We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Silence is Golden”

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #3 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Silence is Golden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you ever want to pamper yourself and give your brain a little calmness, this is the right place to go, for a cup of tea or coffee or very refreshing juices together with some delicious homemade cookies. The staff are very friendly and all have a great smile.
Relax and free all your troubles, enjoy the beauty of silence, for sure you'd walk out feeling fresh and light.
If you like the coffee, tea or cookies you've had, you could also buy some home. And don't forget to swing by at the craft shop just around the corner of the tea house and get yourself a nice tea/coffee set or other hand craft products.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chloe-TING82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Wow..you have covered it all in your review.....the service, the silence, the tea and coffee and the tea ware and our craft shop. We couldn't have written better advertising copy our selves. Thanks from the Reaching Out Tea House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,782
    205
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MUST come when you'r in Hoian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

"Enjoy the Beauty of Silence" . Really chilled and relaxed , beautiful view near windows. Just simply amazing !!! We really enjoyed our time there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linhliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the very positive review and invitation to Trip Advisor readers to experience Reaching Out Tea House, Hoi An.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An absolutely delightful cafe and shop in Hoi An”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The cafe is in a beautiful old Hoi An building and is an oasis of peace and calm. We had refreshing lime juice and some tea, all presented on lovely china. The cookie selection which we shared ($3) was small, but delicious. The staff were so friendly and efficient. More expensive than other cafés nearby but certainly worth it. We were then taken to the shop on the next street but there was no pressure to buy. I did choose a pretty silver necklace though!

Helpful?
Thank scoobsOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Because our gift shop is down a little lane and of course our servers at the Tea House are speech and hearing impaired, we have found that it is easier and less confusing for our customers to simply show them where the craft shop is located. But, we I can see that visitors may misconstrue this as a "pressure to buy" technique....this goes on so much in Hoi An. Glad that you understood the gesture as a courtesy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place is simply amazing! The warmth of the staff which by the way is runned by disabled people will reach your heart instantly! The surroundings are so authentic and they serve really tasteful teas, coffees, juices and cookies. You enjoy your tea/coffee in silence which is really nice when you have been wandering around the noicy city.
I can really recommend their iced orange juice WITH cinnamon sirup!! Mhmmm what a treat! The Tea House also has a craft shop nearby where you can buy different and very beautilful things made by these people. All the money goes to support disabled people in Vietnam. One of the experiences from Vietnam I'll never forget!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla Cathrin... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thanks Camilla. We have tried to maintain an authentic traditional Vietnamese experience through our decor and service. So glad that you enjoyed your experience. The unique silence is such a nice break from the frenzy of Old Towne Hoi An.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were wandering through the ancient town in Hoi An and came across Reaching Out. I had already seen it in Lonely Planet so we decided to go in! The atmosphere is very relaxing and peaceful. I thoroughly enjoyed interacting with the staff through writing and blocks with phrases on. The tea we had was good and price was irrelevant as it is evidently going towards such a good cause. I would definatley go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren8691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We love it when people from Britain rearm about the quality of our tea...who better to report!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing