We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights just wasn't enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After escaping a tiny overnight train cabin with no air con walking into the Emerald resort was like a dream...!

We loved our 2 night stay, it's amazing value for the price. The resort is new and has been designed with care and attention. The rooms were spacious, with a huge bed (just wish it hadn't been two bed pushed together) and ample bathroom with a rainforest head shower.

The grounds are immaculately kept and we loved being able to lie by the pool with views of the river. The selection of cocktails were definitely worth trying too, the perfect way to enjoy the afternoon sunshine.

Breakfast was delicious with lots and lots of choice. We particularly enjoyed the freshly made omelettes.

We also really liked that the resort was not in the centre of town but close enough to wander in and out especially when going for fittings at one of the many tailors.

Vinh Hung really was a highlight of our holiday in Vietnam. We've already recommended to friends who took the opportunity to stay in December and also came home raving about it. The only downside was we hadn't booked to stay long enough!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I really loved this place. It is quiet but really near the must to and go in hoi an. It has a great pool were you can get the best cocktails after your day walking around. Fantastic place for couples.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephaniedeviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is excellent value. It is set in a nice riverside location, just a short walk from the old town. A daily 45 minute boat trip is offered free to guests which is worth taking. The pool is great and the rooms are comfortable, with easy to use wifi. We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was nothing special but a buffet with a reasonable selection. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Overall this stay was fantastic. Rooms were clean and tidy, and porch extending out towards the gardens/pool. Breakfast had a decent variety. The massage therapy was by far one of the better ones I've experienced.

Just a short walk out to the main town area, which suited us fine as we had hired bicycles to get around.

Also, even though we checked out at 4am one morning, they had a light breakfast packed for all 9 of us. This was really considerate of them as it wasn't something that was requested.

Highly recommend for a great value stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kman_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had 3 nights at Vinh Hung Emerald Resort. The location is in the quiet area and not far from the old town. We stayed in the room with a private big balcony and garden view that is very nice. We love the clean & large swimming pool. There is a large park for walking and sightseeing.
Breakfast buffet had a good range of food.The staff here is ok and helpful enough.
We enjoyed staying here :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pansy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in between Xmas and new years. As others say, the rooms are nice but not luxurious. The bed is massive, and I was a little confused when we went to jump into bed, as all there was was a bottom sheet. No top sheet. So we looked in some cupboards and came across a couple of Duvets that we used. When the bed was made each day, the blankets and pillows were simply folded and sat in a pile on the bed. So we pretty much had to make the bed each night before we got in.
The shower was the best we had in Vietnam, lots of hot water and great pressure.
The pool looked really nice, the outside pool furniture was really comfy, wished it was hot so we could have made use of it.
We really liked the location, was quiet and peaceful and not a far walk to town at all.
We used Mrs Sa for our laundry ($1 per kg) and also for transfer to airport (200,000 dong), we found these services really good.
We would stay here again if we returned.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheree_Stewart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in late December in a Riverside room.

Rooms are modern and clean but fall short if luxury. Breakfast buffet had a good range of food (fresh fruit, omellete) although coffee was worst we had in 3 werks in vietnam. Beds the hardest we had in 3 weeks.

Service lacked any character or friendliness. When we asked for a map of where we were it was simply handed to us. Very impersonal.

Personally I cannot recommend the location. If you plan on spending time in hoi an old town, tailoring clothes or day spa then pick something more central. Racing 10-15 mins from hotel to tailor fittings grew tiresome.

And the mosquitos... We travelled throughout vietnam (including central highlands) and Emerald had the worst mosquito problem by far. And this was middle of winter in 15 degrees. Hate to think how bad summer would be. I was ravaged by mossies first day and resorted to DEET upon arriving back to hotel each day and before breakfast.

The hotel has a beautiful layout and nice looking pool area - our overall impression may have been different if it was warm and we could enjoy the pool.

In summary, if you are looking for a big hotel chain feel then you may be satisfied with emerald. We visited my brother staying at Thuy Duong 3 and would hands down select that hotel instead next time in Hoi An for far less money. Same ammenties in the room albeit less modern more traditional feel. Super friendly service (we ended up asking them for all help eg directions, pharmacy, day spa help) plus a superb location near old town, tailors, restaurants and day spas.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#22 of 159 in Hoi An
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 159 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range: $49 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing