We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food and really nice vibe, we loved it so much we kept going back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grass garden Hoi An restaurant - CLOSED

Grass garden Hoi An restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and really nice vibe, we loved it so much we kept going back.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant 4 times during our stay in Hoi An and loved it. The food is really good - really good! And the owner will prepare the best for you, when we visited our second time he asked if we were coming back again and when we said yes he arranged to have fresh fish for us the next day ready when we arrived, really nice touch. The vibe is really nice; chilled with lanterns, yes a cute kitten which i loved but it doesnt bother you whilst you eat unless you both it :) and its a really good place to sit in the afternoon/evening and enjoy yummy food. We tried everything on the menu from the speciality Vietnamese section. Try the lotus flower salad and the pineapple cake dessert - writing this is making me want to go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky08Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasty and Friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

My partner and I were taking a walk near our hotel when we came across the Grass Garden (we were heading to Tin Tin). The owner was very friendly and inviting, the food was absolutely delicious and the restaurant itself was very relaxing to sit in (red lanterns and a cute kitten running around). We had the deep fried Wantans (highly recommended), duck in orange sauce, local fish and some pancakes for desert. We also treated ourselves to a cocktail. The pricing was cheap and the food delicious, do give it a try :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We loved the food here, much nicer than Tin Tins across the road. Grass Garden is right next door to the Sunshine Hotel so is very convenient if you don't want to go to far but still want something good to eat.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tree190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“Amazing food and amazing restaurant owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We went there twice for dinner because we had such a pleasant time. The vietnamese food was really tasteful and nicely styled for good prices. The outside restaurant is really lovely and quiet ; and above all the restaurant owner is so obliging and considerate. He even came to our hotel to drive us to his restaurant and took us back to the hotel after dinner ! Compared to all the other restaurants where we went in Vietnam, Grass Garden was really a love-at-first-sight one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing tastes and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the sunshine hotel, but ate here a few nights, the food as amazing. Must try white rose a local specialty. His is a new restaurant and the owner is doing an amazing job. All the food on he menu is of a high quality and the best in town. Another dish to the would be fish in banana leaves, e fish and chips were also good along with the eggplant.... All were exceptional. This is a great place to sample true Vietnamese food with great value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kerrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grass garden Hoi An restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing