloong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 158 in Hoi An
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
#35 of 158 in Hoi An
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
EMM Hotel Hoi An
EMM Hotel Hoi An
#54 of 158 in Hoi An
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paddy's Hostel
Paddy's Hostel
#57 of 220 in Hoi An
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tipi Hostel Hoi An
Tipi Hostel Hoi An
#92 of 220 in Hoi An
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Homestay Hoa Mau Don
Homestay Hoa Mau Don
#70 of 280 in Hoi An
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs. Flower's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs. Flower's Homestay

Address: Thai Phien 39, Hoi An 00000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homestay with very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms (some with balconies) very close to the Old Town. Free use of internet and Wi-Fi. Free use of laundry machine. TV and fridge in the shared area, bicycle and motorbike rental. Makes for a much more personal experience than staying in a hotel. Also available for long-term at discounted price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing