We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flower Garden Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flower Garden Homestay
Ranked #42 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hoi An was my first stop in Vietnam. I planned to stay for three days but ended up staying a week which was largely influenced by the wonderful hospitality of this homestay. From the moment I arrived I felt welcome and comfortable. The room was lovely and clean with a home-like feel to it. The breakfast was great (I had Cao Lao every day and highly recommend it) and the location is quite central but tucked away from the loud traffic. On my last night the owners invited all of the guests to dinner which was delicious and very enjoyable. I organized all my day trips through them and was not dissapointed. Very impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen_Sissons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    35
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
110
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed five nights and recommend this place highly. It's a genuine homestay, so you meet the family and learn from Von. Breakfast was nice, the rooms light and clean (we had Room 6) and, on our last night, Von and her mother made us dinner as well. Mrs Minh (three doors down) organises bikes (included for free) and did our laundry (very cheap). There is a good day spa about 200 metres down Cua Dai and a garden restaurant (Orivy) 50 metres opposite. It was a great spot for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Berlinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The owners arranged a pick up in Danang for us and cooked dinner for everyone staying there on our first night. The food was wonderful, breakfast too. The rooms were super nice and clean, I would recommend anyone stay here...only a five minute bike ride to the historic part of town and twenty minutes from the beach.
Make sure to see Mrs. Minh down the street for drinks and bike rentals, she is a doll.
Thanks so much!
Brandon and Nicole - San Diego

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We loved staying at Flower Garden. The breakfasts were great (lots of options including fruit shakes and pancakes) and the rooms spacious and clean. The homestay is a 10/15 min walk to the old town but there were free bicycles for you to use if you wish. It is so simple to find your way around Hoi An.

At first we thought that this was more of a lovely hotel than homestay but then we met the owners, their son and his grandmother and realised this was something a bit different. Pa and Phuong are new to the business (they've been open for around three months) but fabulous hosts. Their son Bin is so cute.

One evening the family cooked a meal for the guests which was one of the best we had in Vietnam and we spent a lovely evening chatting.

Phuong takes 2 year old Bin to the beach every night and we were invited, with some other guests, to join the whole family on our last night. It was one of the best nights we had in Vietnam. The beach was full of other Vietnamese familes and we were introduced to some amazing, simple, authentic food. Phuong did all the ordering so we paid local prices (It was interesting to find out what the actual markup was for tourists but it came too late for us as were were heading home the next day).

Pa, Phuong and Bin have an amazing lifestyle which they are more than happy to share with their guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerri_Gilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Travelling in Vietnam for the first time, on a whim we decided to go to Hoi An. We booked a homestay last minute.

Mr and Mrs Fong were more than welcoming. They organized airport pick up for us, transport, recommended great tours and motorbike hiring places (from a lovely lady called Mihn down the street). Breakfast was made for us every morning (delicious). They invited us to dinners and we were able to return the favour and cook for them. Very welcoming family and you are also given your space and privacy.

The room was large with air conditioning, a fan, TV, wifi and a large bed. It was very clean, and they also offered a timely cheap laundry service.

Short 10 minute walk to old town and 15 motorbike ride to the beach.

Would definately recommend and will stay here again if we are back in Hoi An.

To Mr and Mrs Fong, Bihn and grandma- thank you for the hospitality and warmth you showed us. Say hello to Mihn for us!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianecmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The rooms are good - new and clean - and have everything you need. The family atmosphere is lovely, and they are very generous. Once a week all guests are invited to share dinner with the family, which is both delicious and a great opportunity to get to know the family and other guests as well as swap travel stories.
We were invited on our last night, despite the fact we'd officially checked out that morning. Because we didn't leave until late, we were invited to leave our bags all day, use an empty room to shower before we left and join in the weekly dinner. A lovely way to end a pleasant 3 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Foxshina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife & I spent three incredible nights at the Flower Garden Homestay in Hoi An. I cannot recommend it enough - top experience!

Location: About a kilometer (15 mins walking to the town centre or 7 mins by bicycle) to the town centre; about 4 kms ((20 mins by bicycle) to the peaceful beach. Its down a quiet street, which is nice.

The family: Phuong & Pa are extremely gracious hosts. They really did go out of their way to ensure our stay was restful and that we were 100% satisfied. They even invited us to a three course home cooked dinner - something I believe they do to most guests who stay there. The food was fabulous, as was the experience of dining with the couple & their little kid!

Breakfasts were served outdoors on the porch - excellent local Hoi An food (or toasts & eggs if you prefer). Free bicycles were also available.

Issues: I wouldn't change too much, really. One minor quibble -- it would have been good to have had room serviced once during our 3 night stay, given that it gets all sandy when we return from a day at the beach. But that apart, it was perfect!

Would definitely stay here again, should I return to Hoi An!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stupid_dream7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Eden Homestay
Eden Homestay
#40 of 244 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Green Grass Land Villa
Green Grass Land Villa
#7 of 244 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#31 of 244 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Azalea Homestay
Azalea Homestay
#37 of 244 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Green Life Apartment
0.3 mi away
Harmony Hoian Homestay
Harmony Hoian Homestay
#47 of 244 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flower Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flower Garden Homestay

Property: Flower Garden Homestay
Address: 135/1 Ly Thuong Kiet St, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flower Garden Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Flower Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing