We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot in a city of gems!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VaiA Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
VaiA Boutique Hotel
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely spot in a city of gems!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I can't help but feel I need to respond to the review by camerontran as I was there the morning they checked out and was gobsmacked at their complete rudeness to the staff. Yes it isn't convenient to not have the card option to pay but remember where you are. It's not America or any other western country. Things are done differently and you need to be flexible. Aside from that our stay was fabulous. Service and room facilities were excellent for the price rate. The breakfast could be tweaked a little as in more options but we loved the fresh fruit and omelettes. Don't let nasty reviews of petty people put you off, this place is fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NightDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    165
    47
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
284
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
bandung
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staffs are so friendly and helpful. My son lost his hat in te hotel and the staff help him to find his hat back. The location is close to the old town. The rooms are cleaned. There are free coffee and tea from morning til night. In the afternoon, they serve us free cocktail. The downside is no elevator and no credit card accepted.

Room Tip: ask room on the second floor. Also pack light because they do not have elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at vaia for 2 nights. We were placed in room 01 which was facing the main public toilet and kitchen.

We were woken up in the morning at 6am from the kitchen as they were preparing for breakfast. There was also shouting down the corrindor in the morning by the staff members. We had a window in the room that opens up to the side of the hotel, people were able to walk through the side of the building, thus no privacy unless you draw the curtains.

I also found that the tours and airport transfers that they have offered are slightly more expensive than the ones you find in the city. So go shop around.

Other than this, hotel is new. The location is good - 5mins walk to city. Staff are friendly. Free bikes for hire too.

New hotel which has room for improvement in terms of service!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very nice hotel, with good breakfast and free bicycles (with lights!) for the 5 minutes bike ride to the old town. Rooms were good and a bellman will carry your bags up/down the stairs (no elevator, only few floors though). Hotel will arrange pickups from DaNang at very reasonable prices (cheaper than MaiLinh taxi!), but be clear on your arrival times to avoid any confusion. Also ask for any breakfast/lunch if you're travelling, they will gladly give you a lunch bag.
Cheap laundry via the hotel (about 2$/kg, including ironing) which is done within the day.

Only large con: hotel is cash only and local ATM's are not the best. (Visa did not work in all ATM's and often have a max of 2.000.000 VND = ~100$ with a 2-3$ banking charge)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was certainly the most lack luster hotel experience during my monthly long stay in Viet Nam.

BE WARNED, you can not pay in advance and they only accept cash upon checking out. (This is not disclosed before hand. When we checked out, we didn't have enough Dong to pay for the bill. We had dollars. For a hotel that only accepts cash, they had trouble making change. They didn't want to give us the change in Dong because "people take advantage of the exchange rate" (?!?!!).

We received a "welcome" drink but were quickly forgotten thereafter. We had to cary our own luggage up the stairs. Mind you, it wouldn't be such a big deal if there was elevator. According to the hotel survey, there's a bellman/doorman. We saw a guy in uniform by the door once, but he was sitting in a chair, picking his nose. Reception wasn't particularly welcoming. Breakfast starts at 6:30 but when we came down at 6:30, they were not ready for guests. They *only* offer a western breakfast but haven't quite gotten the hang of the dishes yet. The food was terrible. Why in the world wouldn't you serve Vietnamese food in Viet Nam?!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank camerontran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Comfortable, clean and modern room with a very nice bathroom. All the touches of a boutique hotel at backpacker prices.

As well as outstanding value for money rooms, we were offered free bikes and daily complimentary cocktails. Relative to many other hotels in Hoi An, a good location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent value for money. New renovated hotel. Very nice and cozy rooms, tasty breakfast with wide choice, and attentive, nice and helpful staff members which make you feel good and welcome. and a few steps from the old town, where you can find all sorts of things to do. Cannot see anything to criticize, would be happy to stay here next time I am in Hoi An.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia777777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.6 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Orchids Homestay
Orchids Homestay
#62 of 140 in Hoi An
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#48 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hoi An Orchid Garden Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VaiA Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VaiA Boutique Hotel

Property: VaiA Boutique Hotel
Address: 489 Cua Dai Road | Hoi An City Center, Hoi An, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — VaiA Boutique Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short walk from the ancient city of Hoi An, VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An caters to demanding travellers in pursuit of cosy and comfortable accommodation for the duration of their stay in Hoi An.Its bright, contemporary design and decoration creates a welcoming and relaxing environment for VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An guests, and coupled with the personal service assured by the hotel staff, will help to make your stay a memorable experience.Eighteen well-appointed rooms ranging from Junior, Standard, Deluxe to Signature provide a comfortable home base from which to explore the ancient city on its doorstep.Breakfast and light refreshments are served at the Little Terrace Café in the lobby. Free tea and coffee is available to guests throughout the day at the Little Terrace Café.Free wifi is available throughout VaiA Boutique Hotel Hoi An, and free Internet access is provided for guests in the Lobby.Other services including airport/train transport, tour desk, bicycle hire are all available at the Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your VaiA Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing