We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, and outstanding value.”

Hoi An Silk Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Half Day Silk Cloth Producing Process Discovery Tour
Ranked #23 of 143 Outdoor Activities in Hoi An
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Hoi An Silk Village, officially opened in August 2012, is based on the ancient silk weaving traditions of Quang Nam province that used Hoi An as a commercial seaport for over 300 years. Located down the street from Hoi An's town center, the Silk Village offers an experience like no other. During the tour you'll learn about the entire production of silk from silkworm to dress. We also have a spacious restaurant serving up local delights and a high-end silk showroom where you can have custom garments designed.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting, and outstanding value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

What an excellent 90 minutes we had! Our guide was courteous, informative and witty, and the tour of the silk-making facilities was extremely interesting. All the people working there were gracious about our interrupting their work. I would recommend this highly, and it's a steal at the price. A pity it is not better known, but I am hopeful it's reputation will grow.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    149
    25
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
459 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,657 helpful votes
“Whatever ..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been there, and the settings and atmosphere are really nice, if this was a resort or a restaurant only.
About the silk village we were a bit disappointed, as we thought there would much more to see on the silk production and less time spent on the show room, which at the end we understood was the main aim of the place.. But hey, if u like shopping, go there.. But not if you want to see the full production.

Helpful?
5 Thank Elmunyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
1 review
“Very educational with kind staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

As a textile crafter, I went to the silk village, interested in how they made the silk fabric. In going on the tour, I also learned about some history and culture of Vietnam. It was interesting to learn about the carving, the traditional homes, the different types of traditional clothes depending upon the ethnic group or era, as well as learning about the process of fabricating silk fabric. When my 4-year-old son joined me, he also found it very interesting and the guide was very thoughtful towards him. It's a great activity to do if it's raining and the restaurant has delicious food. The tour includes lunch and for me as a vegetarian, they were very accommodating, though I'm sure the meat dishes are also delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

we used this as our start out and finish point for most days in Hoian, apart from the educational aspect the clothes and other items where actually pretty good value and the fact we could just sit down in the garden and enjoy a cold drink and clean toilets whilst waiting for a taxi or bus was an absolute bonus, i would consider this a must see for any visit to Hoian,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scruffydog01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most enjoyable morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We did the morning tour with lunch, I can highly recommend the tour as we really enjoyed it. While most people may know that silk is produced by the silk worm the process start to finish and how that is done in Vietnam is what this tour is all about.
At the end of the tour you are shown silk items for sale with no pressure to buy, however the prices are so reasonable like us you may do so.
Lunch was a nice Vietnamese mix of food in the beautiful gardens at the front of the farm.
Don't miss this tour on your trip to Hoi An, it is well worth a morning or afternoon.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoi An Silk Village also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Hoi An Silk Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing