We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option in Hoi An”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Ranked #56 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good option in Hoi An”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Vinh Hung is possibly the only resort-style accommodation in Hoi An. Apart from the pool, don't expect too much of a luxury resort vibe, but the accommodation is still clean and comfortable. Compared to other places we stayed in Vietnam, the staff weren't overwhelming in their welcome and friendliness (not unfriendly, just quite laid back). The room sizes are adequate, though design nothing to boast about. The bed is rock-like in firmness though we still slept well. The staff leave the doors open while cleaning and this means that mosquitos get into the room, so we had to kill a couple before bed. The pool area is definitely a refreshing escape after coming home from a day of exploring in the humidity. We enjoyed a few poolside cocktails while chatting to one of the bar staff (Fi?). The breakfast is adequate though not sensational. We booked massages in the hotel's new spa - the massages themselves were nice but let down by the ambience, i.e. there were no towels in the massage table "face hole", and the Kenny G soundtrack (which you will learn off by heart after a trip through Vietnam) was too loud and annoying and not really spa music. Our stay here was fine but not overly memorable; I'm on the fence as to whether it was good value for money. With a few improvements to service and attention to detail the accommodation could feel more like a resort. The actual location of the resort was fine - a 5 minute walk into the main town.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second level - we didn't, but wished we had for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aus_F_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    355
    72
    17
    5
See reviews for
253
709
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A lot of luxury at a really affordable price. Stayed here with friends for 4 nights in October 2013 - loved it!! Great rooms which were clean and comfortable with very big beds. Great breakfast provided and very friendly staff. WiFi available too at no extra cost. Pool was just divine and with an amazing view down to the river. Town of Hoi An is a short walk away and the hotel makes a great place to base yourself. We did laundry through Mrs Sau in the shop over the road and it cam back perfectly clean and ironed the same day for only 2 pounds! We also got stuck in Hoi An with the on slaught of Typhoon Nari - the hotel has a generator so we did not experience any power loss and the staff had only our interests at heart when they ensured that we were safe and comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view of the pool and surrounding areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent two nights here, one of them through a typhoon. The staff worked so hard to make us comfortable during the storm. The restaurants never closed, the spa was open. We tried to make arrangements to leave before the storm but the flights were cancelled. As it turned out, it was a safe and comfortable place to ride out the storm. It is very close to the old town and although most things were closed we were able to walk from the hotel the next day before leaving. All in all a good place to stay. The one problem we had was the the front desk staff did not speak English very well, so we had a bit of a problem communicating with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location, awesome pool and friendly staff. Stayed in a standard pool view room for 1 night and a river view suite for 2. Both rooms excellent. Suite had a bigger bathroom and outdoor terrace with swing chair that my wife enjoyed.Bonus laundry lady and bike hire across the street and great tailor 100m down the road. Good breakie and quiet location by the river with a short 10 min stroll to the old town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hacme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in Vinh Hung for 4 nights and loved it. Great location, staff and facilities. Being 5 minutes walk to the old town was excellent, just far enough way to be peaceful but close enough to be convenient. The rooms were modern and well kept with all the little touches that make a great hotel. Fantastic value for money just makes this nicer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in September, arriving just before full moon festival and admist the monsoonal weather. This resort is quite new, however needs a few adjustments to make it 'fantastic'.We had a ground floor river view room, which had a lovely outlook over the lawns to the swollen river. The room cojld be dexcribed a modern minimalist, but nad limited space for 2 cases and no shelving for clothing if one wished to unpack anything. There was also a lack of power points with easy access.. found one hidden behind furniture in the end. The actual room seems a little 'tight' for space with only room for one bedside table. Bed huge and quite hard.
The bathroom whist it looks spacious has a huge, elongated shower area behind glass, small vanity then the toilet tucked into the corner. This may be the cause of the smaller living space.
Staff were lovely, obliging and really went to the next level of service. Room was spotless and maintained well with messages on the cover every day. Great area to stay in, lovely people across the road with drinks and do a good job with laundry..very friendly little area of Hoi An.
We had stayed at the VH Riverside last time... not too sure which I would return to though...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helsie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was excellent both for accommodation and breakfast. We arrived in the middle of a tropical depression, the rooms included large rain umbrellas and plastic scuffs suitable for walking through rain puddles. The internet connection was good and the boutique was so helpful, if they didn't have the size required, she just rung her sister in another shop and the goods were delivered in 30 minutes, excellent service and great prices. Unfortunately the river was in high flood so we could not ride on their shuttle boat. They also had a great Vietnamese food tasting session at 4 pm one afternoon. The swimming pool was lovely, Reception and all the staff were so pleasant to talk to and could accommodate any requests. I would really recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevWilsonNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.3 mi away
Hoi An River Town Hotel
Hoi An River Town Hotel
#19 of 155 in Hoi An
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Hoi An Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Emerald Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Emerald Resort

Property: Vinh Hung Emerald Resort
Address: An Hoi Islet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vinh Hung Emerald Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the tranquil district of An Hoi, Vinh Hung Emerald Resort is located on the banks of the romantic Thu Bon River and within 10-minute walking distance to the ancient town of Hoi An. The resort offers 52 well-appointed rooms with free wireless Internet access. All rooms are elegantly designed to maximize their views over the garden, the swimming pool and the river. The facilities include an internet corner, a spa & fitness center, a library and a swimming pool that will make your stay comfortable and convenient and meet all the needs of business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vinh Hung Emerald Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing